We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #36 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

My family and I went there in September of 2008 for 4 nights and 3 days. We had made our reservation and I had requested a 2nd floor room for the large balcony i had heard about. We got that room on the 2nd floor, and the balcony was huge! Enough room for a table, a few chairs, bike storage and a few kids running around.

We got to the hotel about midnight and check in was quick and easy. Parking was good-an attached parking garage that was 4 or 5 stories high, but not that long. I dont know how good parking would be in busy season, but in early September, it was easy to find a space every time we needed it. I opened the door to the balcony to hear the ocean and noticed the carpet was wet. Didnt think much of it until the next morning, when the carpet was soaked and the towels we put down were soaked, too. Some pipe was leaking, and we had to move to another room-no longer a second story one. :(

we had a 2 queen suite-the beds were large and comfortable. the living room area had a fold out couch big enough for 3 kids, a flat screen TV and a desk. the mini kitchen area needed a bigger refridgerator-this one looked like a tiny one you have in college dorms. 1 bottle of water provided. the balcony was awesome, even if smaller, and the views were amazing. CLose enough to the ocean that you coudl easily hear it while laying in bed.

Very colorful and bright throughout. Large lobby with chairs to overlook the ocean. Breakfast buffet-free!-with many choices from cereal, to sausage, to eggs, to pastries to fruit, yogurt and a waffle maker. Though, if we went in prime season i'd imagine it woudl be hard to find somewhere to sit in the lobby! It is large, but not enough seats for everyone to eat. The staff was great and when my kid wanted a cereal they didnt have out, went and got it for him.

The indoor pool was also very colorful and nice. Some sand in it, but I guess that is to be expected. Must use room keycard to enter pool. To get to bathrooms from pool, you have to exit the pool area, and walk around a corner. Not too convenient when you are the only adult with 3 kids. Many lounge chairs, a table and chairs, and a hot tub all in same area. towels provided-no lifeguard, though. Not a diving pool, the deepest area wasn't over 5 feet.

To get from the hotel to the beach, there were 2 or 3 entrances from the lobby area directly to the boardwalk and a mere few feet from the beach. Keycard also required to get back in.

Out front of the hotel was an awesome pizza restaurant (Planet Pizza), a subway with Dippin Dots, and several souvenier shops. Many, many shopping opportunities nearby. A water park nearby-though closed in September. an amusement park down nearby, but it looked kind of shady. The boardwalk-3 miles of walking, biking, running, skating, etc by the beach. Loved it. Several places to rent bikes or surreys-I have never seen as many bikes around as I saw in Virginia Beach. There was also a playground on the beach right near the hotel. Pier nearby, too, for walking or fishing (that cost money).

3 computers with internet access in lobby of hotel, small snack shop by the front desk, outdoor pool was beside the hotel, and had a bar/some food available for a bit of a hefty price, but they would tack it on your room bill-also only availabe to guests of the hotel. Several sand rinsing stations right near hotel, too. Washer and dryer on an upper floor, with detergent available for purchase.

Overall, it was a really nice place to stay and we would gladly do it again.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camclarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    491
    323
    139
    44
    37
See reviews for
568
187
20
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend. I spent several days reading hotel reviews for Virginia Beach prior to booking at Springhill Suites, but I am so glad that I did! After a disappointing night in Williamburg, this hotel was just what we needed. The location on the beach was perfect. The rooms were clean and very well appointed. We loved the fact that all of the rooms are oceanfront. We could sit in bed with the windows open to the water and felt like we were on a cruise. I thought that the hotel service was excellent. The hot breakfast buffet in the morning was great as well.

My only reservation about the entire experience was that we didn't care for Virginia Beach AT ALL. So, I am probably not likely to return to the hotel. However, if I could transplant this hotel to another city, I think I would become a frequent visitor!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kutschie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2009

We had a great stay. Breakfast was plentiful and hot. The entire hotel and room were beautifully decorated. Staff was extremely friendly.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank fierce21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldie, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

We stayed 2 nites here and enjoyed every minute. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful for recommending places to eat, etc. Rooms were excellent...roomy and clean. Best think about this hotel was the WARM pool! We never find a pool that warm enough to enjoy, but this was surely was....the kids loved it! The breakfast fare was better than the usual Springhill breakfast....like real eggs, and hashbrowns. We want to come back when it's warm but we won't come back unless we can stay at this hotel again. AWESOME!

  • Liked — The WARM pool.
  • Disliked — Lukewarm coffee in the lobby in the afternoon.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzannebr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

We had a very nice stay. Its certainly a clean, well appointed, and newer property in excellent condition all around. I suppose the only thing lacking was much personality to the place. It just has the feel of a generic suites hotel, with little character or distinction. Sure, the suites were very comfortable, the breakfast buffet ample and hot, the oceanfront balcony views breathtaking, and the service attentive...but much of what we got for the money I'm fairly certain we could have gotten for a better price nearby.

Still, if you're just looking for a clean, comfortable, safe place to stay on the beach and you can affort it, you can't go wrong at this Springhill Suites based on what we experienced. Just don't expect to be impressed or pleasantly surprised much by what you get.

Aaron

  • Liked — high quality, size of suite
  • Disliked — generic, nothing distinctive about the hotel
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2008

Stayed at the SpringHill Suites August 8-August 10 and August 28-September 1. The second stay was during the Verizon Music Festival. The hotel is currently the newest hotel on the beach and it clearly shows. Excellent location and great views from the balcony. Multiple access doors on the ground level to the beach. All interior and exterior access doors are key code required so you don't have people wandering into the hotel that shouldn't be there. All of the rooms are suites and we stayed in a king suite with a separate sitting area that had a flat screen TV, couch, chair, and coffee table. Comfortable bed with another flat screen TV at the end of the bed and having the sink outside the bathroom is very convenient when more than one person is getting ready. Kitchenette area with sink, cupboards, mini refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. Clean room, nice decor, and good housekeeping. Minimal wait for the elevators and a fairly decent free breakfast every day. I used the valet parking off and on. You can park yourself but it is convenient sometimes to use the valet especially when checking in or checking out. Some reviewers have said parking is a little tight but I drive a larger vehicle and didn't have any problems. Location is excellent and many restaurants within walking distance including a Pizza Planet directly across the street. Staff is friendly and efficient. All requests were taken care of quickly. Hotel is well constructed and I did not hear noise coming from any of the rooms around me. An indoor and a very nice outdoor pool. The outdoor pool is just the right size and had plenty of seating although I thought the pool water temperature was a little too cold. They have a wait staff at the outdoor pool with a poolside restaurant and they will bring drinks and food directly to you including if you are in the pool. There was a large hotel under construction directly next to the pool and I barely noticed. Minimal noise coming from the construction site. I travel a fair amount and this hotel is as good as it gets in Virginia Beach. I highly recommend this hotel and it may not be the cheapest hotel on the beach but I think it is a good value if you want to be oceanfront and happy with your hotel.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — Wished the balcony was a little bigger.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank laotzutj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2008

I had a great stay at this Springhill Suites. Each room has it's own balcony with a beach front view. There is a minibar area with a microwave and minifridge. A seating area with desk and flat screen is really nice and the sleeping area has it's own television. Wireless internet access is free and there is also a free breakfast in the morning. The workout facility is pretty nice. Parking is also free, convenient and well lit.

You can walk right out of the back of the hotel onto the beach.

This seems to be one of the newer hotels on the main strip. Very well kept and not as worn on the exterior as some of the others. I enjoyed it and would recommend for business or leisure.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites Virginia ...
#26 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront North
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#9 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#2 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Residence Inn Virginia Beach Oce...
#30 of 109 in Virginia Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Property: SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Address: 901 Atlantic Avenue, Virginia Beach, VA 23451
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at the SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations and even business trips put a smile on your face. Featuring all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini-frig, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless internet, free local calls and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. Our oceanfront hotel lets you unwind and cherish every moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing