We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn at Little Washington
Ranked #3 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary on August 25. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. Because we had champagne in the afternoon, we elected to order individual glasses of wine with dinner. The restaurant encourages you to order bottles, so we had to remind the waiter twice to bring our glasses of wine. If you are into "frou frou" in food you get it here to the tenth power. The food is more beautiful than delicious, although the oyster "slurpies" are as good as Le Bernadin. My main course of "duck pekin" would have been more appropriate as an appetizer. Ir consisted of three tiny slivers of duck breast, each resting on a tablespoon of corn pudding. For a $400 dinner for two I expected more.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jp1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2010

I took my wife on the occassion of her birthday with two other couples. We paid a very premium price to dine at one of the two kitchen tables and it was mostly worth every penny.
Although, with one exception, the food was better than advertised, the entire experience was marred by problems with the service.
Problem 1: We were told we should arrive a 30 minutes or so early for our reservation so we could sit in the living room and have a drink before dinner. Although the living room was beautiful, we were never approached for a drink. When the group before us (apparently a super regular who even has his name on a small plaque at the table) ran late, we were not approached.
Problem 2: The menus were inscribed with my wife's name and wishing her a happy birthday. This was a very nice touch. The only problem: the date on the menu was the wrong month (June 24 instead of July 24). I understand that this could not be fixed but there was never even a minor apology for the mistake.
Problem 3: We ordered the chef's tasting menu with matched wines. Unfortunately our server forgot the wine with the second course (mussels). When it was pointed out by my wife, he immediately brought us the wine but we had finished the dish. My wife inquired whether we might get one mussel each to taste with the wine and he dismissed the request out of hand.
Problem 4: The last problem was a kitchen problem. The dessert was to be a three chocolate delight. The first chocolate part was a chocolate bomb that was delicious. It was accompanied by what is likely the finest chocolate souffle I've ever tasted. The finale was to be a chocolate creme brulee. Alas, it was more like a pot-o-creme as there was crusted sugar glaze on the top.
When asked, the waiter immediately checked with the pastry chef who told him the cups were too small to hold the glaze. Unfortunately I have served creme brulee in that size cup many times with no problem. The chef likely forgot to sugar and fire, hence, pot-o-creme.
Chef Patrick was in the kitchen virtually the whole evening and waited for us to leave to say good bye and let us take pictures with him.
All in all, I loved the food and the ambiance but I was disappointed in the overall service and thereby the experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jjosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Having stayed at many Relais & Chateaux over the last several years we looked forward to this highly rated North American property for an escape. Perhaps we should have asked and known better, but the web page certainly didn't warn us that:

1. Unless you subscribe to Sprint, you won't have any wireless phone service on the property ( mentioned only in brief passing as we brought our bags into the room), so our Verizon Blackberrys were worthless;
2. Wireless service for your laptop is non-existent as well, including the on-premises hard-wired "business center" that, as it turned out, was crashed anyway and didn't work;
3. The various rooms are not on a coordinated campus that feels inviting, but rather in individual homes that are either "up the street" or "down the street" without any feeling of common purpose;
4. The Danko Suite in the Norman House, for almost $1k per night, primarily looks out over the parking lot;
5. The Danko Suite in the Norman House, for almost $1K per night, in now on the web for almost $300 per night less than it was 3-4 months ago when oringially booked;
6. The Danko Suite in ther Norman House, for almost $1K per night, is just that . . .Danko.
7. That housekeeping has apparently been trimmed back, so that plants and such in the rooms are browning and dying, dust is settling, and must is "musting." And . . .
8. Do we really need to say more?

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank NH_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

What a wonderful weekend. My fiance and I just returned from what we thought was the best weekend of our lives; the service is superb, the rooms, simply grand, and the food, is the best in the USA. You must be a foodie and love decadence, because that is what the Inn and its Staff are all about. Everything there is over the top, nothing is left to chance or on a whim, it is planned and carried out with simple, wonderful elegance. Don't pay attention to those who don't appreciate a meal from the best chef in the country and probably the world. Patrick O'Connell and his staff are the best!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sullymfmdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Visited the Inn for a special anniversary. The service was unmatched byfar of any B&B we have ever stayed. We were welcomed with champagne and given a tour. The afternoon tea was delightful. The 5 course dinner was superb and our menus were personalized. The tour of the kitchen and the kodak moment with the famed, "Patrick", extra special! Our room had the best pillows and feather bed for added comfort. We opted to pay a bit extra and enjoy a fabulous Lobster Omlet for breakfast! Worth every penny! Wonderful gift shop with the best cookies ever. We only regret not buying more and not getting a signature scarf...next time! AND, want to add that room service was available 24/7!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airforcemom08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

stayed here for one night in April - delightful village and well worth the trip but I'm afraid i was underwhelmed by the inn itself. various things did not seem to quite work; 1. we were left waiting unattended prior to entering the restaurant for dinner - taking quite some time before we could get attention for a drink - and yet lots of staff were busy going back and forth to the kitchens 2. we stayed in a small room - the bathroom was in the entrance way (!) - with an overwhelming floral decor. 3. the food was good, for sure, but from various reviews I was expecting something more special 4. despite having been informed that we use two different family names the menu was printed only in mine..... various other things niggled which shouldn't happen for the money ..............................so in all lots of hype, a small fortune in cost and voila much ado about much ado. have rated it very good because it is certainly not average but it is far from excellent. DO make time for the extremely cute village and the lovely Ballard Art Gallery.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Travelleralways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

My husband and I spent the Sunday after Christmas 2009 at The Inn at Little Washington after having read about the beyond belief cuisine prepared by Patrick O'Connell and his staff (5 star). From the moment that we stepped out of our car to sound of "Welcome Mr. and Mrs...." to the champagne with passion fruit handed to us as we crossed the threshold into another time and period elegance, to our European room in the best sense of European, to exquisite tea, to the 4 course meal that I cannot begin to describe and to the beautiful flight of juices and an oatmeal souffle that was oozing with warm maple syrup and rum soaked currents. to our package of treats to take with on the road, all I can say is "sublime."

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pronsard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,005 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
52 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
303 reviews
8.0 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Little Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Washington

Address: Middle and Main Sts, Washington, VA 22747
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range: £417 - £856 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Little Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the small town of Washington, Virginia, The Inn at Little Washington is the only Double Forbes Five Star, Double AAA Five Diamond property in the Washington metro area. The Inn's eighteen bedrooms and suites are sumptuous hideaways created by Joyce Evans, a London stage and set designer, for whom The Inn has become a life's work. Many of the furnishings were purchased in England, numbered and shipped to Virginia to be assembled on site like a giant jigsaw puzzle. The Inn offers a range of accommodations from well-appointed rooms to luxurious, two story suites many with balconies and garden views. The Inn's dining rooms are pure fantasy - a wondrous cocoon of luxury. Rose-colored, silk lampshades float above each table creating a private, romantic world below. Chef/Proprietor Patrick O'Connell's creations arrive as if served by invisible hands, course after course more dazzling than the last. From the award-winning 14,000 bottle wine cellar, which includes the finest offerings from Bordeaux, Burgundy, California and Virginia, the Sommelier plays matchmaker between you, your dinner and the wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Inn at Little Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Little Washington Hotel Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing