We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Moose Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had an excellent time at the White Moose Inn. It was wonderful from beginning to end. We were met with a smile by Christina, the manager, who made us feel welcome the moment we arrived. The modern design and decor of the inn, the private, sound-proof rooms and the great views of the mountains make this a true get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, and a different experience than most country inns. The rooms are full of great amenities like smart TV, wifi and a portable bluetooth speaker in the shower head. They have everything to make this a comfortable, fun experience. We stayed in the cabin, which has a wood burning fireplace and private deck, and was very romantic. The town of Washington is charming and we enjoyed wandering around and exploring what it had to offer, but the Inn has bikes if you prefer to ride around town instead. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The cabin is private and separated from the main building of the inn. It has a fireplace and privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We loved the White Moose Inn! We had made plans for a dinner at the Inn at Little Washington and were deterred from staying onsite as the prices there were exorbitant! We came across the White Moose Inn and after reading the great reviews, booked it. We couldn't have been happier with our experience there! Christina, the inn keeper, was super helpful and welcoming. We also had the pleasure of meeting the owners, who were wonderful!
The inn is completely newly renovated and the entire place feels clean and modern, but at the same time, homey and comfortable. After we returned from a lovely dinner, we felt as though we were returning to our own home! Although you could mistake the inn for a 5-star hotel, it does keep true to the inn feel with a communal breakfast and bikes for the guests. The kitchen is also accessible to the guests as well as a computer and some common space to relax with friends. The modern amenities like Netflix and HD cable are a great attribute, although we didn't spend too much time in our room.
Next time we're in the area, we would definitely stay at the White Moose Inn again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaclyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My Wife and I stayed at the White Moose for our 5th Anniversary and we couldn't have been happier. Christina, the Inn Manager, made us feel welcome from the moment we knocked on the door. The very word "inn" conjures thoughts of creaky floors, dark rooms, and ugly quilts. The Moose was the polar opposite of that stereotypical "inn." Modern (but not too modern) design, a young and charismatic staff (Christina), and great beds were some of the things that I will take away from my stay. Oh and the shower head has a portable bluetooth wireless speaker that syncs with your wireless device...another atypical "inn" characteristic. Oh and the rooms are sound proof. I didn't know that "soundproof" rooms were a real thing but the Moose has them. Just a great place all across the board.

We made the trip to dine at the Inn at Little Washington, but our stay at the White Moose was the highlight of the show. I wish we just hung out there the whole night and saved the money we spent on dinner to buy a new home or something.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We love the White Moose Inn the moment we step inside. The clean modern decor is definitely a leap away from the usual B&B. Having access to modern amentities such as smart TV with Netflix, builtin USB charger,Wifi, Bluetooth speaker in the showerhead gave an overworked, stressed out techie like myself a comforting "blanket" to know that I was not completely unplugged. However, if your intent is to get away from the hustle and bustle, the White Moose more than delivers...the wonderful views of the sunset behind mountains from the spacious back deck, the Huffy cruizers that beg you to take them for a spin, the king-size bed that let you nestle in for the night. We cannot wait to return to the White Moose Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidPofVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had the most incredible stay at the White Moose. The rooms are not only beautiful but comfortable and have every amenity you could imagine. The atmosphere is clean and sleek. My only regret is we couldn't stay longer to take one of their bikes for a ride and take in the beautiful scenery. Breakfast (which is included) was perfect - fresh locally grown fruit, yogurts, delicious homemade quiche and made to order coffee. Outstanding!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Cottage - if it is available, book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJordan20815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

As soon as you walk in to the White Moose Inn you realize you are going to have an amazing experience. It feels like a modern Scandinavian lodge with a slightly urban vibe to it. Unfortunately, it rained a bit while we were there but I didn't mind because I turned on the Smart TV in our room and caught up on some Netflix. Then I went out in the lounge and sat by the fireplace and picked up one of the photography books on the bookshelf. When the rain cleared we sat on the deck and watched the sun set behind the mountains. The White Moose Inn was truly an amazing experience! I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taylor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I wanted to whisk my husband away for a celebration and dinner at The Inn at Little Washington, but we aren't B&B types and we don't enjoy inns that are decorated like nana's Victorian house. The White Moose Inn is an oasis of cool comfort in an area brimming with tchotkes and very traditional decor. We knew we'd love it as soon as we pulled up and saw 3 Huffy cruisers begging to be taken out. The innkeeper, Christina is gracious, considerate, fun and welcoming as can be. The common areas feel like if Jonathan Adler brought Palm Springs chic to the Virginia countryside. Besides being clean, beautiful and modern, we took advantage of every amenity: the smart TV, the bluetooth speaker in the shower head (!!!), the complimentary beverage fridge, the wine and whiskey happy hour, the breakfast featuring granola and quiche from Red Truck Bakery, the cute little mason jars of M&Ms, and the lovely porch facing the mountains. We had a standard room and it was more than enough for us, especially since it was rather pricey, but I can't imagine having to stay at a stuffy old doily-covered place; especially when you consider that we had a wonderful king bed with crisp linens. I think Christina and the gorgeous aesthetic of the White Moose might become an even bigger draw for us than the Inn at Little Washington's food, and that is saying A LOT.

Room Tip: Any room will be fantastic, we picked based on price alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,012 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
56 reviews
14.4 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
14.5 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Moose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Moose Inn

Address: 291 Main St, Washington, VA 22747-1977
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range: £210 - £508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Moose Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The White Moose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing