We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Dining Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Gristmill Square
Ranked #1 of 5 Warm Springs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I was a bit wary after reading a couple of the previous dining experiences, but when anyway after friends told us what an enjoyable experience they had last month. We were staying nearby at the Homestead, so I cannot comment on the rooms. We were seated promptly and had excellence service from our waitress. She was attentive and helpful with menu selections. The potato/leek soup was excellent. I had the trout, my husband had the filet. Both were delicious. The salad, bread, and homemade dessert were as well. The place if very charming, nice change of scenery from the Homestead. The manager came to our table to check on us and was most professional. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank fran60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have been looking forward to this trip for some time and in spite of a couple of less than bubbly actions of a lady who identified herself as one of the owners, the trip was great. Not meant to insult, the place was busy and she may have been having a rough day!. Restaurant was quaint, food was about what we expected albeit somewhat inflated. Bar has a great selection but there are only about 6 seats. It adds to the intimacy and where else are you going to go when you're here? Bar and service staff were friendly. The continental breakfast would be better suited by naming it a continental snack. Two very small portions of a baked product and a couple of ounces of yogurt topped with granola cereal! Coffee was hot. Probably would not book a stay here again, but if in the area may try the restaurant or bar again. If you do book a stay here, be sure to pack snacks and drinks, nothing available after dinner service and nothing close by. Also do yourself a favor and make a trip up to the Jefferson pools about a mile away. A two hour soak in 95 degree mineral water seems to make a lot of trivial matters just float away!

Room Tip: Look at the website pictures, ask questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed in the Tower suite which was very big, full of character and lots of features. A wonderful fire in the silo tower rooms itself, a nice veranda and pleasant views. We had a very good meal with wine chosen from the delightful and well-stocked cellar. Not too twee or pretentious and very sensible and warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We went for dinner to this very pleasant spot, when we were staying at the nearby Homestead Resort. It was a nice, more intimate, change of venue. The food was very good. The duck was superior to that friends had the following evening at the Homestead. I am not a connoisseur but the wine list and cellar seemed very nice. The cellar is charmingly situated in the lower depths of the mill. Our server was very busy with too many other tables to provide ideal service, but she was generally gracious. All-in-all, I thought it was a very nice evening and a most charmingly situated venue for an evening meal or possibly luncheon. They also rent a few rooms, but as we stayed elsewhere, I can only comment on the dining room.

Room Tip: If duck is on the menu and you enjoy a crackling good, crispy cut of meat, go for it. The wine cell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Beachbumman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Bath county is stunning, and Warm Springs is so authentic. Room reminds me of an English farmhouse, but very nice. Wifi free etc. Has a pool you can use, and one thing i liked the most about this guesthouse was the lack of other people, so it is a perfect place in my view for a quiet getaway to beautiful Virginia countryside. The restaurant is nice, but nothing special. Staff are great.

Room Tip: Rye room is the best in my opinion, then oat room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OllieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Unquestionably one of the worst dining experiences ever. Started with trying to make a reservation – it took 3 days. I called, got voicemail and was instructed to leave a message, which I did. Never got a return call. Called twice more, still got voicemail. Finally sent an email and received a reply 16 hours later. We arrived exactly at the time of our reservation….had to wait almost five minutes for the little blonde hostess to stop her very personal conversation and acknowledge us. After we were seated, it was almost fifteen minutes before our waitress first appeared to offer us water. Let me be clear – we had early reservations (6 pm) – there was only one other table (with two people) being served. It was clear from the start that our waitress had, at best, been trained to wait tables during the breakfast shift at Denny’s…if she had been trained at all. We were a foursome with plenty of room behind the table for proper service. She did not serve; she chose to pass salads, entrees, etc. down the table and asked us to pass her our water and wine glasses so she could fill them, dripping on the end of the table. In a restaurant where the least expensive entrée is $24.95, I certainly expect better. Two in the party had the French onion soup, which they declared to be excellent. I thought perhaps things were taking a turn for the better. The salads, with a grand choice of TWO dressings (blue cheese and a not-delicious creamy vinaigrette), were only a small plate of mediocre mixed greens. The entrees arrived, and even our Denny’s breakfast waitress could tell that the medium rare rib eye ordered by our friend more closely resembled a roofing shingle. She cut into it to check the doneness and was appalled to find it was a very, very, dry, dark brown throughout. She sent it back and told us to go ahead. My husband had a chicken and ham dish which he said was quite good. Our other friend had a pasta dish with chicken and mushrooms, which he said was ok, but was severely lacking in chicken and completely overrun with mushrooms. I had the mountain trout, which considering the area, should have been a signature dish, but wasn’t. The fish had no flavor of its own and was drowning in a greasy, herb butter sauce. We finished our dinners and still our friend had not been served her replacement steak. She managed to get the waitress’ attention to tell her to cancel her order since she had been waiting well over twenty minutes and didn’t want to be eating by herself. The very unprofessional manager, seven days in need of a shave and wearing a brown velour jacket, plaid shirt and jeans stopped by to say he was sorry, but he didn’t really sound or act too concerned. He also reached across us to clear our plates. So now we know who trained the wait staff. Finally desserts were served. I had an apple cinnamon crepe which was delicious. The house Ponga Sauvignon Blanc was very good. The atmosphere was lovely. But the service and attitude was abysmal. We had been to this restaurant about 18 months earlier and had a lovely dinner and evening which was why we made the return trip to share the experience with good friends. I am sad and angry to say the experience was simply terrible. The website says they think they’re running a high-end, quality establishment “in an elegant country setting.” Nope. Never again. Just not so.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Dakota2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

We always appreciate all feedback, both good and bad. After reading this review we are so disappointed to learn of the negative experience these guests suffered. We completely agree that the ribeye ordered was completely overcooked due to some service issues. We offered some soup while the new ribeye was being prepared, but due to the fact that it is a thick cut of beef we should have just suggested a different entree that would not have taken so long to prepare. In offering some soup in the interim while we cooked a new steak we hoped that the dining experience would not be a total loss, but we see now that it was. We also hoped that comping the steak and soup, etc. would have been a reasonable course of action, but we can also see from this review that it was simply not enough of a gesture. At any time should you ever want to come back and experience the restaurant again, with our compliments, we would welcome the opportunity and promise to provide you with an excellent dining experience for which we are known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We arrived at Gristmill in a Thursday evening skeptical of what was to come. Accordingly, we checked in for one night, and said that we may stay for an additional night. The room was clean, but was nothing special. After freshening up, we headed to the Gristmill's restaurant, the Waterwheel. We were delighted to find that the Waterwheel had great food and wine, live music, and good service. The next morning, we had a simple breakfast on the porch outside of our room (breakfast is usually a baked good, coffee, juice and fruit). After breakfast, we headed out for a hike, forgetting to tell the front desk that we would be spending another night. When we returned to our room a little bit after 2 pm, all of our belongings were removed and hastily put in another room. We were told that someone else had reserved our room, but that we could stay in another room because others were available. We were shocked. We informed them that we did not wish to stay there at all, and left. The impromptu eviction cast a shadow over an otherwise pleasant experience, such that it ruined our trip. We would never return to this unprofessional and inconsiderate place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GristmillSquare, Owner at Inn at Gristmill Square, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

We prefer to see this situation for how it actually was, "relocated while hiking". In an ongoing effort to accommodate the needs of every guest, we relocated your belongings to the unoccupied room next door so that we could prepare your room for the incoming guest who had a reservation (this is common practice as we often have guests who move rooms because they want a second night, but their original room is booked). We waited to do this until 30 minutes prior to check-in for the incoming guest, which was well past the checkout time. We called your cell phone in hopes of reaching you to explain what we needed to do, and also to find out your timeline since we hadn't heard from you all morning. I wish there had been better communication from both us when you checked in (telling you that your room was not open for a second night's stay) and from you in the morning before leaving for your hike. Had we all communicated better I am sure that you would have enjoyed the remainder of your stay and not felt compelled to write this review. Any time we can make it right with a guest we welcome the chance to do so. If you would ever like to come back to the inn to stay for a night with our compliments please do not hesitate to contact us to make arrangements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warm Springs
21.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Mountain View
4.1 mi away
The Omni Homestead Resort
The Omni Homestead Resort
#1 of 2 in Hot Springs
5,677 reviews
1.2 mi away
Roseloe Motel
Roseloe Motel
#2 of 2 in Hot Springs
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Inn at Mountain Quest
The Inn at Mountain Quest
#1 of 6 in Marlinton
126 reviews
24.7 mi away
Brierley Hill Bed and Breakfast
16.4 mi away
The Hummingbird Inn
The Hummingbird Inn
#1 of 1 in Goshen
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Gristmill Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Gristmill Square

Address: 118 Old Germantown Road, Warm Springs, VA 24484-2001
Region: United States > Virginia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Warm Springs
Price Range: £71 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Gristmill Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn at Gristmill Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Gristmill Square Hotel Warm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing