We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food and Nice Setting Downstairs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Bistro

Black Bear Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Bear Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 86 Restaurants in Warrenton
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Combining the best of farm fresh local and organic ingredients with old-fashioned family value, Black Bear Bistro serves up generous portions of great food at very reasonable pricing. All dishes are prepared to order using the finest produce, herbs, cheeses, breads and meats. Meals are complemented by excellent Virginia wines plus on tap are a great selection of Virginia brewed draft beer selections … or try one of our signature martinis – all served by a friendly, attentive staff!Black Bear Bistro & Cellar is open daily. On Monday & Tuesday, we are open for lunch only, from 11am – 5pm. Wednesday through Sunday, lunch is served from 11am to 4pm. We serve what our patrons consider the ‘Best Lunch in Warrenton’, featuring the highest quality and tastiest food that is well worth the time it takes to prepare from scratch. Plus our Quick Lunch section satisfies our hastiest of lunch patrons who need to get in and out promptly, but still leave with a smile of satisfaction.Wednesday through Sunday, from 4pm – 9pm ( and until 10pm on Friday and Saturday ), Black Bear Bistro & Cellar shifts over to the Dinner Menu adding sumptuous entrees to our list of famous burgers and sandwiches. Chef Eisenhauer also creates a special menu each night to feature dishes he’s created for that night alone!In addition to our several indoor dining areas, Black Bear Bistro & Cellar also boasts of an outdoor patio complete with wrought iron chairs and tables covered by lovely umbrellas for shade. The patio is open seasonally and is pet friendly. Bring your furry or feathered friends to join you while you enjoy a lovely meal alfresco! While the indoor areas of Black Bear Bistro & Cellar are non-smoking, we do allow smoking outside on the patio.Whether it’s a casual lunch, a hearty dinner or a special occasion, Black Bear Bistro & Cellar has flexible dining spaces which can be combined to accommodate small to medium size receptions, parties, business lunches or meetings to suit your needs and budget.
Woodstock, Virginia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Food and Nice Setting Downstairs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We came here for a nice dinner and enjoyed a pretty good meal in a relatively quiet setting. The upstairs crowd was being noisy, so we asked to be seated downstairs.....that was a good move.

The decor reminds us of a colonial style inn.....and that is to be found downstairs. Enjoyed the large fireplace and intimate setting of the lower level. The menu selection has seemed to shift to offering more casual fare (specialty sandwiches, clam rolls, pizza, beer and mixed drinks at $$) from when we were here a couple years ago for our anniversary dinner.

Salad was fresh and good. Classic Ruben sandwich was very good. Beef burger was well done (but I had ordered medium.) Beer was cold, as was the coffee. We thought BBB's prices were high for what food was served to us.

Service was slow, but the waitresses were busy, so we just lingered and made the best of it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    80
    38
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, great service, good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

So the wife and I are working our way through Best of Warrenton list for 2014 trying to find the best offerings in out adopted hometown. Claire's at the depot wAs a resounding failure for us but we are eternal optimists. We were pleasantly surprised at the Black Bear.

We had heard about this place for a couple of years and finally had a chance to visit. It is a pleasant place cut into the Main Street of old town, decorated in bright colors and just a nice place to sit and have a cocktail. We opted to sit inside but the clientele that came in after us clearly like go quaint patio area.

We took the waitresses special recommendations; I had the crusted pecan salad and the wife had the Clam PO Boy. We were definitely surprised at the large size of the meals and we both took home left overs. Bothe of the entrees were well prepared and although I found the salad a little bland, it was clearly fresh and of good quality. Cindy really enjoyed the PO boy commenting that it was actually real breaded clams and not minced clam patties.

The menu was decently broad and the waitress was very attentive and friendly. Thanks to Black Bear bistro for restoring our faith in local Warrenton area restaurants. Highly recommend you stop for a sandwich and a beer. You won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank BrentAndCindyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I am seriously getting distressed about Warrentons restaurant scene. Claires at the Depot has gone seriously downhill in last year so I want so desperately to find a good (doesn't have to be inexpensive) restaurant in this adorable little old town area of Warrenton Va. We tried Black Bear a while back and while the food wasn't bad the service was painfully slow. Since Claires exorbitant price tag has not been delivering on any front we decided to try Black Bear again this weekend AND pretty much same result. It seems they have added a second menu now which is essentially an ok wood fired pizza menu to offset the regular restaurant. We chose one off of each the regular menu and a pizza. The food wasn't bad. It was underwhelming but not bad. The wait time for service was once again ridiculous as they seem to be terminally understaffed. Out waitress was nice but clearly overwhelmed. The price tag for two people was well over a hundred bucks and although the building cute it appears they can't figure out who they are, fine dining or pizza joint and how to schedule staff. One shining exception is their drinks! The mixed drinks rocked and at 9-10 bucks a pop well worth it. I think they would do better as a pizza joint with drinks and lower prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jakob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Mountains to Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were on our way back from the mountains and dipped into Warrenton to see what we could see. We liked Black Bear. The menu was very good. I had an indulgence of chicken gravy on buttermilk biscuits. Nancy had a great gazpacho and a run of the mill caprese salad on a croissant. That doesn't mean the sandwich was not good. This is a very good brunch spot. The locals seem to concur.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank innerbum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant in Old Town Warrenton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The service was excellent with several choices of where to eat:more informal upstairs,with outdoor seating as well.A more formal dining room downstairs.All choices quite nice.
I would have preferred a few more choices yet the food was good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WRS-26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Bear Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing