We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a convenient location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #34 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gradyville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What a convenient location!”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

How we've grown to love Virginia Beach - a beautiful family-friendly resort full of nice, clean fun!

Our first visit, several years ago, was to a beautiful hotel further downtown, around 31st Street. At that time, we thought there couldn't possibly be anywhere better to situate ourselves, nor more convenient for getting around without having to use our car to go everywhere. That is, until this past visit, when we chose to stay at the Springhill Suites. Hands down, the location is perfect! The 8th Street to 13th Street area, in my estimation, is at the heart of everything anyone could want, particularly restaurants.

Our room was a King Suite on the 12th floor, with a view to die for. We sat on the balcony many times each day watching all the events taking place on the beach and boardwalk. The bed was comfortable, air conditioning in tip-top shape, and furniture relatively modern. Decor was brightly colored and cheery. Bathroom was clean. WiFi/Internet great.

Pools were very convenient and fun. It's nice to know there is an indoor pool available (whether or not you use it....) just in case the weather is bad.

Breakfast was good. There were juices, coffee, tea, fruits, breads, toast, bagels, pastries, oatmeal, eggs, sausage, and make-your-own waffles everyday. Some days there were biscuits-n-gravy, potatoes, and french toast sticks in addition. Newspapers to read while dining. All in all, a nice breakfast experience, available beginning at 06:30 am.

I liked the idea that a counter was set up for 24-hour coffee and tea service. The selection of teas and coffees was exceptional. As we came in and out of the lobby, we frequently grabbed a cup to take with us up to the room (although the room is also equipped with a coffee maker, microwave, and small fridge).

Boardwalk: Fabulous. Although not a wooden boardwalk, as many east coast residents know, this concrete boardwalk is superb, with lighting at night. You would think you were at Venice Beach, California (Really...). It was designed in such a way as to accommodate a bike path, but separated by an island of greenery/shrubs, which is very attractive, both from the boardwalk and the bike lane. The bike lane has people on it from dawn until near midnight (depending upon whether they brought their own bikes with them, not needing to rely upon whether rental places were still open). All day and all night you will see runners, skateboarders, in-line skaters, mommies (and an occasional daddy) jogging behind a baby stroller, etc. And beach vollyball - what fun! The hotel has 9 courts out front on the beach. How fortunate for us that there were local leagues playing almost every night, which was fun to watch.

We always felt safe walking along the boardwalk at night. No shady looking people. No one disorderly, no drunks, no itinerants. No incidents. Just fun, families, and beautiful people. Entertainment everywhere. By the time you are out of ear shot of one band playing somewhere, you are in ear shot of another one, a block or two away.

There are a couple of amusement parks (not huge, but sufficient) for the kids.

Beach: Pristine clean and large. Hats off to Virginia Beach for managing to keep the beach so clean! No debris, not one seashell. (Actually, to our surprise, no bugs, either! Not one mosquito, green-head fly, no-see-em, ants, or bees anywhere during our stay. Perhaps it's because I had already spent $20 on every type of insect repellent made and brought it along, just in case. Ha!) There were no jellyfish there, either, during our stay. Lifeguard/s on duty during the day.

Chair and umbrella rental by Sunrise Beach Services. We rented an umbrella for $15/day. We brought our own chairs with us although, I believe, the rental rate for chairs is $7.50 and up, depending upon type of chair. There are several beach stores located right behind the hotel on Atlantic Avenue, where many people choose to just purchase umbrellas and chairs outright. You can buy a basic chair for about $10-15, umbrellas more. There are also the store-chain beach stores all over Virginia Beach, called "Sunsations," where you can purchase anything else you might need (sunscreen, towels, etc.).

A block down, on the beach, is a fun pirate ship beach playhouse. Kids can be seen playing there day and night.

Bike Rentals: While not available at the hotel, they are located every block or two either along Atlantic Avenue, or along the boardwalk, for about $7/hr. standard bike, although special rates are available. Some places offer buy 1-hour, get 1-hour free deals. Plenty of surrey rentals, which accommodate 2 to 8 people.

Springhill Suites has a lot to offer. My only recommendation would be for housekeeping staff to dust the tables more frequently since whenever you open the sliding doors to the balcony, sand inevidably blows in and settles on table tops.

We hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad to hear that you took advantage of all that our area and location has to offer! We appreciate your taking the time to complete a review and hope you will visit us again for your next Virginia Beach vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    326
    142
    44
    37
See reviews for
571
189
21
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ny but not for long
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This place is great! So great I've already planned my next trip back. Great location, good drinks at the pool bar, ice water and coffee available in lobby 24/7. The included breakfast was plentiful. The staff was great, they were quick to respond to any issues. My only complaint is really just a word of caution, apparently they use an outside service for their towels so DON'T give up your used towels until they have fresh ones to give you. We gave in our towels and then had somewhere to get ready to go to and were stuck waiting for clean towels to arrive. The good thing is that the staff really is accommodating, they took my room number down when I called for towels and as soon as they arrived the front desk clerk brought a few up to my room to get us going until housekeeping later came with our full set.
Also, nearby restaurants: stay away from Il Guardino, what a nightmare! Definitely check out Planet Pizza, surprisingly good! And last but not least if you're willing to drive (near the mall) go to Kapalmiya Oriental restaurant, delicious Filipino food, THE place for a good time, karaoke and dancing on the weekend and the owner makes you feel like home! Wish I could have tucked that restaurant in my pocket and brought them home with me!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ny2nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to inform us about your visit. I am glad to hear you also enjoyed some nightlife. We look forward to seeing you again whenever you are in Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We had never visited Virginia Beach before and were very glad we did--especially since we stayed at this hotel. Overall, our experience at the hotel was very pleasant. The outdoor pool was clean and plenty of room to lay-out and enjoy the "fruits" of the Tiki Bar. On that note--big SHOUT OUT to Mark who works the pool area. Great customer service. The free breakfast was O.K. The lines were WAY TOO LONG. As far as the beach itself--not great but if you're looking for a nice getaway and want to stay at a hotel that provides comfort and great ocean views, then this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony--lower floors have larger balcones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyqban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Thank you so very much for your nice comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate your needs and hope we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again for your next getaway to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenelg, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We were VERY pleased with SpringHillSuites for our beach vacation! The room was clean, comfortable and well attended -- special shoutout to Vesela!!! All of the staff were pleasant and helpful -- especially the front desk staff. (Loved the "bottomless" supply of Chupa Chups!!!) The location was great and the view from the balcony was lovely. The lobby was spacious and comfortable -- offering a dispenser with ICE-cold water flavored with lemons & oranges was a REALLY nice touch, especially with the 100+ degree heat index that we were experiencing during our stay! Our family really appreciated the breakfast buffet of hot and cold offerings -- it was impressive how well the hotel was able to keep the food stocked! The pools and fitness center were also clean and well attended. Thanks for a great beach vacation!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DisneyGirl186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you so much for the kind feedback on your recent trip. I am glad our staff was accommodating and that you enjoyed the amenities we offer. We hope to see you again for your next Virginia Beach vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had a great experience here overally. The staff was exceptionally friendly & attentive to our needs. Judith & other housekeeping staff eager to help us at anytime. The only negatives were that the room had a bit of an unpleasant odor & our door was difficult to get closed. We reported the door issue & maintenance was there within 5 minutes. Breakfast was buffet, much more than you typically receive with continental. Springhill Suites overall exceeded our needs this vacation. Thank You!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. Your comments are very important to us and greatly appreciated. I am glad to hear everything was to your satisfaction during your visit. We value you as a guest and hope we exceeded your expectations. Please visit us again when you travel to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Great place to stay, most of the staff was excellant. Problems never had enough towels for the guest. We were on the 2nd floor with a nice baconey over looking the beach, the people above would throw butts and trash on the baconey.

Room Tip: Don't stay on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcfblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you so very much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and apologize that litter from other balconies landed on yours. We hope you will choose us again for your next getaway to Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Having a wonderful vacation here in Va. Beach, Va, at the Marriott Spring Hill Suites! Front desk staff are cheerful, friendly and helpful. Hotel is clean and the ocean view from every room is beautiful and inviting. We love waking up early to catch the sun rising, as we watch dolphins play just beyond the breakers. You can enjoy joining in on all the great ways to keep fit, from walking, jogging, biking, to roller blading on the board walk. There are both indoor and outdoor pools to swim in or relax by and catch some sun. The pool bar was refreshing after a fun time in the ocean. Mark, who tender the bar, knows his business! He made our drinks to order, and was not shy about finding the recipe for one that was not on the menu. Our room was kept clean and our house keeper Annalese Spence, a gem!! She is friendly with a big heart and cares about our stay here in the hotel. She made sure we had all that we needed in the room and kept our room not only clean but fresh smelling each day. It was so relaxing to know that after a fun filled day at the beach, when we were ready to come back to our room, it would be refreshed and welcoming! 7th floor folks, for awesome service by Annalese Spence!! Va. Beach, offers lots of activities to take advantage of, community events to participate in, and is a great place to vacation. It was very relaxing to just sit in the sand by the ocean and take in the sounds of the waves, to smell the salty sea air, and be warmed by the sun. Loving our time here! :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred-n-Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillVBManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you so very much for your kind comments. I am proud to hear that Mark and Annalese made a positive difference in your stay and that you were able to relax while you were here! We hope you will stay with us again when you are in Virginia Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#30 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#19 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations, and even business trips are enjoyable and memorable. Our Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel's beachfront location in Virginia Beach, Virginia is perfect for those who want to step just feet away from their guest room and sink their toes into the sand. Our hotel features all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini refrigerator, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless Internet, free local calls, and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront lets you unwind and cherish every moment in Virginia Beach, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing