We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what happened to your slaw?”
Review of Malbon Brothers

Malbon Brothers
Ranked #325 of 1,431 Restaurants in Virginia Beach
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
LINCOLN
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“what happened to your slaw?”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Located in a service station, this small restuarnt has wonderful BBQ --eat at the counter or take out. We elected to take ours home. Got a package deal for $10 of BBQ, sauce and slaw.
The BBQ and sauce were excellent as usual but the slaw soupy and thin...like it got scooped out of the bottom of the bowl. Still, its a great palce for BBQ if you like no ambiance but good food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe-Lincoln-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    8
    1
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“small portions, high prices, no flavor...”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Whitner's BBQ is better, first off. At Malbon Bros I ordered and the guy did not even ask what kind of sides i wanted with my meal. I just wanted to see so that i could full fill the rating correctly. I also ordered a BBQ sandwich and it had about .50 cents worth of meat on the bun for $5.50 . My ribs had no flavor. It seemed as if they were boiled and the sauce was just tossed on top to hope to flavor the ribs. Overrated, for sure! Those guys preparing the food should were gloves as well. One of them was dipping coleslaw out and two of his fingers would go all the way into the pan when he was dipping it. Gross Bro! It seemed like they could care less about the food and just wanted customers out of there. I went be cause it had decent google reviews but will never go back and i am posting this to all of my facebook friends as well. Thanks for making the day worse...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 77DAVID77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia beach, virginia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I ordered their family meal. That is bb&q, beans, cole slaw and a bottle of their on bb&q sauce. Every thing was sooo delicous. It fed a family of 4 prefectly. It was a great price.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank manning42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“It's a Gas Station, But the Food is Fine!”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

You wouldn't think you'd find better than average food in a gas station convenience store. At Malbon Brothers Citgo, on General Booth Boulevard, just about 3 miles south of the Virginia Beach boardwalk, yes, it's a gas station, but the food is fine. After you fill your tank, head to the back of the store and fill your tummy, because the food is worth trying. It's definitely a "local's" kind of place (the Malbon's have lived south of the beach for many years), but that should not keep out of town visitors or beach goers away.

Give Malbon Brothers a try for a quick lunch, take out or eat in (e.g., daily specials are a bit over $6.00 for something like a sub with a fountain drink). Or, head to the back for a country breakfast at the counter. You can watch them cook it up right there in front of you. Any of the egg combos or sandwiches are good and the pan cakes rival better known chains.

I am deliberately saving the best for last. That's their special North Carolina style pulled pork barbeque. They make it any way you want it, platter or sandwich, and if you can't get enough at one sitting, just take some home. Their cooler is always well stocked with their BBQ, cole slaw, sauces, and other fixin's. My son, who now lives in Northern Virginia, makes a pit stop at Malbon Brothers on his way home each time he comes through the area. They also do off site catering for parties or events, big and small.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The portions tainted the taste”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I am sorry but to charge that much for a BBQ burrito that is almost half the size of even a breakfast burrito from MCDONALDS is just flippin ROBBERY!!!
not to mention what they charged for SIX sad little corn fritters!!!
My portion of meat for my PLATTER was barely the size of the side of beans they gave me!
SERIOUSLY?!?
AMAZING FLAVOR...completely trashed by baby portions with adult price tags....
NEVER AGAIN

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malbon Brothers also viewed

 

Been to Malbon Brothers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing