We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Virginia Beach
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We stayed here for a weekend in Virginia Beach. This is one of the newest hotels on the oceanfront and was very clean and modern. The kids enjoyed free lollipops at the front desk. The hotel has its own parking garage. They do have people to help with your bags. You should tip them, but it's well worth it! They were so friendly and great with the kids. They were very patient and loaded and unloaded all our luggage. They offered tips on the area and made us feel very welcome.

The room was nice although the tub's drain was slow to drain. That may be expected with an oceanfront room with sand. A slight inconvenience, but not a deal breaker by any means.

The hot breakfast included in the rate is very nice. You have your choice of cereals, fruit, muffins, bagels, coffee, juice, yogurt and you can even make your own Belgian waffles. One mold was shaped like a teddy bear!

This hotel is located at the lower end of the beach along the 3 mile long boardwalk. Since there are no amusement rides, etc. except for one small area midway up the boardwalk, it was very quiet.

They have two pools. One is indoors on the lobby level with a hot tub. We did not use that one. The outdoor pool is actually next door near the next hotel. It was very nice, there is a bar there and another hot tub. When we used it our last night we had it to ourselves! They close it at 10pm, which is a shame as it would have been nice to stay there a bit longer. The indoor pool closes at 11pm.

I like the layout of this hotel as the master bedroom has the balcony/view of the ocean. The sleeper sofa/living area is near the hallway of the floor. We stayed in a one room suite so there was no door between the main bedroom and the living area, but it worked out fine with the kids. They knew we were out on the balcony after they went to sleep and we kept a couple of lights on for them and for us so we could read. There is no exterior light on the balcony.

We were able to watch volleyball games right in front of us on the beach. The view was spectacular and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawnie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to inform us about your stay. We are striving to provide you with the most comfortable and family friendly environment possible. Comments such as yours are crucial to assure that we are maintaining the level of quality and service that you expect and deserve. We look forward to being your home away from home whenever you are in Virginia Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

853 - 859 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

This is a fabulous hotel. When we arrived the first person that we met was a valet person. I don't remember his name but he was very friendly and helpful. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but the front desk called us when it was, which was very nice. The location is wonderful and close to many restaurants. The room was very clean and had pleanty of space for four people. The pool is just awesome and we spent a lot of time there. The pool staff are the friendliest employees at the hotel. The free breakfast is great but the line does get very long. I only have two small complaints. The first one being that the front desk staff is not extremely friendly. They really didn't make us feel welcome. My second complaint is that even though there were four people in our room, we only received three clean towels each day. It really was a very pleasant vacation and we would definitely stay at Springhill Suites again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheelinggirl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

Thank you so very much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to inform us about your visit. We are pleased to learn you enjoyed your time at our hotel, and want to thank you for teaching us how to serve you better. I have specifically addressed your comments with our team. We do hope to see you again when you are traveling to Virginia Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Last year our family went to the beach for the first time. I was having a hard time deciding on one of the hundreds of hotels. Finally settled on Springhill Suites when an employee from another hotel told me it's where he would stay. We weren't disappointed.

The room, a one bedroom suite with separate living area, was spacious. The hot breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent.

We were thrilled to find a room this year. If anything the service was even better. We were especially impressed by the vallet staff.

Last year we wanted to bring one more person than would fit in our car--thought about bringing another vehicle, but didn't know where to park it. This year my sister came and parked right across the street in a public garage--$10/day.

This year we brought our own food and didn't have to pack up and go offsite for lunch and dinner. Would definitely do that again.

I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earlymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

Thank you so very much for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that we have continued to maintain the quality and service level you have experienced with us in the past. We look forward to seeing you again next year for your vacation to Virginia Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Rooms:
Spacious, a little dirty, great view.

Breakfast:
FREE!, what more to say?

Front desk:
Rude ladies, took too long to check-in and do what we needed to do after a long drive.

Parking:
Garage makes it extremely convenient.

Pool:
Outdoor pool is absolutely wonderful. Service was the best in the hotel. I didn't even have to think about what I wanted, Justine recomended items and I trusted her enthusiastic judgement, which was right! Definitely the best fish tacos I've had. Bartender was a little short tempered and rude, did not catch her name but she was short with blonde hair.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACClimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

Thank you so very much for your kind comments. I am proud to hear that Justine made such a difference in your stay, and want to assure you we have addressed the other service issues you mentioned. We look forward to the next time you can visit us in Virginia Beach and enjoy more time at our SpringHill Beach Club!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

After much debate this year, we decided to switch from the Holiday Inn Sunspree to the Springhill Suites and overall we were not disappointed. We have an 11 and 9 year old so keep this in mind with the review.
Rooms
*Queen with two beds and pull out were great as the kids each got to sleep alone
*2 TV's were also nice except ONLY one was a flat screen and no HD or Wireless
*Small outdoor deck was ok not anything special but served its purpose-air conditioning vent made it even smaller and hot.
*Bathroom had separate area for sink and mirror which helped with getting ready
Overall...the Rooms were one of the reasons we switched hotels and were very satisfied.

Hotel
*Only real negative was check in and check out. Didn't get a great welcome from the young ladies after our long drive. Didn't expect a party, but a simple "Welcome to Spring Hill Suites, thanks for coming and we hope you have a great vacation" would have been nice. Your front desk needs to be more personable.
* Room wasn't ready when we arrived so we parked the car without a sign of any valet and went to the pool. Two free ice creams were nice, a couple free drinks would have been even nicer for the adults! :)
*Front desk called the cellphone to alert us that the room was ready which was nice.
*Tried to find a cart to help move our luggage but had no luck. The outside "valets" didn't seem to movtivated to help. We've been to Vegas multiple times and are used to the personal service with check-in. These guys could make a ton more on tips if they wanted too.
*The hotel has two separate elevators. One for the parking garage and three for the hotel.
Kinda of odd that you have to get off one and then get on another elevator but wasn't too bad.
*The location of the hotel was beautiful and from the room to the beach was unbelieveably a very short walk.
*Used the gym one day late and it was ok nothing spectacular but got the job done.
*Kids used indoor pool once and said it was fine. We had Sunny weather everyday so no need to go indoors.
*Breakfast was really good...saved us money EVERY DAY.
*Coffee and Hot Chocolate station is available 24 hours which was great for that late afternoon coffee or early morning cup.
*Hot foods, waffles, bagles, fruit, cereal all were very tasty.
*Only negative was the longer you waited to get up, the longer the line gets. By 845-900 expect to wait 15 minutes. Still not bad, just like it would have been if you had table service. My wife and i eventually went down on mulitple days and got two trays of food and went back to room when the kids were very slow to move. I do suggest the hotel consider doing something with door going to the boardwalk from the restaurant. It seemed that many flies were getting into the dining area and was one reason we ate in our room.
Picked up a Free USA Today at the front desk everyday.
Any reason the local paper isn't an option?
It was nice to read about the local community on the days i went and bought it.

Pool:
Very nice pool.
Even though it wasn't attached to the hotel, the location was easy to get too.
Because the hotel didn't block the pool, the sun blazed down much much later then most if not all the other pools on oceanfront. A really BIG advantage if you like laying poolside and getting sun.
Water was clear and warm but not too hot.
Pool bar restaurant had small but tasty menu. We ate lunch multiple times by the pool.
Tom was a good bar tender and the pool staff was without question the best in entire hotel.
Went to Subway one day and brought kids back footlong sub for $8.
The Fish and Chips were great and easily fed two people if you are looking to save a few dollars.

Overall...i recommend this hotel to families and would consider a return.
Nice job!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobbyG16148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! Your comments are very important to us and greatly appreciated. I am glad to hear overall everything was to your satisfaction during your recent stay. I'd like to sharewith you that we hope to have HD TV in 2011, so we hope to see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

This is the second year we have stayed at the Springhill Suites. The rooms are spacious and clean. Gorgeous oceanviews and great service - especially Destinee and Charity at the front desk and Devin at the pool bar! Love the outdoor pool overlooking the ocean. The free breakfast has something for everyone. We will be coming back next year!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vebelynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2010

Thank you so very much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. Your comments are so important to us and greatly appreciated. I am glad to hear everything was to your satisfaction during your recent stay, and that our team served you well. We are looking forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Found the hotel very clean. Room was very clean. Size of room (2 queen beds with sitting area/ extra tv and sink/fridge and microwave) was very adequate for us. Loved being able to just walk out hotel, cross boardwalk and bike path and go to beach. Hotel has a hosing off area right outside door. Breakfast was very nice, something for everyone. Hotel staff was nice...went down to ask front desk for extra toilet paper and they called housekeeping and within 5 min someone was at my room with a couple extra rolls. Lots of restaurants in the area to choose from. Rented a family bike for a couple of hours and rode down to the center of the boardwalk, dairy queen for icecream. We enjoyed both the indoor and outdoor pool. Parking situation was decent. Best part was watching dolphins swim by from our balcony. It was a hot week for us which is perfect for a beach vacation but my only complaint is that our balcony was even hotter due to the air condition vent - venting on the balcony...it did not hinder our enjoyment of our stay so I did not reflect that in my ratings...the air conditioning worked wonderfully in our room - so that was lovely. Beds were comfortable. We enjoyed our stay at the Springhill Suites - only thing that would have made it better would have been if I got a cheaper rate - lol. For more details about this hotel please look down a few reviews for VASkeptics' review because I pretty much agree with most of what they said.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mom2NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldManager, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Thank you so very much for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we exceeded your expectations. I am pleased to hear our location was convenient for you and that both the weather and the dolphins cooperated! We look forward to seeing you again for your next getaway to Virginia Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Virginia Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#29 of 109 in Virginia Beach
732 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/North 37th Street
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#7 of 109 in Virginia Beach
822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Oceanfront South
Hampton Inn Virginia Beach-Ocean...
#18 of 109 in Virginia Beach
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfront/South
Courtyard Virginia Beach Oceanfr...
#22 of 109 in Virginia Beach
869 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
Comfort Inn & Suites Oceanfront
#1 of 109 in Virginia Beach
631 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#37 of 109 in Virginia Beach
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront

Address: 901 Atlantic Ave, Virginia Beach, VA 23451-3529
Region: United States > Virginia > Virginia Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Virginia Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Virginia Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Virginia Beach
Price Range: £95 - £291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront, where weekend jaunts, family vacations, and even business trips are enjoyable and memorable. Our Virginia Beach Oceanfront hotel's beachfront location in Virginia Beach, Virginia is perfect for those who want to step just feet away from their guest room and sink their toes into the sand. Our hotel features all oceanfront suites with private balcony, microwave, mini refrigerator, 2 TVs, complimentary breakfast, free wireless Internet, free local calls, and complimentary parking. Enjoy our indoor pool and expansive outdoor pool plaza with cafe and fitness center. SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront lets you unwind and cherish every moment in Virginia Beach, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Virginia Beach Oceanfront Hotel Virginia Beach
Virginia Beach Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing