We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and great wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gadino Cellars

Gadino Cellars
Book In Advance
More Info
US$325.00*
and up
Private Culpeper Winery Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family owned and operated winery located outside of Washington, VA
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly and great wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Thanks for a lovely tasting opportunity on a recent Monday. Love my Sunset and Imagine wines. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable and the tasting room was very reminiscent of an authentic trattoria--not someones Tuscan pipe dream ;)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ObeyTheBeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    6
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasant family-owned Italian-style vineyard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Beautiful (if not exceptionally elaborate) grounds that back onto the family's home. Decent wine at really affordable prices- $5 a tasting INCLUDING the glass, a live band, and two bocce courts. One of the family members was managing the tasting room and offered to let us use their bocce set and was even so kind as to offer bug spray (we were fine without it). The small crowd was not digging the bluegrass- but they were talented and the tunes were catching (including a song from "Oh Brother, Where Art Thou?"). I am not aware of any food offerings on site, but a family was having a picnic out by the vines and brought their puppy with. Definitely a pleasant, enjoyable, family-friendly way to spend an afternoon and support a local family generation after generation.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NavyCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“great place to visit on a beautiful day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We took a beautiful drive to Ducard Vineyards and then up to Gadino. The day was perfect and when we got to Gadino weloved it. The wines were fine and appealed to my companion who likes white wine and to me (I like red wines). The prices are reasonable--no 2buck chuck prices--but prices that one would expect of wine of this caliber--reasonable! It is definetly worth the drive.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank reescares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

The wines were good, the staff knowledgeable, and the tasting room set up well, with a place for children to play. Over-all, a very nice experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank onevagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must try!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I (she red's, me white's) thoroughly enjoyed this vineyard!! All the wines were very good and the staff was wonderful! Definitely a must stop if you are in the area!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gadino Cellars also viewed

Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Amissville, Rappahannock County
 
Washington, Rappahannock County
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
 

Been to Gadino Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing