We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One-of-a-kind experience”

Waterwheel Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Waterwheel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Inn at Gristmill Square showcases regional American farm-to-table cuisine in the Waterwheel Restaurant. Our menu changes with the seasons to guarantee the freshest most authentic flavors. Freshly prepared ingredients from local and regional growers fill the menu, offering guests an exceptional dining experience. Beyond the menu, guests will enjoy a romantic, intimate atmosphere inside our renovated Mill.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One-of-a-kind experience”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local. What a great place! We loved the site—it had all of the mill details still intact, including the waterwheel on the outside. I felt at ease immediately, with the friendly, sweet staff and warm atmosphere. The Artisanal Cheese Plate was a wonderful starter. The house salad featured a delicious herb vinaigrette that was the perfect complement to the cucumber and carrot. Entree was Scallops and risotto—flavors were simple yet sophisticated. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wazzy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    65
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, decent food”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

There's not a lot of food to choose from in this neck of the woods, and we very much appreciated the beautiful historical site. Our server was curt and impersonable and made us feel like outsiders, not welcome at all. Food was decent. Nice dinner rolls, salads were fresh and nicely presented. My trout was a bit overcooked, but otherwise nicely prepared and my husband said his lasagne was sodden with cheese, when it should have received a much lighter touch. All in all it was good and we enjoyed it, but we would've really enjoyed it a lot more if our server hadn't seemed so put out by our presence. It confused us because friends have told us how much they love this place, so I'm hoping our server was having a bad day. It happens to all of us.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Freimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“As wonderful as we remembered”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The Waterwheel Restaurant is part of the Inn at Gristmill Square and while we have never stayed there, we have dined (eaten is not an apt description) here several times. I started with a blanched white and green asparagus appetizer followed by their wonderful trout. Husband had a caesar salad and rib eye. The service is outstanding and friendly. Why haven't we stayed there, we travel at times with our dog(s). The desserts were great as well. All in all, a prime experience in a place with friendly people and great atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wvjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Nice Dinner”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Have dined here a couple of times and enjoyed it. Really nice atmosphere , good menu and very cool bar and wine cellar--pick your own.
Everyone enjoyed their dishes. Good variety and not tricked up--my wife loved the trout. Service is very good and reception friendly.
Just now starting to spend fair amounts of time in Hot Springs and this is currently our # 1 pick over any of the Homestead/Omni options for a nice meal out.
About 10 minutes from Homestead/Owners Club--Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ajgibb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you are staying at the Homestead...”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

...get the valet to bring your car around to the front door. Then drive five miles up the road to Warm Springs and have dinner at the Waterwheel. The restaurants at the Homestead are quite good, but the Waterwheel is the next level up, for less money. I roundly recommend the trout and my wife loved the ravioli. The chef there really knows what she/he is doing. The preparation, flavors and presentation are all top notch. As is the service. There is a fine line between friendly gracious service and overbearing, ostentatious hovering. The staff at the Waterwheel knows where that line is and stays on the right side of it. We have visited the Waterwheel twice and will do so again any time we are in the area. The flavors, the presentation, the wine, the gracious attention of both staff and management, and the ambience were all excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SANDJ52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterwheel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Waterwheel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing