We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Superb! The best B&B we've ever stayed in!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harmony Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Absolutely Superb! The best B&B we've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Harmony Manor exceeded all our expectations! The location and view are both beautiful and tranquil. Recently renovated from top to bottom, the decor and furnishings are exquisite, tasteful and comfortable. Each bedroom and bath are so unique and inviting that we felt we would have enjoyed staying in any one of them. The attentiveness and warm hospitality of owner and hostess, Kimberly Fort, made our stay all the more enjoyable. And our breakfast the next morning was five star. We're running out of superlatives, but this is truly an exceptional B&B not to be missed!

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
78
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We went out to the country to attend a wedding and found a gem in the Harmony Manor B&B! From the minute we walked in the door, Kimberly made us feel right at home. The house is very spacious and we never even heard the other guests, but enjoyed their company at the delicious (filling) gourmet breakfasts! Our room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable and relaxing with high quality linens and towels. The views were great even with the rain. From just sitting on the porch overlooking the hills and fall foliage, to checking out the local recommendations from Kimberly, it was a perfect weekend and we look forward to our return visit!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I needed a few days to unwind and celebrate US. From Harmony Manor's cozy and elegantly decorated bedrooms to its magnificent view while sitting on the porch, we thoroughly relaxed and enjoyed this amazing home which is ideally located to many wineries, and indulged each morning with one of Kim's to-die-for breakfasts. Place this B & B on your Must Stay Here list.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The4JuJus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We decided on a getaway to see the Virginia country side, do some wine tasting and generally just take it easy. Kim greeted us, made us feel welcome, suggested options and place to go. Waking up to the mountain vistas in one of Harmony's beautiful suites was a delight. A five minute ride to Little Washington for a small town walk or dinner at the Inn or driving further afield to the many vineyards and antique shops adds to the delight of staying at Harmony Manor.

Room Tip: The front rooms facing the mountains are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunsai510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Friends recommended Harmony Manor for a relaxing weekend and it's easy accessibility from Washington, DC. Harmony Manor is a country gem, with beautiful views, excellent facilities, and outstanding breakfasts prepared by Kim, the owner, whose love of inn-keeping shows in her particular attention to detail. The immaculate rooms, each with it's own bathroom, are large, comfortable and tastefully decorated. The property is situated close to several small towns, art galleries, antique stores, great wineries, restaurants, hiking trails and Sky Line Drive. Kim made reservations for us at the Thornton River Grille, Sperryville, where we enjoyed a great meal prepared with local produce and later sat on the porch with a glass of wine - an added delight. Harmony Manor more than fulfilled our expectations and we look forward to our return.

Room Tip: The tranquility room has two bathrooms and a sitting room with gorgeous views. All the rooms are spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DML636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After spending a few hectic days visiting colleges in the DC area, my daughter and I recently stayed at Harmony Manor to get some R&R before returning to Miami. We went truly on faith after the excellent reviews we got from friends in Washington who have excellent taste. After a weekend at Harmony Manor, I can honestly say that this is as good as it gets in rural America! If you happen to be in the area and want to experience the very best hotel without breaking the bank, you must visit this find.

Situated on a beautiful hill deep in the Virginia countryside, this newcomer offers you excellent rooms, beautiful views, a luxurious breakfast, and the caring of warm staff -- Kim was great! No detail is overlooked to ensure a top-notch lodging experience.

The first impression you get after walking into the house is WOW. It is obvious that significant capital was invested in the decor. It is very tasteful yet very classy. I frankly did not expect such a beautiful and FRESH look in the Rappahannock area. Great first impression.

We were then lead to our rooms and it even got better. The rooms are extremely spacious, beautifully and newly decorated, full of little extras, and QUIET. The bathrooms were also impressive -- large, clean, and full of upgrades.

There are no TVs in the rooms because you don't need them. The inn has an awesome TV in the lobby, a game room with a high-end pool table in the basement, and a wrap-around porch where I smoked a few memorable cigars.

The area is beautiful. My daughter loved visiting the local main street with it's art galleries, cafes, and general store. The location was perfect to attend the Castleton Music Festival-- another surprising treat that both of us really enjoyed.

If you find yourself in the DC area and want to enjoy relaxed, country living in a classy setting, you must visit Harmony Manor. It was truly worth the drive. We loved it and plan to come back with our entire family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoHeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Like many previous reviewers, we stayed here as an alternative to the Inn at Little Washington. Unfortunately, when trying to reserve a room, our first phone call was not returned (we should have taken the hint) and after calling again, we did get a return call (there is no way to book on their website). We honestly thought that the house was ugly and poorly designed; new, or newly renovated perhaps, but in poor taste. To top it off, the innkeeper, although cheerful and always smiling, seemed phony, as though her smile was painted on her face. The room was spacous and the views were great, but as we heard people in the area say, there are no bad views in Rappahannock.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly F, Manager at Harmony Manor Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay at Harmony Manor and it was not as you expected. Though we did not design the house, we worked extremely hard renovating what was an uninhabitable property. We also post many photos of both the inside and outside of our B&B on our website so guests will have a clear idea of what to expect in regard to the décor, quality and size before making a decision to stay with us.

One of the reasons we do not have on-line bookings is we like personal contact with our guests so we can determine in advance their needs and help them with reservations and provide other ideas for things to do in the area during their stay.

We do genuinely enjoy our guests and meeting many new people from around the world. Again, we are sorry your experience was not as expected. We encourage our guests to visit other B&B’s wherever they may travel, as all properties and owners are individually unique, just like the guests they accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
15.4 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
1.8 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
9.7 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
16.5 mi away
Walden Hall
Walden Hall
#1 of 6 in Culpeper
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Manor Bed & Breakfast

Property: Harmony Manor Bed & Breakfast
Address: 65 Clark Ln, Washington, VA 22747-1910
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony Manor is situated atop a grassy knoll with breathtaking panoramic views of the Shenandoah Mountains. We have five beautifully appointed suites in which to choose from and are the perfect getaway for those seeking romance and privacy. Feel the stress melt away as you unwind in your private suite or relax on the wrap-around porch. For those seeking adventure, come and hike the many trails in Shenandoah National Park, or soak in the scenery along Skyline Drive. Massage packages on request and subject to availability. Whatever you do, you won't be disappointed. Our exclusive suite, The Haven, has its own private entrance, kitchenette, fireplace, TV, large glass enclosed shower and more and is available for those with well-behaved dogs and young children. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing