We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel, but overpriced.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn at Little Washington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at Little Washington
Ranked #3 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, but overpriced.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

The Inn at Little Washington is a beautiful property with comfortable common areas, an excellent reading selection, and very helpful, efficient service. We upgraded to a premium room with a king-size bed and it was very well-appointed. Afternoon tea was pleasant and, unlike many places, they actually had a decent selection of teas; however, like most places of this caliber, the attempt at British High Tea falls a bit short. Our major complaint was that the price is a bit over the top, considering that comparable properties in much more expensive areas of Europe charge much less for their accommodations. Overall a very pleasant stay and worth the trip if money is no object. We reviewed the restaurant, which we found to be overrated, separately.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequent_Flier07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    51
    20
    19
    4
See reviews for
33
353
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Visited little washington this new year's eve. Not only was the food amazing, the ambiance and service were impeccable.

I hope I get the opportunity to visit again.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank adventrgal85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

This was our second visit where we wanted to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary.

From the moment that you walk in the door you are warmly greeted by a very friendly host and seated in a very private and intimate table. This sets the tone for the entire dinner.

One can easily conclude that an expensive and exclusive restaurant such as the Inn would attract a more affluent clientele and shy away from a more mainstream or average type of dining patron. This is defintely not the case here as I observed folks of all shapes and sizes and everyone was treated as a special guest. The staff works real hard and does an excellent job of providing phenomenal service with precision and attention to detail.
A six course meal was $148 during the week, The Gastronaut's Menu was $188 and $288 with wain pairings. We chose the six course selecting each of our courses and they were all fantastic with a flair for presentation.
The Inn has an very extensive wine list that contains rare vintages that are priced on the high end with an entusiastic wine sommelier available to discuss the inventory. At the same time there are a number of wines that are priced very reasonably such as Virginia vintages to include a private Inn label which was very good. There are also a number of wines available by the glass which are priced competively.
The desserts are commensurate with the entire experience and were difficult to choose.

All in all a fabulous experience as we are trying to come up with another reason to visit again very soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

My wife and I returned to the Inn at Little Washington for a three day stay. We had last been there on our 40th wedding anniversary eighteen years ago. It was all we remembered and then some. Everything was better than before, and that is really saying something as we had thought it to be nearly perfect then. The staff, food, rooms, the entire ambiance was outstanding. Dinners were wonderful, the mini menu was superb if you did not want to dine in the dining room, the continental breakfast was as good as any we have ever had, and was far superior to the last visit we had there. Our room was elegant, quirt and super comfortable. The staff was so helpful we were almost embarrassed at how well we were treated, but not quite. My wife had been taken il for one day and they went out of their way to care for her and make her feel as if all was well. The kitchen had been rebuilt since our last trip and it is probably one of the most elegant and well run kitchens in the country. The gift shop rivals any gift shop anywhere. All in all we can hardly wait to return. This is one of the finest Inns in the world, and we have stayed at many so think we can judge fairly. It is a bit out of the way, and a little pricy, but as life is not a dress rehearsal give yourself a treat and try it if you can. Besides you don't want to leave it all to your kids.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdandEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
243 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

My wife and i stayed in one of the Norman House Suites to celebrate our 35th Anniversary. The entire staff made us feel incredibly welcomed from the moment of our arrival until our departure. The afternoon tea, the incredible dinner and a great breakfast added to the entire experience. Obviously it was an expensive 24 hours -- but well worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom82752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

My mother and I recently dined on the quante coy-pond, LUSH gardened patio at the Little Inn @ Washington. Cameron was our waitor but much to our splendid surprise' the maître fromager (cheese MASTER!!) AND the music director! He was SO knowledgable on ALL the cuisine and the cheese to boot! We had tons of laughs with him and recommend everyone go and enjoy this fine young individual! THEN we got to meet the HIGHLY recognized chef Patrick O'Connell AND see the BRILLIANT kitchen! the truffled popcorn was so fun as well as the desert to-go basket of homemade goodies! 5 star/ michelen service all the way!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djmadammalixa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary on August 25. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. Because we had champagne in the afternoon, we elected to order individual glasses of wine with dinner. The restaurant encourages you to order bottles, so we had to remind the waiter twice to bring our glasses of wine. If you are into "frou frou" in food you get it here to the tenth power. The food is more beautiful than delicious, although the oyster "slurpies" are as good as Le Bernadin. My main course of "duck pekin" would have been more appropriate as an appetizer. Ir consisted of three tiny slivers of duck breast, each resting on a tablespoon of corn pudding. For a $400 dinner for two I expected more.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jp1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 8 in Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
3.8 mi away
Caledonia Farm - 1812  B&B
Caledonia Farm - 1812 B&B
#2 of 2 in Flint Hill
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
16.4 mi away
The Inn of the Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Little Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Little Washington

Property: The Inn at Little Washington
Address: Middle and Main Sts, Washington, VA 22747
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Inn at Little Washington 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the small town of Washington, Virginia, The Inn at Little Washington is the only Double Forbes Five Star, Double AAA Five Diamond property in the Washington metro area. The Inn's eighteen bedrooms and suites are sumptuous hideaways created by Joyce Evans, a London stage and set designer, for whom The Inn has become a life's work. Many of the furnishings were purchased in England, numbered and shipped to Virginia to be assembled on site like a giant jigsaw puzzle. The Inn offers a range of accommodations from well-appointed rooms to luxurious, two story suites many with balconies and garden views. The Inn's dining rooms are pure fantasy - a wondrous cocoon of luxury. Rose-colored, silk lampshades float above each table creating a private, romantic world below. Chef/Proprietor Patrick O'Connell's creations arrive as if served by invisible hands, course after course more dazzling than the last. From the award-winning 14,000 bottle wine cellar, which includes the finest offerings from Bordeaux, Burgundy, California and Virginia, the Sommelier plays matchmaker between you, your dinner and the wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Inn at Little Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Little Washington Hotel Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing