We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Moose Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I planned this getaway to commemorate our 10th wedding anniversary that included dinner at the Inn of Little Washington. Our meal there was superb, and was only matched by our stay at the White Moose Inn. The Inn's décor is phenomenal and reflects the owners impeccable taste. We attended the complimentary happy hour (you gotta try the local whiskey!) and enjoyed the candid chatter from both the owner, innkeeper and other guests. Our room was cozy and quiet and the breakfast was spectacular. The Inn's connection with the Red Truck Bakery is a huge benefit to traveler's as we get to enjoy the yummy goodies. Sit back and relax on their amazing deck and take in the beautiful surroundings. You're in for a stay that you'll never forget.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I just celebrated our 10th anniversary with the primary intent of dining at the Inn at Little Washington. With young kids at home it was only a one night trip so going in, we weren't overly concerned about our B&B experience. Fortunately our naivety didn’t backfire on us and in fact, our stay at the White Moose Inn proved an equally enjoyable highlight to the trip. The innkeeper was incredibly cordial upon our arrival and even had fresh-cut flowers from the garden waiting in our room for our anniversary (she had already proactively reached out earlier in the week to touch base and see if we were celebrating anything in particular). We were given a tour when we arrived and were immediately impressed with the finishes throughout the recently renovated property. You could definitely tell that a great deal of thought went into the contemporary design to make it cohesive, yet still respectful of the overall character of the historic town.

The happy hour – complete w/ Virginia wines & spirits – on the back porch was a perfect Friday treat to start the weekend. Coming off a dinner at the Inn at Little Washington one wouldn’t expect much at breakfast the next morning, but the assortment of items (quiche, fresh fruit & yogurt, coffee cake, etc. – not too heavy but not too light) was excellent. The fresh granola from a local bakery was wonderful as well. In addition to the innkeeper, the owners also were extremely welcoming and engaging. Their love of the area was well apparent (understandably so) and they were more than happy to provide recommendations of things to do or see in the area. At the same time, when my wife and I were ready to zone out (did I mention the young kids?) or just chat each other up, privacy, even in the common living/dining areas or back porch, was easy to be had. All in all it was a wonderful experience and we’d definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First go and immediately book your room before you finish reading this review! Now that you've booked your room…. you can look forward to a luxurious, relaxing stay at the White Moose Inn. Delightful citrus scent welcomes you to your room. Crisp, spotless sheets and fluffy pillows await.
The Inn is comfortable and totally immaculate. Floors, windows, everything sparkles and begs you to stay. Decor and furniture are carefully curated with a Midcentury flair to pique one's interest. I found myself just sitting around in the den and reading a table full of gigantic coffee table books and lost track of time. Their choice of fresh breakfast foods, variety of morning juices and quick filled me up, but it was the quality, not the quantity, that made all of the difference. The Innkeeper was cordial but not overly chatty or under friendly. Its the perfect balance for people who just want to get away from the city and immerse in comfort and luxury. Its LGBT friendly, cheery , sophisticated but not stuffy, all you could ask for, in the heart of historical Washington. The Inn is absolutely perfect. Its impossible to stay just one night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

There's a lot of good things to say about the White Moose, but I first have to say the bed was the most comfortable I've slept on - snuggled in such an exquisite white cocoon, I was tempted to hibernate indefinitely, even through the spring. My husband and I stayed in the detached suite, which was quiet, spotless, and wonderfully private. The owner was an engaging fellow who offered us strong spirits and wonderful conversation on arrival; it was like returning to the house of an old friend who sincerely missed our company.

In the past, I've stayed at other Little Washington accommodations, and each has its virtues, but for those of us who have a desire for clean lines and a break from the Victorian fussiness that defines the other (very good) options, the White Moose was created with us in mind.

Room Tip: The suite is the best option for privacy ; you'll enjoy sipping tea on the porch with mountain b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jms5791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just back from an amazing one night stay in Washington, VA at The White Moose Inn. We were celebrating a birthday and to start off our experience, we were notified by the Inn staff that to celebrate, we had been upgraded. Once we arrived, we were greeted by the owner who took care of every detail and gave us a heartfelt tour of the Inn and our room. We loved the decor of the Inn and the rooms were modern, spotlessly clean, well appointed and extremely comfortable. While we didn't attend, the Inn hosts an evening happy hour with local wines which is a lovely touch. European breakfast is included as well and is served in the main area of the Inn where you can enjoy conversations with other guests and staff. Be sure to ask about the White Moose!

The one thing about this town is that you would never expect that it could be so magical. Our visit was planned specifically to have dinner at The Inn At Little Washington, which was phenomenal, however, our experience was so much more. The charm of the people, the views, the food at every restaurant, and the wonderful White Moose Inn made our quick trip to Washington, VA one to remember.

We will definitely return for a longer stay to enjoy the landscape, take a bike out, and relax on the patio. Thank you White Moose Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank well4seasoned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The White Moose is possibly the best inn/B&B I've ever stayed at. It is modern, clean, perfectly located to enjoy Washington, VA. What helped make our experience truly exceptional was that we spent over two hours with the owner. He couldn't have been nicer, helping us with dinner reservations, sharing ideas of where to go, regaling us with how he came up with the design for the Inn, and introducing us to an surprisingly smooth Virginia whiskey and sauvignon blanc.
The Inn is tastefully but simply decorated. This is not an antiques laded Victorian home, but rather a clean, modern, bright space that you'd expect to find in NYC. Attention has been paid to soundproofing the entire place so you have a sense of privacy even though the size of the entire Inn is fairly modest.
Keep an eye out for the Secret Supper Club. Apparently, they bring in a star chef every so often to provide a dinner for 12 guests (the Inn has six rooms). Sounds like a blast.
The Inn offers beach cruiser bikes to putter around town (I recommend bringing a road bike in case you want to do some serious rides in the vicinity).
All in all, I couldn't recommend this place more and I'm looking forward to going back. Yes, it is just that good.

Room Tip: We loved the Delux on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Simply perfect, cozy and comforting Inn I have been in Virginia. Rooms are immaculately clean, modern yet cozy with great style. I didn't expect such posh hotel/Inn in Washington, VA. What a find!! Stay here you will not regret it .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jichacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,017 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
252 reviews
11.1 mi away
Inn on Thistle Hill Bed and Breakfast
17.5 mi away
Walden Hall
Walden Hall
#1 of 6 in Culpeper
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Moose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Moose Inn

Address: 291 Main St, Washington, VA 22747-1977
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range: £200 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Moose Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The White Moose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing