We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Occasions are their Specialty”

Inn at Little Washington
Reserve with OpenTable
Inn at Little Washington is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Washington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$218 - US$218
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A Michelin Two Star, Forbes 5 Star, AAA 5 Diamond country house hotel retreat, The Inn at Little Washington presents exquisite American Cuisine with a French influence in a charming and sophisticated dining room. The sumptuous award-winning cuisine is accompanied by a Wine Spectator Grand Award wine cellar with over 2,500 selections.
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Inn at Little Washington is a destination restaurant. To spend this much on a meal, it makes no sense to come and go in one day. Stay the night either at the Inn or at a nearby bed and breakfast (their are many). Most folks dining are there for a special occasion, so make sure to let them know--the staff will acknowledge in some way. I also suggest to book a late reservation (such as 830 or 9) and arrive and 90 minutes or more early. The property is beautiful and the lounge area is the perfect spot for conversation and cocktails. More than likely you will get seated early if that is your wish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aussiesig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IALW, General Manager at Inn at Little Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review. The Lounge and Koi Courtyard are both perfect areas for guests to enjoy conversation and a drink before and after dinner. And yes, if you choose to dine sooner or later, we are happy to make it work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Little Washington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 338 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We ate at the Inn two days ago and wanted to share our thoughts on this very unique place. For us, four things that have to come together to make the most out of eating there: 1) Regard it as a "dining experience" and not just a meal; 2) You have to like food and enjoy trying new things; 3) It helps to have a special occasion to celebrate. My informal survey of four couples revealed two birthdays, one retirement, and a child off to college celebration; 4) Accept the fact that it is expensive and just enjoy the experience. It is unique enough to make comparisons difficult. To elaborate further: The staff was extremely friendly, attentive, and genuinely interested in your enjoying the experience. I expected a slightly more "stuffy" atmosphere and was pleasantly surprised by how down to earth everyone was. People working there obviously enjoyed being there and serving outstanding food. The menu had three main options with several dishes under each option. One can switch dishes among the three options so it would be hard not to find something you would enjoy. The presentation was excellent and the food was simply delicious. Portions are very adequate. Dessert was also outstanding. I had the "Seven Deadly Sins"-enough said there. The ladies in the group got a small carry-out box decorated like the Inn. Inside are various treats to be enjoyed later (sooner if your will power is not superhuman). In summary: If possible, go and enjoy a great dining experience-highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Travelalot18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IALW, General Manager at Inn at Little Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review. Your observations are appreciated as we work very hard to avoid the default stuffiness routine and focus on having fun which invariably rubs off on our guests. It can be a fine line but is one which we discuss and review nightly. We're pleased that you enjoyed the experience and hope you'll come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This was a restaurant on our bucket list. A generous gift certificate from our daughters and son in laws finally made it happen. To say the six course meal was outstanding would be an understatement. Each dish was such a wonderful mix of flavors you just wanted to savor every bite. The wine was delicious too. This was an experience that lived up to expectations. I would highly recommend a visit on your next special occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jchansen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IALW, General Manager at Inn at Little Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for keeping us on your list and we're glad your dinner was all that you expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were a party of three and my wife and I were celebrating a special anniversary and to be fair to the staff they personalised our menu and also the deserts to reflect the occasion. They had noted my allergy to cooked cream and each course was amended to suit.
For starters I had the Carpaccio of Herb Crusted Lamb while my wife had the Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna. Both dishes were well presented and delicious. This was followed by each of us having the Pan Roasted Maine Lobster which again was delightful. I had the Ice Cream Vanilla Sandwich with a toffee sauce for a dessert. This was the stand out course of the evening for me.
Service was a bit off course at times, for example the mains started to arrive when the waiters spotted that we had not been provided with cutlery for the main course and they returned to the kitchen for a few minutes. The sommelier was a bit off hand and did not come over particularly well. In pouring the wine she spilt quite a bit onto the table. She did not apologise. I did not want to raise this as an issue because it was a special occasion. Had it been red wine, not white, it would have been very noticeable.
There was nothing wrong with the food, but it seemed just a tad old fashioned. I can only benchmark my expectations against another Relais & Chateau restaurant we experienced in the in the UK. There the cuisine was very modern and we had a full tasting menu as opposed to the a la carte here. That’s not to say that the tasting menu wasn’t offered, it was. However in terms of value for money this restaurant was wide of the mark. We will not remember it as a stand out meal for months or years to come. The service too was just a little off the pace. Having said that Scott was excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank theFINandFEATHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IALW, General Manager at Inn at Little Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for your thoughts and impressions of your dinner. We are sorry we fell short of your expectations and will use your review as a guide toward improving those aspects of our dinner service. Your comments are very helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We celebrated our 35th anniversary at the restaurant last night. The staff is delightful. They greet you by name and make you feel welcome. Our waiter, Landry, did a good job explaining the menu options to us and making recommendations. Dinner was delicious and leisurely. The presentation of each course is beautiful. It was worth the trip to Washington, VA!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gail324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IALW, General Manager at Inn at Little Washington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for letting us be a part of your 35th anniversary! We appreciate your nice comments and recognition of our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inn at Little Washington also viewed

Washington, Rappahannock County
Washington, Rappahannock County
 
Sperryville, Rappahannock County
Flint Hill, Rappahannock County
 

Been to Inn at Little Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing