We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brick

Brick
Ranked #18 of 86 Restaurants in Warrenton
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The pizza at the Brick is really good! I like the thin crust and there are lots of choices for toppings from plain to fufu. The kids like to watch them make the pizzas when sitting at the counter. We've had the meatball appetizer (can't recall the name), which is tiny (3 meatballs), but good. They deliver food to Black Bear Bistro upstairs, which is nice. The kids usually want pizza while my husband and I like to go to Black Bear Bistro, which is dog friendly (we stop by sometimes when walking our dog) so it satisfies everyone. They just had their one year anniversary and gave out free pizzas! Unfortunately we had to miss that. I highly recommend visiting the Brick.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JenCinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“If you can't get to Italy, get yourself here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I've had pizza in Palermo that wouldn't rate a 1 and pizza in Rome that ranged from a 1 to a 4.5. The Brick's pizza earns a 5. Everything is done right: the oven, the ratio of crisp to chewy, the amount of wood-fired char on the bottom, the taste of the crust, the freshness of the toppings, the flavor of the sauce. It is as authentic a Neopolitan pizza experience as you can get and I don't say that lightly.

Also worth trying: the salads and the meatballs. Was thrilled to see they make arancini, (stuffed rice balls) but they raised the bar and made everything else as good as I've had in Italy, and the arancini weren't as good as the ones in Sicily.

Not fair to compare?

The quality is so good that the food overall compares favorably to New York, Boston and almost everywhere else. (I'd rank Pi in Nantucket and Frank's in Sorrento just a wee bit higher.)

Try it. You'll find yourself wishing you knew more superlatives to write a better review than this.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Calabresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gourmet Pizza in Fauquier County”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Superb and affordable pizza, appetizers and hot sandwiches. The chefs will work w/ you to create your ideal personal pizza from a large selection of sauces, cheeses and toppings. The dough is awesome and the wood fired brick oven does wonders. It can be a little crowded on FRI and SAT nights with the staff being a little slow. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stop in and enjoy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

A much needed change for Old Town Warrenton. The brick oven pizza was delicious. You can watch the chefs build your pizza! Bring the family and enjoy pizza along with many other offerings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
807 reviews
521 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Greata Experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

So, seems the management must've read previous posts that advised the food was good, but service was lack luster, because we tried Brick for the first time (after trying Black Bear a few times and getting the slow, mediocre service mentioned) this past weekend. We got great service and noticed there were many servers floating around, taking care of other tables quickly and efficiently as well.

The garlic knots were really tasty! Their marinara was amazing; right amount of spice and garlic - YUM! The Arancini was very nicely prepared. Most importantly, the Ragu pizza was amazingly tasty! The Bolognese was VERY good! Only complaint was too much crust around the edge when they should have put more topping on top. The dough is good, but not that good to have that much extra.

Overall, it's a nice place to eat and we look forward to going back. The wine list is disappointing, expensive for what you get. That and the crust were the only issues.

Go! give them a try! Give them a review and let us know what YOU think!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brick also viewed

 
Warrenton, VA
 

Been to Brick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing