We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential, but in a word... "icky!"”
Review of Colony Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Virginia Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Colony Resort
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I just read the other reviews and given my experience, the good is true (updated kitchen and mattresses, incredible views and location, helpful staff, large rooms) but so is the bad (carpet, furnishings, towels and shower/tub sticky, dirty, grungy - just desperately in need of a thorough cleaning). But bottom line, any resort whose check in includes the words "we don't have bedbugs, we've never had bedbugs, but initial this two page release form in case you take any home" is not a place I will return. Hope they get it together, I'd absolutely love to go back if they do.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Cheryl1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

This last week was our third trip too the Colony. We go with a friend who has a timeshare there and have really enjoyed each visit. Lots to do around Virginia Beach and surrounding areas. Some of the furnishings need to be up dated for instants the sofa. We will go back again given the chance.
We love to and watch ships come and go. Watch surfers and dolphans. This time we rode up the Eastern Coast and saw the wild horses. Was a nice days drive. We went too Fort Story and saw the two light houses this is the only spot with two lighthouses. Just so much to do. Go and enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is our last day at The Colony and it has been a great experience. Granted our unit was a little dated and this place is not cheap to rent, but...The hot water in the main bathroom was running when we got here. I called the toll free number and the maintenance man was here in thirty minutes to fix it, no lie. He also fixed a few minor things that we told him about with a smile. The staff is great, couldn't be nicer. Everything was clean in our unit. There is no other place this close to the free entertainment where you are going to find a1300 sq. ft. unit with a full size kitchen, dishwasher, washer, dryer, garbage disposal, twice weekly towel exchange and a decent sized balcony. I will definitely return!!!!

Room Tip: Get a higher floor. The second floor is where the office is and pool entrance (a lot of coming and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcchesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The colony has remodeled many of the units within the past year and they are beautiful. The
unit we stayed in on the 8th floor had new furniture and a great king size bed with new furniture.
The kitchen is completely furnished with everything you need. The pool side is lovely with many beautiful flowers and and confortable chairs to relax the day away. We had a wonderful time and looking forward to returning. The lobby has also had a face-lift with a new fountain
and hanging lights. A truly great week at the beach.

Room Tip: Where can you go and eat on the balony for breakfast, lunch and dinner and enjoy the beautiful ocea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed for a week. what a mistake . The pillows were yellow so we asked for new ones .After searching all of the empty rooms they were unable to find clean ones.This was on the first day and know one was going to be "around" till after the week end . On day three we were told to go buy our own because they could not get permision to replace them.
NEED I SAY MORE! I cant understand how a place can operate like this with out being fined or even shut down .The location is great as is the other 50 places on the strip.Stay any place else but not here .I only wished others wrote reviews being more honest.If you have a half ounce of class you will regret a stay at the Colonial resort. YUK

Room Tip: Bring clean bedding and lots of plastic to cover things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank leo m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

look beyond the surface and you will find this place disgusting .The beding is dated ,the pilows are gross and the toilets are not clean .This place is all smoke and mirrors .The staff is two faced and dishonest .

Room Tip: My tip to choose a good room is go some place differant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

First time we stayed at the Colony. Very spacious; kitchen wonderful and full of all necessities. Very clean, especially the bathrooms (that is so important). Plenty of closet space too. Staff helpful in some ways. Thought security could have been more attentive to the guests coming and going. Sometimes, when we walked into the lobby with hands full; the security person made no effort to help with the door. Televisions were not up to "par". Too many stations very snowy. Told staff but nothing was corrected. Nice swimming pool area and very clean along with the changing rooms. Office staff was very helpful and courteous. This place is very nice to have a family together. Parking a bit tight and not able to leave the car there on checkout day to stay at the beach. Also, no additional space for a guest; that is understandable with the limited space. Overall, a very nice place but a bit pricey. However, compared to other places we stayed at a lower price, you cannot beat it. Location great too. We had a lot of fun and this place offers you everything to make the vacation a fun time.

Room Tip: cleanliness and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
631 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Town Center
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach...
#10 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,068 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Hilton Virginia Beach Oceanfront
#13 of 109 in Virginia Beach
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandcastle Beachfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
Barclay Towers Resort Hotel
#14 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,093 reviews
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Virginia Beach (Oceanfront)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#25 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Resort

Address: 1301 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3416
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Virginia Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Colony Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Virginia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing