We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of El Agave

El Agave
Ranked #16 of 88 Restaurants in Warrenton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
gainesville, va
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

There are so many better Mexican restaurants in the area. The service was slow and they were out of margaritas on-the-rocks, but they had frozen margaritas (huh??). I think they just didn't have a bartender. The food was mediocre and the fried ice cream was not fried ice cream but a scoop of vanilla on a fried tortilla (that is NOT fried ice cream).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank morunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    13
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Been a while...”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It's been a while since I've been here, but I wasn't impressed. If what they call authentic Mexican food is ground beef with no seasoning on an Old El Paso shell, then I guess they are authentic. But to me authentic doesn't mean "no flavor."

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheFranchise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Real Mexican Food”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I travel to Mexico at least once or twice a year, so I know how real Mexican food should taste. This is as close as I've come in the United States. The wait is minimal and the food is excellent. Not as excited about the wait staff; not much personality and most remind me of the Soup Nazi on Seinfeld, but I can deal with it for the great food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CancunxLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprised”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We stopped here after the place we originally wanted to go was closed. This is a must try, our meal was very good.

Helpful?
Thank littlejohnja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amissville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good Mexican food”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

A step closer to authentic Mexican cuisine than you'll find anywhere nearby. I enjoy the experience every time I go.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Agave also viewed

 

Been to El Agave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing