We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, very friendly. I believe it's actually the Wachapreague Inn.”
Review of Wachapreague Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wachapreague
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wachapreague Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wachapreague
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Right across the street from Capt. Zed's Marina, the Island House Restaurant, and a beautiful seaside barrier island view, this motel was just perfect. The new owners of the Wachapreague Inn and their staff are so nice and clearly take a lot of pride in the property (which also has two efficiency rooms, two apartments and one house available for nightly or multi-nightly rental). The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, and the fridge in my room provided just the right level of icy cold for my refreshments. Oh, and great water pressure! Really loved waking to the sound of laughing gulls on the wing over the marina. Just a great stay. As a local kayak guide on the Eastern Shore, I will be happy to recommend the Wachapreague Inn to my guests!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maargvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2011

my husband and went to wachapreague for a short getaway and to do some fishing,We decided to book a room @ the inn before leaving ,we knew we would want a place to shower an sleep after coming off the boat.I was a little hesitant before getting there but was pleasently surprised! thiis place is great! . Do not pay any attention to the reveiws prior to 2009.the new owners are very nice and friendly an will do anything to accomodate you.they have a rental house,apts that have all been renovated.The hotels outside looks freshly painted with an awsome painting on tha one end of building,pinic tables ,bbq grills if you would like to use.The rooms are also freshly painted,have new beds, and are very clean.the carpet in our room had not been replaced yet but some rooms have,the furniture was a bit outdated but again clean!!! and no there are no phones in the room as one reveiwer had mentioned but again who cares!! our cells worked fine and we didnt go to talk on the phone.Also there is a great resturant across the street an ageneral store down the street,and of course the marina is also right acrossthe street.Chris and Nikki are doin a great job ,an have done agreat job @ making this a cozy ,charming little place that my husband an i will def be returning to very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camigirlQueenAnneMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

This is a great little place to stay. I brought my fiancee up from Belle Haven to give her a real taste of the Eastern Shore (my lifelong home) during the Carnival that Wachapreague is famous for--and it was a 4th of July evening she'll never forget. Just as wonderful as ever, with the best funnel cake on the shore, but the hotel is something I DON'T remember. Very charming and friendly owners. Most people are there to fish, of course--and they'll steer you in the right direction for that. Need a cheap room, though? Don't think twice--the price is definitely right. We didn't want to drive back down that night (although it's not very far at all), so we just crashed there so I could show her a sunrise over the barrier islands on the Atlantic coast--it was worth the (remarkably) low price of doing so. Furnishings were perhaps a bit dated for city slickers, but this is the Shore and that's part of the timeless charm.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESVASpiderTerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Nikki and Chris are warm and welcoming! They have done a lot of great work on the Inn including the big house and smaller houses. There are rooms, B&B and housekeeping units -- something for everyone.
The Wachapreague Carnival is a great hit with the kids and this is just a family friendly place to be -- safe and beautiful.
Oh ya and there is great fishing too! Check out Marlin Magic if you get the chance. And you can also play tennis in town or golf about 6 miles away at a great course.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Met the new owners and was very impressed and it is evident with their goals to make this one of the places to go for vacationers.Chris is very active in the fishing scene and believes this to be a top spot for inshore and offshore anglers.Niki is down home and wants all to be friends rather than customers. They have spent the last year upgrading and it is evident they are iit for the long haul.Not the same old hotel it was.Definately out of the way if looking for nite life, but if relaxing is on the menu in a QUIET setting this is a home run.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fishnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Lovely stay for a long weekend. Rooms clean, owners and staff very pleasant to deal with. Family friendly, including the family pets! I'm not a fisherman or boater but the lot in back accommadates both and those people that stayed at the Inn were very pleased with the amenities. Only downside is no cell phone reception. Owner offered their office landline.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank letsgogogoDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2008

We were in Wachapreague a few years ago for a fishing trip. We also stayed in the hotel - at the time the only game in town - take it or leave it. Stayed there again this time for another fishing trip. Much, much better - new owners, young and friendly, and seem really committed to the place. Had the pleasure of sleeping on their brand new beds! Looking forward to seeing what else they get accomplish for when we visit again. May bring the missus and kids next time to explore the area, go kayaking and sunbathing on the pristine unspoiled beaches

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ihenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Wachapreague Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wachapreague Inn

Address: 1 Main Street, Wachapreague, VA 23480
Region: United States > Virginia > Wachapreague
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wachapreague
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing