We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Escape to paradise with rimba resort”
Review of Rimba Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Sibu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rimba Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Escape to paradise with rimba resort”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My boyfriend booked a couple of nights in rimba resort as a surprise and it was incredible. All transport from Singapore (where he lives) was included in the price, the friendly customer service was impecible without being overbearing and it turned out to be a fabulously relaxing beach getaway. The beach huts were of a great standard, the food was scrummy and the drink and conversation with fellow paradise seekers flowing. We also had a refresher scuba diving course just off shore which was brilliant. Wish we had stayed longer to progress further! A luscious lively reef was right on your doorstep so even if you only get the chance to snorkel it's well worth it. Great value for money. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We had a sneek peek at the 'suite' which is lovely, big and secluded, definitely with the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alliepavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    92
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
119
119
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

A group of us stayed at Rimba Resort in August 2011 - our initial stay on Sibu Island was booked in another hotel but after one terrible night we transferred to Rimba.

The food, cleanliness, local knowledge, amenities, atmosphere, value for money etc were all exceptional but what really really stood out was the level of customer service - I was amazed by the lengths that Rimba's staff went to help, particularly when we were not even staying at the resort (e.g. arranging a transfer when the initial hotel let us down/arranging a transfer to KL for one of the group who had to leave early.) Considering our situation at the time I cannot thank them enough and ultimately their hard work salvaged a holiday that was fast becoming a real disappointment.

The place caters for all from families/groups of friends/couples etc and I would thoroughly recommend anyone to go there.

So Nice!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJW12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We could not have wished for a better short break. I had my three three children on my hands to look after and entertain for a long weekend. Rimba was the perfect spot for us. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, it was a real pleasure to be there. The kids and I had a scream, from the speedboat ride there and back, to the snorkelling, Kayaking, fishing trip, relaxed evenings, and bush walks. Excellent food, ideal surrounidings - insect repellent a must - and don't be afraid of the geckos!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conrad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We spent 4 nights at Rimba and were lucky, as we had the resort almost to ourselves. And this during Hari Raya week, when every other hotel is sold out!!! So relaxing!!! And it will be even more as soon as the Spa is open! Sure, the huts could have a little make over, there is no air con and you have to be aware of sleeping very close to the jungle, with all its noises and visitors. But so close to Singapore it is incredible how far away you feel. In the morning we saw small reef sharks in the bay, you can go snorkeling and diving at the house reef (good for beginners) or take a day trip to dive at other island reefs. Or just hang out at the beach or at the bar and wait for the next delicious meal to come! The staff... what should I say... CHEERS! Joe, Carly, Malcom, Adam, Grant and the one and only Charlote, you're the best crew we ever had! Always helpful, always smiling and so laid back. We had a brilliant time with you, guys! We'll be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florianny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kulai, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

This is one of the best getaway I ever had!!! And one of the best food I ever had!!! I never thought food was served in such way in an island. Very decorated and well served. You all really give us a wonderful holiday. My girlfriend Alice cried when she saw the birthday cake. She thought that she won't be having a cake at all. Thanks for the surprise and the beautiful table setting at the deck. All of the staffs are very friendly especially Joe and Charlotte. They are really helpful and friendly throughout our stay. We will definitely be having our wedding ceremony there in Rimba Resort!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heavendust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
288 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We have been to most of the neigbouring islands but they are often much further and harder to get to. Rimba is so close to Singapore and yet feels so far it is incredible. A few days there is like a few weeks at the most remotest island in the world. Full board, so you literally have no decisions (which restaurant? which food?) to make. Your mind is just free from everything. This resort is also one of the most environmental and green, no air-con, no TV, no movies, no food wastage, GREAT. I am surprised there is no eutrophication problem in the bay, which is often what happen what a resort overload the ecosystem with nutrients (e.g. Bunaken).
The crew is just so friendly. Island living at its best!

Room Tip: Every room is seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewYew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Beautiful location, amazing staff, fabulous food and relaxed environment- what more could you want!? Had a brilliant 4-day break and we were sad to leave the island. Would love to return someday in the not too distant future to experience more (as my partner describes it as) 'rustic posh'!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Sibu
0.0 mi away
Sibu Island Resort
Sibu Island Resort
#10 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mersing Hotel
Mersing Hotel
#4 of 12 in Mersing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
20.8 mi away
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Timotel Hotel
Timotel Hotel
#9 of 12 in Mersing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sari Pacifica Hotel, Resort & Spa Sibu Island
15.1 mi away
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
Aseania Resort Pulau Besar
#1 of 2 in Pulau Besar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimba Resort

Property: Rimba Resort
Address: Kem Majidee, Pulau Sibu 81100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Pulau Sibu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pulau Sibu
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three hours from Singapore, Rimba Resort offers the perfect place to relax. Our natural bay at the northern tip of Pulau Sibu, Malaysia, offers a quiet and private setting where you can avail of great diving and snorkeling, and rejuvenate your senses.Rimba Resort offers more than two dozen dive sites, as well as the perfect training ground for beginner divers. Our dive school, Hi-Tide Divers, is what any Singapore based diver, or those who wish to become divers are looking for. Hi-Tide Divers boasts one of the most experienced instructors in the region and can cater to all your diving needs, whether it’s learning to dive at your chosen times in Singapore or at our house reef at Rimba Resort. Sitting on a Kenyan style village, Rimba Resort offers 21 charming seafront chalets all within a stone’s throw away from their 350m private beach. Because of its attractive location, Rimba Resort is the ideal place for a romantic beach wedding, team building function, corporate event, family vacation or dive holiday- the possibilities are endless. Our restaurant will exceed all expectations you may have for a small, personal resort. The bar, well there’s no other like it, and our private mini-van service from Singapore means you don’t need to drive or arrange your own transport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rimba Hotel Johor Bahru

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing