We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Nearby Hotels
US$195
US$190
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$294
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceanaire Resort Hotel(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$350
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$232
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Virginia Beach(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Founders Inn and Spa(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Club(Virginia Beach)
US$167
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Suites Beachfront(Virginia Beach)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,345)
Filter reviews
1,345 results
Traveller rating
851
326
101
46
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
851
326
101
46
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslager headssun deckfront deskfree beach chairsgreat hotelacross the streetindoor outdoor poolrocking chairsself parkingvirginia beach oceanfrontbreakfast buffetvalet serviceking suitethird floorocean viewhotel restaurantwater pressure
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,266 - 1,271 of 1,345 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked our king suite over one month before our trip. I called the hotel directly and was told that our suite was a corner suite, the larger ones on the property. When we arrived we were placed in a very small king suite that over looked a patio with only one window and a tiny balcony that connected directly to a public patio. It was NOT a corner suite as I had been promised on several occasions when I called the hotel directly. Upon seeing the tiny room we were assigned to, we requested that we be moved to the corner suite that we had reserved and were told that there were none available, but we would be moved the next day. That seemed like a reasonable solution to us at the time. The next morning while at breakfast, we were called and told that our corner suite was ready for us to move into. We rushed back to the hotel only to be told that there was actually no room available, but they were getting another room ready for us as soon as the current guests checked out. About 3 hours later we were told yet again that the guests had just left and the corner suite was being cleaned for us. Another 2 hours passed and the manager called us to tell us that there actually wasn't any corner suite like we had been promised, they were all sold out. The hotel did not honor our reservation and performed a bait and switch maneuver all day to keep us thinking that we actually were going to be moved into the suite that we had booked. We were told we could get a $30/night discount or move to another hotel. We gladly chose the latter option and moved to a lovely hotel just next door, that put us into a very large corner suite with a full kitchen and dining area. The management as this Hilton hotel is very dishonest and lacks any integrity. This was our family's first time staying at a Hilton and it will be the last.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A7158REamyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Hi A7158REamyb

I am very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. I don't want to make any excuses and believe these issues will be addressed with the staff. I would like an opportunity to win back your loyalty to the brand and given the chance, "Wow" you with the experience that you deserve when on vacation. Please feel free to contact me and allow us to be your home away from home.

Stefano Reyes
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
stefano.reyes@hiltongardeninnvb.com
757-305-9000 ext 5601

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This is a new hotel and some important work needs to be done to make it a special place to visit. The staff is fabulous. Friendly and cheerful at all times. They stand ready to fix any fixable problem you may encounter. One member of the hotel staff, a man named Timothy, appears to simultaneously be everywhere. He appears born to serve any guest with any problem. He is a born PR agent for the hotel.
The hotel's location is a delight, right on the edge of the Virginia Beach boardwalk and beach. The boardwalk is ideally suited to either walking or biking. The beach is sparkling clean, and the hotel will make umbrellas and chairs available for a very reasonable fee for the day. Oddly the hotel lacks a dinner time restaurant, but the area has many choices.
A minor irritation was the concierge's lack of familiarity with restaurants in the area, saying "we've only been open for four weeks." We found numerous very good choices with just an hour's research on the Internet. This is an easy problem to fix, and the hotel should fix it quickly, building a collection of menus from the many excellent picks in Virginia Beach.
The hotel, however, has two serious defects. Both may lack easy fixes. But both must be fixed for this hotel to succeed long-term. First the hotel's hot water system is unable to keep up with demand some hours of the day when the hotel is full and demand is greatest. According to staff, the engineers are trying to "fine tune the system", but if they discover they need to upgrade the system then they should do this without waiting. The second problem is the elevators. There are only two elevators to support the building, and they are excruciatingly slow. It is not uncommon for a large group to gather in the lobby hallway waiting for the next elevator. While this is tolerable and only a minor irritant when both elevators are working, should one elevator be down for service or maintenance, it will quickly become a major inconvenience. If the elevators can be upgraded to provide quicker service, this should be done quickly.
In reviewing this hotel I am taking it on faith that the hotel will work diligently to fix these problems that come with its newness.
But again the ideal location and enthusiastic staff help save this hotel. Give it a try.
One minor caution: when making your reservation be alert that some third floor rooms sit right on a public Sun Deck. If you are sensitive about privacy, choose a higher floor.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank jcl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Hi jcl08 and thank for your wonderful comments. I will make sure to share it with the staff. They have worked very hard since we’ve opened and positive feedback like this keeps them even more excited. I will also make sure to share with Tim- one of our engineers your kind words. It seems like you came in prior to us opening our dinner restaurant, so I am happy to let you know that next time you visit you will be able to enjoy our signature burgers and beers on tap accompanied (in season only) with live nightly acoustic music on the patio. Thank you for your comment and suggestions. We hope that you make this your home away from home!

Stefano Reyes
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We recently stayed 3 nights at the Hilton Garden Inn, Virginia Beach Oceanfront. We enjoyed every moment of our stay. We found every hotel employee that we encountered to be courteous and helpful. Since this is a brand new hotel, everything was extremely up to date and clean. We stayed on the 3rd floor with the SunDeck. This may or may not be for you. On the plus side, you have a nice large balcony with easy access close to your room. On the negative side, everyone in the hotel can use it, so you must remember to keep the drapes closed if you need privacy. (Honestly, I think I saw maybe 5 people out there total the whole time we were there, so it's not used that much.) Since every room is Oceanfront, the view are spectacular! Of course the boardwalk and beach access are right out the door. The north end of Virginia Beach seems to have a LOT of new businesses/restaurants/etc. since we were here about 3 years ago, so everything is within walking distance. We didn't use our car once. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel if you are planning to visit Virginia Beach!

Room Tip: Consider privacy if you get a room on the 3rd floor. This is where the SunDeck is and everyone has access.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cyclechickmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2014

Hi Cyclechickmary,

Thank you for your "wonderful " comment. I will be sure to share it with the staff! We appreciate you recommending us and can't wait for you to revisit us in the near future. Thanks for driving all the way down from Pittsburgh, PA. Go Steelers!

Stefano Reyes
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spent past Saturday and Sunday nights here (August 9-11). This hotel is new and directly on the beach at around 34th Street. It's a wonderful facility. The staff was very friendly and quick to help with check in, answer questions, etc... All of the rooms are Oceanfront. We had a top floor King Size Suite. Great view with a balcony (great place to watch VA Beach City sponsored fireworks every 4 nights of so during summer). They have an agreement with a beach supply company that provides chairs, umbrellas, etc... that made rental super easy and fast. Enjoyed breakfast here as well on Sunday morning. It's a quick in and out with a buffet and made to order items. There is also an onsite restaurant called Lager Heads. We ate lunch there 2x and had a snack delivered late Saturday to the room (room service hours are limited but adequate). I'm going to review Lager Heads on its own but its a good restaurant with outdoor seating and bar. Parking was included or you can valet for extra charge. 3 minute walk to garage around the corner from the entrance. Very convenient. Everything I saw from our room to halls, elevators, restaurants, lobby, pool, etc.. were all very clean. They have a great sun deck on the 3rd floor with a lot of comfortable chairs as well as rocking chairs outside. Just a nice place that makes a trip to the beach for a few days or longer easy and enjoyable. Definitely recommend. Immediate neighborhood has a lot of walk to restaurants, stores, etc...

Room Tip: Call and ask what may work best for you especially if going as a group. We loved being on top floor but can get windy facing ocean. Elevators got busy during peak times but never waited more than a few minutes. Lower floors have stair option as well.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RichmondBoy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

HI RichmondBoy_12

We surely do appreciate the great comments. You are absolutely right about all the rooms being oceanfront. Thank you again for your recommendation and we await your next visit!

Stefano Reyes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our family of 6 stayed in a few double queen oceanfront rooms in August 2014 and had a GREAT experience - this hotel is an incredible value!! Rooms are spacious, comfortable and well designed. Amenities are great. Location is perfect - both the beach and the city side. And the staff here is one of the best I have ever experienced - incredibly friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Hi Caroline K

Thank you for your awesome comment! I will be sure to share your comment about the staff being the best you have ever experienced. They will all surely appreciate the kind words! We can't wait for you next trip and thank you again for choosing us to be your home away from home!

Stefano Reyes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews