We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rimba Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sibu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rimba Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
278 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Away from it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We have been to most of the neigbouring islands but they are often much further and harder to get to. Rimba is so close to Singapore and yet feels so far it is incredible. A few days there is like a few weeks at the most remotest island in the world. Full board, so you literally have no decisions (which restaurant? which food?) to make. Your mind is just free from everything. This resort is also one of the most environmental and green, no air-con, no TV, no movies, no food wastage, GREAT. I am surprised there is no eutrophication problem in the bay, which is often what happen what a resort overload the ecosystem with nutrients (e.g. Bunaken).
The crew is just so friendly. Island living at its best!

Room Tip: Every room is seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewYew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    91
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
117
117
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Beautiful location, amazing staff, fabulous food and relaxed environment- what more could you want!? Had a brilliant 4-day break and we were sad to leave the island. Would love to return someday in the not too distant future to experience more (as my partner describes it as) 'rustic posh'!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

I just had a 5 night stay at Rimba Resort and was most impressed! Must clarify that this is a simple resort with simple facilities and no air con. If you can't stand creepy crawlies this is not for you, as the huts and bar have geckos (jerry), some bugs and some mosquitoes - insect repellent is essential! But if you want to relax and have a holiday close to nature then this is it.

The beach is sandy, but to get into the water you do have to walk over some rocks, which is a bit annoying. However the reef more than makes up for it. Less than half a kilometre from the beach I saw a small reef shark (they visit the bay every morning - not dangerous), clownfish, parrot fish and a whole variety of gorgeous colourful fish. The clarity is fair and for the best places definitely ask the owner Malcolm or Carly.

The resort's facilities and huts feel really rustic and welcoming and are all very close to the beach. The food for me was 3 courses and truly excellent. Whilst there is no menu, whatever you are given is really wonderful and would suit anybody. It would be great to have some local dishes served from time to time, but the meals were all great.

The best part of Rimba is the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and they did their best to make me feel comfortable and welcome. When I wanted to be alone they seemed to sense it and when I wanted company they were so friendly and we never ran out of things to talk about. Charlote in particular was really great fun, always smiley and helpful. They even let me recharge my ipod with a personal chargers! And being the only guest on the island (for a couple of nights), they insisted on playing my music (poor them).

I cannot think of anything they could do to improve the resort, although I await eagerly for the opening of the spa. If in this part of Malaysia again I will be back - this is truly value for money and an amazing experience. Thank you for such a pleasant stay, I want to come back already!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Just had another fantastic weekend break at Rimba. As always the food was great and the atmosphere created by the staff was friendly, warm and relaxing. It's an ideal place to chill and enjoy some quality time with friends and family. Everyone in the group enjoyed the resort. We also had a young baby with us and the resort was very helpful in catering to our new needs. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Exceptionally friendly staff; good service
Excellent food
No aircon or hot water so if these are essentials take note
Small, private resort with quiet and relaxed atmosphere
Sleep quality terrible; uncomfortable beds, "knobbly" sheets and despite fans and open windows air circulation poor so too hot to sleep comfortably
Beach is very rocky so to get to the water need to hobble over a few meters of stones depending on the tide. This is not really a problem; just uncomfortable and not fun for kids or sensitive feet :)
Great reef right out the front of the hotel; excellent for snorkelling and you can rent the equipment at the dive centre
Dive centre - again - friendly, knowledgeable staff - reef or boat dives available
Bar can be really noisy at night so if you are not going to be part of the party you should request a hut far from the main restaurant area
Nice bar and reading area

Room Tip: Only one end of the beach has sand near the water so if you have small children best to opt for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaddyLaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

After a short boat ride we arrived at the simple yet exotic Rimba Resort. The staff were immediately welcoming and the food included with the package would please all palates. The rooms have their own bathrooms and the mosquito netting over the queen bed completed the tropical feel. Lots to see and do on the island including diving, snorkeling, kayaking, walking through the forest, chilling at the bar and just plain relaxing. I can't wait to come back and see the spa when they are finished building it. Definitely a great place to just return to simplicity and spend some quality time with the special people in your life. Family and child friendly too!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sholab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We met friends at Rimba for a diving weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed the staff at Rimba and the accomodations. We forgot a wetsuit and they went above and beyond to make sure we got it back in time for another trip. We are planning on going back as soon as we get a chance. It is a very relaxing vacation spot.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sibu
0.0 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
20.8 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#9 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa Sibu Island
15.1 mi away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimba Resort

Property: Rimba Resort
Address: Kem Majidee, Pulau Sibu 81100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Pulau Sibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three hours from Singapore, Rimba Resort offers the perfect place to relax. Our natural bay at the northern tip of Pulau Sibu, Malaysia, offers a quiet and private setting where you can avail of great diving and snorkeling, and rejuvenate your senses.Rimba Resort offers more than two dozen dive sites, as well as the perfect training ground for beginner divers. Our dive school, Hi-Tide Divers, is what any Singapore based diver, or those who wish to become divers are looking for. Hi-Tide Divers boasts one of the most experienced instructors in the region and can cater to all your diving needs, whether it’s learning to dive at your chosen times in Singapore or at our house reef at Rimba Resort. Sitting on a Kenyan style village, Rimba Resort offers 21 charming seafront chalets all within a stone’s throw away from their 350m private beach. Because of its attractive location, Rimba Resort is the ideal place for a romantic beach wedding, team building function, corporate event, family vacation or dive holiday- the possibilities are endless. Our restaurant will exceed all expectations you may have for a small, personal resort. The bar, well there’s no other like it, and our private mini-van service from Singapore means you don’t need to drive or arrange your own transport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rimba Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing