We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local coffee shop”
Review of Bad Ass Coffee Co

Bad Ass Coffee Co
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great local coffee shop”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Very good coffee and great breakfast food.
Good pastries and a Hawaiian theme to boot.
Skip Starbucks. Go here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    31
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent 100% Kona Coffee”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I'm sure there are those that enjoy filling their cup with cream and sugar and a variety of additional flavors and calling it 'coffee.' Trust me, BA Coffee, doesn't need it (BA because Trip Advisor doesn't like profanity). Each to their own - life is too short to drink bad coffee (or whisky, or wine ...but I digress) and BA Coffee does a good job.

From what my girlfriend says, their macciatto-latte-whatever coffee drink is also excellent. I'll stick with my cup of dark roast (black), thank you.

Great coffee and the atmosphere is what you would expect of a coffee house. Hipsters, surfer dudes, business folks, you name it - they all stop by. If your visiting, take the time to stop by. If you live at the Oceanfront and you haven't stopped by, you're missing out.

BA Coffee opens early and their service is usually fairly quick - you can be in and out in less than five minutes if you're jonesing for a cup before heading into work. Or, if you'd like to stay and enjoy a muffin or coffee cake, you can do that. Either choice is good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great coffee, terrible attitude”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have favorably reviewed BA coffee in the past. BUT, the past two visits have been exceedingly disappointing. The staff (you all aren't that cool!) thinks they are doing you a favor by simply pouring a cup of coffee. Get over yourselves and smile and thank me for making a purchase. And please don't ignore me as I wait patiently for you to acknowledge a paying customer! I'll honestly return for the coffee, but I will be pleasantly surprised if the paid staff is a just a little more courteous. What a waste of a potentially perfect experience. So disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baddonkey, Owner at Bad Ass Coffee Co, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hello William,
Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your experience. I am so sorry you were disappointed in the service you received from my staff. We exist because of our customers and the staff is trained to understand this important fact. There is no excuse for this and I will speak to them immediately.
I hope that you will return to the shop and continue to be our customer.
Thank you,
Milene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Volcanic Roast”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

A cozy coffee place to just relax with a great cup of JOE, good eats, and all types of wraps to nibble on.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant, cozy experience”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Kona coffee was well-brewed by attentive baristas. The place was cozy-cute. We even bought a pound of beans to brew at home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bad Ass Coffee Co also viewed

 
Virginia Beach, VA
Virginia Beach, VA
 

Been to Bad Ass Coffee Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing