We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ordinary, just extraordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn at Little Washington
Ranked #3 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2,830 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,847 helpful votes
“Not ordinary, just extraordinary”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

If you are on a budget, the Inn at Little Washington probably isn't a stop on your travel itinerary. It is the most expensive hotel/restaurant booking you'll ever make. But it's worth it. We have been there five times and we always stay three nights. You have to make dinner reservations months in advance but hotel guests are priorities. If you stay there, you can eat there. And if you don't eat there, you are missing the dining experience of your life. Owner/chef Patrick O'Connell, a James Beard recipient, is a master craftsman in the kitchen. After dinner, walk through the courtyard garden to the back of the Inn. There is a huge window that allows visitors to view O'Connell and his staff doing their thing, preparing one culinary masterpiece after another. For a few dollars more, you can even enjoy your meal at a kitchen table and join in all the fun. O'Connell has been running his show for 35 years and he hasn't lost his zest for producing wonderful meals six nights (the Inn is closed on Tuesday) a week. How good is it? The Inn is the only establishment of its kind in the world to receive five stars for lodging and dining. There is a 14,000-bottle wine cellar. English decorator Joyce Evans has magnificently appointed the Inn's rooms. We prefer Room 9 in the front with a baloney overlooking the front of the building, so we can see the folks from Washington D.C. arrive in their limos. O'Connell has expended his property to include more accommodations. And the gift shop, where George Washington once danced (he surveyed the town in the 1700s), is sure to tempt your pocket book. Don't miss breakfast. I love the trout. The Inn is a special place. Yes, it is expensive. Much more expensive than any of the other five-star hotels we like to stay at--Greenbrier, Jefferson, Williamsburg Inn, Broadmoor, Monmouth. But if you like to be pampered and you love to experience the very best, you have to spend at least one night at the Inn. I've never met anyone who stayed there who said their highest expectations weren't met. The staff is impeccable, mostly young people who are anxious to put the Inn on their resume as they work their way up the ladder in the business. The housekeeping staff is invisible, always appearing in your room after you've left and always gone when you return. How do they do it? Just to find out, I went back to our room during breakfast and caught them. It was all in fun. Everything and everyone at the Inn is so professional. As one young person said: "A recommendation from the Inn on your resume means so much." In 35 years, if Patrick O'Connell has received one negative comment about his pride and joy, I'd like to see it. Make a reservation, a year in advance, and you'll see what I mean.

Room Tip: We prefer Room 9 in the front with a baloney overlooking the street and parking lot. It's a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
We can’t thank you enough for the time you spent on this very detailed and thoughtful review. You have absolutely captured the essence of The Inn at Little Washington and portrayed exactly the kind of experience we wish for each of our guests. Your words of praise are deeply appreciated by all of us and hearing that each time you have stayed and dined with us your visit has been exceptional makes us very happy. We look forward to seeing you again and again and sincerely thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    51
    20
    19
    5
See reviews for
33
362
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Inn is beautiful decorated, the staff impeccable, and the beds extremely comfortable, but it's the little things that did it for me. I don't know why this particular items stands out, maybe because I was thinking about where to get some just 3 minutes before they appeared... but when our car was brought to us at the end of the stay, there were 2 bottles of cold water for the drive home. The champagne cocktail when we arrived was a pleasant start to the stay. Dropping the room temperature at the evening room service, to a very comfortable sleeping temperature was also a lovely touch. The decor is elegant, but not over the top, which we found much more pleasant. It was extremely hot outside for our stay, so we only walked briefly through the courtyard and garden's but they would be lovely to have a glass a wine on a cooler evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLK507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
It is always our goal to provide an exceptional experience for our guests, from start to finish, and we’re very happy to hear we met that goal with you. Thank you for sharing your appreciation of our efforts and we hope during a future stay you will have the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful gardens and relax for a bit during your stay. The pleasure would be ours to have you stay with us again and we thank you for your kind review of The Inn at Little Washington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania, US
Level Contributor
515 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had high expectations for our stay at The Inn at Little Washington and they were met. Yes, it's expensive, and everyone knows that when they book. However, the rooms were lovingly decorated. You can choose a wide range of rooms with higher prices giving more room. The cross-trained staff does whatever you were just beginning to think you might need. From the welcome cocktail, through afternoon tea, the grounds tour, an exceptional dinner, to a gourmet breakfast, with multiple housekeeping visits throughout our one-night stay, service was perfect and professional without being stuffy. Upon making the reservation, we were asked if we were celebrating anything. The visit was for our anniversary. We were wished Happy Anniversary by many members of the staff, including having Happy Anniversary written on our personalized menu and on the dessert plates. During our visit to the kitchen after dinner, Chef Patrick O'Connell also personally wished up a Happy Anniversary which made the visit extra special! Definitely worth saving for a visit to this exceptional property.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Anticipating our guests’ needs is part of the exceptional service that the staff at The Inn at Little Washington strives to provide every day. We’re very happy your Anniversary celebration was made memorable by your stay at our Inn. Your kind words are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We bought a gift certificate for the Inn at a fundraiser. We had been wanting to try the restaurant for many years and we were not disappointed. We went for my husband's birthday. I think everyone there was celebrating something! We were advised by friends to order from the left side of the menu instead of the right side since we could choose each course and avoid things that may not be to our taste. I had the lobster which was fantastic. The service was impeccable. The perfect balance of attention and yet not interrupting. Friends of ours bought us a bottle of champagne - which was amazing! We also had a bottle of wine which was excellent - and 1 of the least expensive on the menu. The cheese cart at the end of the meal was a terrific ending. We sampled several cheeses we had never seen and they were all delicious. This is definitely 1 of the more expensive restaurants we have been to but not as expensive as NYC dining at this level of service and cuisine. Save your trip for a celebration and realize it comes with a price for exquisite plates! You will not be disappointed. Be sure to tour the kitchen after your meal. Gorgeous country French!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We are happy that you were able to join us for your husband’s birthday and we love hearing that his special day was made memorable by your experience here. Please come and visit us again very soon and thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed in a suite at the Inn, design and decor was luxurious and eclectic in detail. Beautiful furnishings, comfy beds and pillows, and nice bathroom amenities made for a sumptuous stay. Afternoon tea was lavish, meals are a gourmet dining experience. Very nice if celebrating a special birthday or anniversary or for just an indulgent weekend away!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camfva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for staying with us at The Inn at Little Washington and for taking the time to post this gracious review. We consider it a pleasure to be part of our guests’ special occasions and we appreciate your recommendation. It’s wonderful to hear that you were left with such an amazing impression of The Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had a lovely weekend stay at the Inn, and enjoyed our first trip to this part of Virginia. The welcoming, the gardens, our balcony - well-appointed and relaxing. The staff offers little touches that make the visit special. We ate in the restaurant two nights; one would have been sufficient. We found the restaurant service to be fine, not remarkable. All but one of the many dishes we sampled over the course of our stay were fantastic, both in terms of presentation and taste.

While you're in the area, you may enjoy checking out the nearby towns of Sperryville and Culpepper. Beautiful hikes in Shenandoah National Park are within easy driving distance. We did one to Mary's Rock that was lovely.

We also found the purveyors we met to be friendly and warm. Particular stops worth mentioning are Haley Fine Art in Sperryville, It's About Thyme in Culpepper and Chris Goodine's Designs In Gold and Silver, a few steps down from the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmag234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
When visiting Virginia, you have made it very easy for our future guests to get the most out of the surrounding area, and we’re very grateful for your suggestions. We’re thrilled that your visit to the Inn at Little Washington included so many memorable stops along the way. Thank you for sharing your appreciation for our staff and cuisine and we look forward to having you as our guests again in the near future. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Our overall experience at The Inn was superb. Let's get with the pro's first.
1. Check in and orientation of property given by Jess, who also served as our head waiter, and Neil, the dining room manager was superb. Nice little touches after driving such as having a wonderful cocktail waiting for us, luggage handling, and just being nice and gracious. Before you leave, probably at dinner, but we had the experience at tea, was to get some cheese from the Moo Cow tended by Cameron who is a walking encyclopedia on cheeses and their origins. One might help if you know about the dining experience - on the left side of the menu is the Ala Carte one which has 4 courses, and added ones which enhance the experience. This side is $168++++. The right side is the tasting menu which consists of 12-15 mini courses and is $218++++. Wine is reasonably priced. For everything on the left side, we spent $560.00 (more than the room).
couple of deficiencies
1. If you do not have Sprint, forget your cell phone. It won't work.
2. ONE master switch controls all the lights and ELECTRICAL OUTLETS in your room. Therefore, if you have a CPap, such as I have to use, it won't work until you screw all the light bulbs out of their sockets, and leave the switch on.
3. Our bathroom door would not close (due to moisture expansion in the wood), and the sink drain would slowly drain unless you pulled the drain plug out of the sink, which we did. Reported the door, but not the sink.
Even, after all these thoughts, one ought to do it before you go to never never land.

Room Tip: bring checkbook
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inn-LittleWashington, General Manager at The Inn at Little Washington, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
We can’t thank you enough for the time you spend on this detailed and thoughtful review. With our very rural Virginia location, you are correct, we have very limited cell service, but we are very happy to help with any transference of calls to your guestroom. We do apologize for any inconveniences you encountered in your guestroom and we will be sure to have both issues you mentioned taken care of immediately. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the experience from our ‘Cheese Wiz’ and that you shared your appreciation for his knowledge. We look forward to having you join us again at the Inn at Little Washington and we thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caledonia Farm - 1812  B&B
Caledonia Farm - 1812 B&B
#2 of 3 in Flint Hill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
11.3 mi away
Inn on Thistle Hill Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Little Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Washington

Property: The Inn at Little Washington
Address: Middle and Main Sts, Washington, VA 22747
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Little Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the small town of Washington, Virginia, The Inn at Little Washington is the only Double Forbes Five Star, Double AAA Five Diamond property in the Washington metro area. The Inn's eighteen bedrooms and suites are sumptuous hideaways created by Joyce Evans, a London stage and set designer, for whom The Inn has become a life's work. Many of the furnishings were purchased in England, numbered and shipped to Virginia to be assembled on site like a giant jigsaw puzzle. The Inn offers a range of accommodations from well-appointed rooms to luxurious, two story suites many with balconies and garden views. The Inn's dining rooms are pure fantasy - a wondrous cocoon of luxury. Rose-colored, silk lampshades float above each table creating a private, romantic world below. Chef/Proprietor Patrick O'Connell's creations arrive as if served by invisible hands, course after course more dazzling than the last. From the award-winning 14,000 bottle wine cellar, which includes the finest offerings from Bordeaux, Burgundy, California and Virginia, the Sommelier plays matchmaker between you, your dinner and the wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn at Little Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Little Washington Hotel Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing