We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tastes and service --” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ammos

Ammos
Reserve with OpenTable
Ammos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 1,405 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Northeast Virginia Beach
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
347 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great tastes and service --”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

On a cool and foggy Wednesday evening Madame and I had a fine Greek feast at Ammos. Pastitsio and Souvlaki were the stars of the show, but we also really enjoyed the dolmades we had as a starter. There were good wines to be had, as well, at very good prices. On the night we visited there was a very big birthday party -- about 23 people, as far as we could tell -- dominating the room, and yet service (friendly and well-organized) clicked right along and the noise level remained tolerable or better. The bill was some of the nicest news of the evening -- a downright modest tab for some superb Greek dishes --

Ammos has apparently moved, within the past year, from a longtime location near the beach to a more suburban shopping-center venue. Like some of the other restaurants we visited, this one is in an internal area (meaning not that it's in a mall, but rather that its building is not necessarily easily seen from the main road. But it is worth looking for --

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant_scholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    77
    19
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Nice atmosphere, good food. Gyro meat is NOT authentic! There are better choices in the area for Mediterranean cuisine.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrific Greek food in Virginia Beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Coming from a Greek background, I make it a point to try a Greek restaurant each time I travel. Trying Ammos in Virginia Beach was a great decision! The food was delicious and very similar to what my Yiayia (grandmother) used to make. The avgolemono soup was piping hot and flavorful. We ordered a mezze sampler for the table. The tiropita and spanakopita were decadent, and the spices in the keftedes worked wonderfully together. They also make a tzatziki that is the perfect consistency--cool and creamy with just the right amount of garlic. The service was friendly and efficient. Our waitress informed us that the owners recently made the decision to move off the beach a few miles inland. The building where Ammos is now located is beautiful, and they have a lovely patio. It's less than a 10 minute drive from the resort area. Between the food, atmosphere, and short drive from the beach, Ammos is an all-around winner and should not be missed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cabolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Super family owned Greek food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Creative takes on appetizers, fresh goat cheese and mozzarella, salads that blow you away, a gyro plate that I had to take a pic of it was so amazing. We have a ton of Greek residents in Tidewater, so we are spoiled by their great food. These folks stand out. Try a lunch on the patio.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thesheriffisnear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I had a lovely dinner on their porch this past weekend. We both had the lentil soup and a Greek salad with the most amazing feta cheese. My husband had the moussaka with roasted potatoes and green beans. I had mahi-mahi with sautéed spinach, sun-dried tomatoes and garlic sauce with rice pilaf and baby carrots in a lemon dill sauce. To put it succinctly, our meals were simply delicious. This is about the forth time we've been to Ammos a their new location and each time, our meals have been fabulous. I highly recommend this local family owned and operated restaurant - it is truly one of Virginia Beach's culinary treasures.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ammos also viewed

 

Been to Ammos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing