We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad We Stopped In!!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cal'z Pizza Subs & Chicken
Ranked #834 of 1,431 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Glad We Stopped In!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Drove by on our way to the hilltop mall and were lured in by the $1/slice window sign. Earlier we stopped in an Atlantic Ave pizza shop that sold $4 slices that looked as if they were sitting out for hours. When we got to the counter the guy at the front desk said they had an 8 cut one topping special for $7, so we ordered that and an order of medium wings. Pizza came out piping hot and was very good.....wings were excellent, sauce was fantastic, even my nine year old loved it. Service was great too. Will definitely eat there again if we come back next year.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conway, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Top five pizzas I have ever had”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have worked at a pizza place and this is way better than anything we made. I love how they crisp the pepperonis before they put them on the pizza great guys!!! Don't get the steak and cheese though over priced for the amount of meat

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grove City, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“YUMMO”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Plentiful meat and cheese on the wonderful bread, toasted to a light brown...delicious. The pizza has plenty of cheese and real pepperoni!!!! You must try them, great food!!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Metro D.C. area
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wowzer! THE best Calzone I have had, anywhere, in YEARS!”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

If you are ever in Virginia Beach, do yourself a f 'L'avor and hit your nearest Cal'z.(We ate at both the Laskin Rd. and Independence Blvd. shops). When you do, splurge and order a cheesey-cheese calzone ($7.99) and go ahead and pay the extra $1-something, to add each of the following two toppings: pepperoni AND sausage. You will be glad you did. Be sure they include the container of sauce for dipping! What a flavorful treat! NOTE: This is NOT a fine dining establishment. It is more like a Mcdonald's eating environment--eat and run, or take-out. We enjoyed ours so much, we bought extras on our way out of town, put them on ice, and had them the next day for dinner while we all watched the Olympics! A huge hit here at home. Wish we had a Cal'z near us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladels_N_JellySpoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Real Food for Real People !”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Cal'z Pizza is one of the best restaurants in Virginia Beach bar none...real food for real people...the Pizza and Subs blow the doors off the "chain" places...tasty and fresh, you'll be careful to only let your best friends know about this little gem...especially the Cal'z on Laskin Rd....Cal'z is the proverbial diamond in the rough...so do yourself a favor and give it a try for lunch or dinner !!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cal'z Pizza Subs & Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Cal'z Pizza Subs & Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing