We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty pillows ,bedding, sofas”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Colony Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colony Resort
plymouth ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dirty pillows ,bedding, sofas”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed for a week. what a mistake . The pillows were yellow so we asked for new ones .After searching all of the empty rooms they were unable to find clean ones.This was on the first day and know one was going to be "around" till after the week end . On day three we were told to go buy our own because they could not get permision to replace them.
NEED I SAY MORE! I cant understand how a place can operate like this with out being fined or even shut down .The location is great as is the other 50 places on the strip.Stay any place else but not here .I only wished others wrote reviews being more honest.If you have a half ounce of class you will regret a stay at the Colonial resort. YUK

Room Tip: Bring clean bedding and lots of plastic to cover things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank leo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    7
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
21
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carver, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

look beyond the surface and you will find this place disgusting .The beding is dated ,the pilows are gross and the toilets are not clean .This place is all smoke and mirrors .The staff is two faced and dishonest .

Room Tip: My tip to choose a good room is go some place differant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Virginia Beach hotels

Wintersville, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

First time we stayed at the Colony. Very spacious; kitchen wonderful and full of all necessities. Very clean, especially the bathrooms (that is so important). Plenty of closet space too. Staff helpful in some ways. Thought security could have been more attentive to the guests coming and going. Sometimes, when we walked into the lobby with hands full; the security person made no effort to help with the door. Televisions were not up to "par". Too many stations very snowy. Told staff but nothing was corrected. Nice swimming pool area and very clean along with the changing rooms. Office staff was very helpful and courteous. This place is very nice to have a family together. Parking a bit tight and not able to leave the car there on checkout day to stay at the beach. Also, no additional space for a guest; that is understandable with the limited space. Overall, a very nice place but a bit pricey. However, compared to other places we stayed at a lower price, you cannot beat it. Location great too. We had a lot of fun and this place offers you everything to make the vacation a fun time.

Room Tip: cleanliness and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Our unit was large, clean and very well maintained. Currently putting HD tv's in all units. Ours had them in bedrooms but not yet in the living room. This part of Atlantic Blvd. has businesses across the street but the more heavily traveled and nightime area is a few blocks away so easy walk there but don't get all the noise and traffic. We walked to most of the restaurants that we went to for dinner. Well equipped kitchen. We did not hear any noise from adjoining units. No fancy lobby but this is a condo builidng and nice to see that they put the money into the units and upkeep rather than wasting it on a lobby that you only use to walk through.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MrDruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winthrop
Level Contributor
271 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The colony had mixed ratings so we were concerned When we arrived check in was suiper easy. Lobby by elavotors needed improvements looked run down. then we arrived at the room. Glad we went, room was great. the room was on the 10th floor with great views. Stafff was always freindly and helpfull. kitchen was well eguiped.

resort provided limited information on the unit and startup samples such as diswasher soap.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank toys4dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This place in fantastic! We had room 1004. Our living room and master bedroom have an amazing view of the ocean. It is breathtaking. The unit is HUGE and clean. Beds are super comfy and the place is quiet. I can't find a thing to complain about!

Room Tip: Email them before you get there and ask for a room on the top floors for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank bumblebeeMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

WHAT A LET DOWNNNNN. i rented unit 402 in Nov 2011.... It was georgeous and fantastic....In fact I enjoyed it so much that I bought unit 602...My week is 51 so I took some of my family there.....This unit is spacious and laid out like 402 and faces the oceanfront....We had a great week, horseback riding on the beach, rode thru the lights and just had a fantastic time.....Our let down on the unit I purchased was the carpet and the bathrooms......The carpet was gross. In fact it was so filthy we would not walk on it barefoot....The 2 bathrooms were dirty and looked as if they had not been cleaned......I sure hope the carpet will have been replaced and the unit given a good cleaning by the time I go next year. I really love the location and the activities in the area....People should not have to spend thier vacation on such nasty carpet and dirty bathrooms......Not only was the carpet dirty, but had stains all over it......Sincerely, Elizabeth Tasker Hayes, Virginia.....

Room Tip: Look at unit in advance for condition before renting or buying...Some units are excellent while othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank taskerhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#11 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Four Points by Sheraton Virginia...
#20 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Beachfront
Comfort Suites Beachfront
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villas
Boardwalk Resort Hotel and Villa...
#59 of 109 in Virginia Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Resort

Property: Colony Resort
Address: 1301 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Virginia Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing