We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”
Review of Airlie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airlie
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Warrenton
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I have a good bit of travel logged this year... if you're looking for purely opulent, this may not be for you. However, if you're the kind of person that appreciates simply good service and staff and a quietly beautiful property this is the choice stay in this region.
Pretty grounds. Every interface with the staff was perfect. I rode the bikes (supplied by the center) on the property early Sunday, deer, wild turkey, swans...
Breakfast, included, was great, with again attentive service.
Couldn't say enough here...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHFERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy P, Manager at Airlie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you for your post. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We encourage you to follow us on Facebook to stay abreast of all the exciting changes taking place.

Best,

Airlie Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

I booked Airlie as a weekend escape from the city over Labor Day weekend and we couldn't have been happier with the decision. The grounds are beautiful, the breakfast in the morning is excellent, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff (especially Molly at the front desk!!!) is very friendly and helpful. There are also a lot of great hikes and wineries in the area. I've already recommended Airlie to several of my clients and friends and I hope to make a trip back soon.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy P, Manager at Airlie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Hi Chris,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay over Labor Day weekend. Make sure to follow us on Facebook and Twitter to find out about upcoming events at the property. We hope to see you again soon!

Best,

Airlie Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My initial hope was to enjoy a lovely "get a way" weekend with my husband. We took advantage of a Living Social special that showcased tranquil surroundings, first rate accommodations and what appeared to be delicious food. Sadly none of the above were to be found. While the surroundings were tranquil, you could also tell they were in need of repair. The water ways were stagnate with gray/green foam, the rooms - well I'm still looking for anything that looked like the rooms shown on line and as far as the availability of food - not readily available. The comp breakfast from 7:30 to 9:30 never replenished and was dried out by 9:00. The staff was mostly friendly, however we had a terrible time getting into our room. We were given keys that did not open the first two rooms we were assigned to and after waiting in the open area of the Lodge for 25 minutes finally a representative showed up to chastise us for being in the wrong building. She later found out we were in the right building, just given the wrong room number TWICE. Buyer Beware, this was NO DEAL. All in all I would have rather stayed home

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy P, Manager at Airlie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you very much for posting comments on your experience at Airlie. It is, of course, very disheartening for us to hear about a negative customer experience. For that, we sincerely apologize. In reading your note, we have taken several steps to improve not only the aesthetics of our water way but we had a specialist come out to resolve the issue. We appreciate your feedback and recognize without your feedback we could not continue to grow. . We hope that in the near future you will give us another chance to give you the best experience possible here at Airlie.


Airlie Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We went to Airlie for a 2 night weekend retreat and were so pleased with the grounds and service. The campus itself is a stunning natural beauty with so much to enjoy. We loved the complimentary bicycles and spent at least an hour or two each day on them exploring the center, including the on-site farm and rolling hillside. Our room, in the Lodge, was very comfortable and a decent size. We also enjoyed taking our coffee outside in the mornings on the covered patio. The formal and butterfly gardens were beautiful, and the free pool table in the game room was a lot of fun. If your looking for a beautiful, relaxing place to retreat then this is definitely it.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the Lodge or Carriage house. If you have a little extra to spend, or a family, chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christy P, Manager at Airlie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and for writing this wonderful review. We encourage you to follow us on social media. We hope to see you here at Airlie again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed at Airlie in May over my wedding weekend, and while the actual wedding wasn't at Airlie, the majority of the guests stayed there for the weekend. Airlie went above and beyond to accommodate both individual requests as well as my requests around grouping people near each other. We had an incredible point of contact Brittany who helped us on a near daily basis leading up to the event.

We also really enjoyed their dining options, as they set up a great buffet lunch for us over by the Smokehouse, which was a great place to spend the afternoon. Other things I and other guests enjoyed was a very accommodating late night staff as well as the bikes to get around.

The only thing they could do better is their reservations systems, and making it easier to book rooms online, but I was told they were planning on doing this as they cater more to leisure travel and not all conferences.

All in all the weekend was exactly what we imagined, and I would highly recommend this venue for any large party.

Room Tip: The Silo House is the best building for large parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSMcPherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bre D, Public Relations Manager at Airlie, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your feedback. We are currently working to improve our online reservation experience. Please come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is my first time here.The wonderful Castleton Festival,45 min of back roads is on its fifth year and had a package arrangement with the Airlie Center.I got here at 1pm on Friday,swam and took walks,was greeted like a VIP with a Welcome tray of fruit,crackers,cheese and wine.
The grounds have winding roads and several lodges/cottages.My room was in a charming lodge,with the living/sitting room area looking like a ski lodge.Breaksfast buffet was wonderful.
I would recommend this for a weekend away even if you do not have an event to attend!

Room Tip: You may ask for the type of room you want,and there are handicapped access rooms.My room was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WRS-26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bre D, Public Relations Manager at Airlie, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and our many amenities on property. Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The food is Amazing! The chefs at Airlie create tasty dishes and fabulous food displays. It's great that the food is local and their Kitchen Garden called the Local Food Project provides fresh organic food for guests to enjoy.

I highly recommend that if you stay at Airlie then you absolutely must stop by the 4 acre Local Food Project vegetable garden onsite. It's a great setting for a Vintage shabby-chic outdoor wedding as well.

Garden Tours, a Fall festival and garden workshops are great activities for groups of all ages to enjoy the outdoors! Winetasting Parties, Local Food Picnics and Capture-the-Flag teambuilding are some of the most popular activities within the fall Cornmaze at the Local Food Project garden!

If you're looking to enjoy the great outdoors then visit here:
http://www.airlie.com/lfplectures/

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madison747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bre D, Public Relations Manager at Airlie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed the food and the Local Food Project. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenton
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Warrenton
8.7 mi away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warrenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville-Haymarket
10 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville
WoodSpring Suites Gainesville
#3 of 3 in Gainesville
66 reviews
15.1 mi away
Salamander Resort & Spa
Salamander Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Middleburg
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie

Address: 6809 Airlie Rd, Warrenton, VA 20187-7110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Warrenton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Warrenton
Price Range: £107 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airlie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie is a secluded destination for meetings, weddings, and romantic getaways in the Northern Virginia countryside. Located in Warrenton, Airlie is just a 50-minute drive from the center of Washington, D.C. yet a world away from the hustle and bustle of the District. The historic manor house and village of guest rooms are set on 300 acres of verdant Virginia landscape featuring pastoral, lake, and wildlife views. We take pride in our commitment to farm-to-table dining. Airlie's Culinary team sources ingredients from a network of thirty local farms in addition to our own four-acre organic garden. Make a reservation at Garden Bistro and experience a culinary adventure to the best in seasonal flavor. Whether you're here for leisure, business, or a noteworthy occasion - we're glad you landed at Airlie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Airlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Hotel Warrenton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing