We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Black Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Horse Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Warrenton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Was fortunate to have hit the off-season, so had the Inn mostly to myself for four nights. It is a beautiful old property in a nearly perfect setting. The staff were very helpful and charming, with breakfast prepared to order in an elegant dining room. In the evening, the fruit, cheese and wine in the living room and parlour were very enjoyable, and a nice way to unwind at the end of the day. if I go to Warrenton again, I will definitely stay at the Inn, and would strongly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobilee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

Wonderful bed and breakfast. Great ambiance, fantastic service and beautiful setting. Lots of details to take you back in time from decor to music to food. comfortable atmosphere. They even claim to have (friendly) ghosts. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozarkrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I wanted a weekend getaway from DC and was recommended to here by a friend. We ended up having the entire property to ourselves! What a beautiful place. The grounds are great -- yes there actually is a black horse! His name is Dante and he is very friendly. Stephanie and Joyce were so kind and very attentive. We felt very comfortable and safe. The inn itself is beautiful and romantic. Breakfast was so delicious. Couldn't have had a better experience. We look forward to coming back many times in the future.

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm and personality. The Great Expectations suite is by far my favorite. Fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhanover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

If you are looking for a corporate retreat venue, the Black Horse Inn is magnificent. Lynn, the owner is an amazing hostess. Her staff are diligent and delightful. There was a separate space for the meeting (gilded fox) which was a great physical environment. Food and drinks were abundant and the Inn itself is beautiful. The outside is gorgeous and I can see why people would want the venue for a wedding. My staff all loved being there and have already asked if we can come back! Relaxing environment for creativity to flow! Thank you Lynn and staff for a perfect corporate retereat.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and gorgeous, the one outside in the cellar was very charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Attended a wedding in October 2012. Property was beautiful. The owner was everywhere making sure things went perfectly. People were friendly and concerns were addressed immediately. Breakfast each morning was delicious!

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
Thank Frank F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I have to say, this beautiful venue is so much more than just a bed and breakfast... I had the honor and privilege of staying at the Black Horse Inn for the weekend, as my sister in law was having her wedding ceremony on the grounds. When you pull into the drive, you will be blown away, and that is only the beginning. The friendly and accommodating staff go above and beyond to make you feel at home, and make your stay as carefree and enjoyable as possible. When staying in a more intimate environment, it can sometimes feel like the hospitality is forced. That was not the case at Black Horse Inn. Every morning started with a hot cup of coffee on the deck of our suite, followed by an amazing breakfast prepared and served by the friendly ladies that help the Inn run smoothly. After we were ready to start our day, the same ladies would clean our suite and make our beds for the day, being sure to straighten anything that may have been out of place. I can definitely say that these employees work as a team, and they all truly love what they do, and belong in the service and hospitality industry. The professionalism and integrity of the Owner, Lynn, was exceptional. Not only was she warm and friendly, she was genuinely concerned with each guests experience and comfort at the Inn. If you needed an extra pillow or couldn't figure out the AC, she was the lady who came to the rescue! She is more than just an owner of a business, she loves what she does, and is passionate about Black Horse Inn. This will not be the last time I stay at Black Horse Inn. Everything about the Inn, including the wedding veranda and the reception hall exceeded my every expectation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Wow! We found this amazing inn online but were pleasantly surprised by just how beautiful and graceful this hunt country retreat is. We were greeted by wonderful folks including the inn's owner who made us feel welcome and comfortable immediately. Accommodating is an understatement at how well we were treated even with a big wedding rehearsal in progress. We stayed in the Room with A View which which had a great view and quite a comfortable bed. The grounds are stunning highlighting the best of Virginia Hunt Country. The hospitality was over the top and due to some room scheduling issues and we ended up getting upgraded and receiving a lower price without even asking...my husband and I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kreinsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warrenton
5 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
172 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Warrenton
2.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Warrenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Poplar Springs Inn & Spa
2 mi away
The Chilton House
The Chilton House
#1 of 2 in Warrenton
9 reviews
15.3 mi away
Inn at Kelly's Ford
Inn at Kelly's Ford
#1 of 2 in Remington
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Horse Inn

Address: 8393 Meetze Rd, Warrenton, VA 20187-4340
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Warrenton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Warrenton
Price Range: £154 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse Inn, Warrenton, Virginia is the ideal escape for romantic get-away's, weddings, business meetings, and revitalizing retreats. The natural solitude of this historic, hunt-country estate encourages effective meetings and creative thought. Just 45 minutes from Washington, D.C., this spectacular setting will provide just what you need to refresh and revitalize! Ten rooms with private baths, corporate center for 200. Lunches and dinners upon request. Team-building activities, WiFi & televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Hotel Warrenton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing