We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thisis as good as it gets.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2013

What a pleasure it was to meet Walt and Susan and visit with them in their delightful home. (Please notice I'm talking about visiting a home, because that is what our stay was like.) The accommodations were superb, the breakfast was even better, but the host and hostess were the best.

Look no further. When you get to Fairlea Farm you will have found it.

George Rosser
Charlotte, NC

Stayed: June 2013
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

My wife and I are regulars at Fairlea. We have been coming here for close to twenty years now and we count Susan and Walt Longyear as friends. This visit celebrated our 25th anniversary. As always, the B&B is excellent, the location is superb, and the hosts make the experience completely delightful. Susan's breakfasts are renowned, and now she has a cook book available so that we no longer have to write things down longhand! I heartily recommend a stay here for anyone who wants a relaxed time hiking in the park, or who wants to use Little Washington as a base for exploring the towns, wineries and scenery of the region.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dhfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from a wonderful weekend at the Fairlea Farm B&B. Walt and Susan were gracious hosts and the property is beautiful. A huge breakfast each morning was a great way to start a day of wine tasting. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in The Suite so we would have a fireplace, but plan to return in the summer and opt for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DC_Susan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

My wife and I have travelled extensively in the military throughout Europe & US east and west coasts but have never found a B&B to compare with Fairlea Farms. The rooms are spacious and private with wonderful, large updated bathrooms that can accomodate two or more people at a time. The panoramic views throughout the house of the Blue Ridge Mountains offer beautiful vistas. They are next to Route 211 and are central to Washington, Lurray, the mountains & historical sites. Most important, though is the immediate warmth & generosity that Walt & Susan provide to all guests that is real and sincere. This is not a business to them but rather a means to extend a cordial welcome to guests who become their friends. We loved feeding Rosco & Christopher the Mediteranean Donkeys. And it was a short walk to the lovely town of Washington. Walt stoked the fireplace for us & we couldn't wait to return after New Years celebrations. Walt and Susan are not just wonderful hosts but wonderful people. Susan's cooking is incomparable. This is now our getaway and we will come back time & again. Thanks Walt and Susan for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilmovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 30th anniversary with Walt and Susan at Fairlea Farm -- hiking, exploring and capping our weekend with dinner at the Inn at Little Washington. We had a lovely weekend in every way, and Walt's tips about how to best enjoy our dinner at the Inn helped to make that special meal even more memorable than it might have been.

The rooms at Fairlea Faram are large and comfortable, the bathrooms are bright, spacious and new (great showers) , the breakfasts yummy. The farm itself and its location are beyond perfect --every window has a to die for view. Addiing to all this were the hosts. Their warmth and thoughtfulness were beyond expectations. Without being intruded upon, we were treated like valued old friends.

We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Such a comfortable and lovely place, wonderful views. A short walk to the Inn at Little Washington, and right by 211 so easy access to other areas. Susan makes a wonderful breakfast served on fine china and even made us tea in the afternoon when we asked. Very comfortable, attractive rooms with sparkling new baths. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBB610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed at Fairlea Farm during a weekend trip to Washington, VA. The scenery is breathtaking, even during the winter months! After meeting our great hosts, Susan and Walt, we checked out our room, the Meadow Room, on the 2nd floor. The room was nicely decorated and had an amazing bathroom - mountain views while brushing your teeth is quite the way to start or end a day!
We told Susan and Walt that we were eating at the Inn at Little Washington for dinner and they gave us all kinds of insiders tips. I recommend you stay there too before your dinner, you will not be disappointed.
Susan prepared a wonderful breakfast for us in the morning including fresh fruit, baked goods, eggs, sausage and more. I would happily return to Fairlea Farm on another trip to Washington, VA.

Room Tip: Meadow Room is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adicorleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,005 reviews
17.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
875 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
303 reviews
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,305 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 636 Mt. Salem Ave, Washington, VA 22747
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range: £140 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A countryside B&B on a 40-acre sheep and cattle farm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing