We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the Best Chinese Restaurant in Virginia”
Review of Yen Cheng - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Yen Cheng
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
610 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
“Possibly the Best Chinese Restaurant in Virginia”
Reviewed 22 May 2013

If you're near Warrenton Virginia take the 17 Business Loop into town. From the north side its just a few moments off US17. From the South side its maybe 10 minutes into town. Yen Cheng is a little hole in the wall Chinese Restaurant whose success we immediately decided was not due to its decor. The food is the thing here. Good, home made Chinese and all fresh vegetables. On the front of their menu is the slogan "All fresh Vegetable and No Can Food". We started with Spring Rolls, crispy and lightly deep fried with cabbage inside, very light and fresh. The Wonton soup was home made and I'm pretty sure had home made wontons. Pork Egg Foo Young and Triple Delight were as good as we've had anywhere. The Sea Scallop with Vegetables was packed with fresh local Scallops and fresh local vegetables, the best we've had anywhere. They make many dishes with a spicy touch that many Chinese restaurants leave off the menu. This is a good place to eat and well worth the side trip into Warrenton.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jfarlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Baltimore, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always great food!”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We love this place and go on a regular basis. The staff is always very friendly and accommodating and we never have to wait long to get our food. This has been our go-to Chinese restaurant since moving to the area! Don't miss it!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bfwbfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good - authentic”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Hot & sour soup very good. Our dinners were good, I liked there chicken dinner better than beef quality.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Been-and-DoneThat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Baltimore, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good!”
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Yen Cheng is a smaller, family owned chinese restaurant that is surprisingly good if not great. Family is very friendly and will even deliver to us tho we are 8 miles away. Saw Willard Scott from GMA in there once with his wife so you know it's good tasting food! Vegetable Chow Mein and General Tso's Tofu are our favorites. Bean curd soup for 2 is good along with veggie spring rolls. Very inexpensive. Try it and they may become your new go-to for tasty Asian food. They even offer Thai dishes.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler20137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
1 review
“Best Mongolian beef ever!”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We always get the same thing we got on our first visit because it's just so good. Hot and sour soup, Mongolian beef, chicken fried rice and spring rolls. Consistent quality, very friendly service, awesome food!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warrentonmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yen Cheng also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing