We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Virginia Countryside!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We drove from Norfolk to Little Washington, Va. for a big birthday to celebrate in dining @ Inn @ Little Washington. Lived in LW for 5 years on weekends as my husband is a painter and every corner is like France..painterly. We became friends with Walt and Susan Longyear, the innkeepers of Fairlea. A delightful, hard working couple with nothing but their guest's needs and pleasures as their focus. The driveway entrance is right off 211/ a winding road with hills, barn, cattle and horses in view. You are welcomed with a fire and a living room overlooking pastoral acreage. After a sumptuous dinner, we retired to a lovely room, state of the art/ brand new bath with quality craftsmanship showing. Cows mooing in the morning greeted the day for us. The breakfast so much more than we could eat. Met a lovely couple from Rio who were touring Virginia. The price @Fairlea is right. You will enjoy your hosts…they major in grand hospitality!!

Room Tip: They are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBearNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at Fairlea at the end of August/ start of September for a couple days. We wanted to do some hiking around the area, check out some wineries, travel Skyline Drive and go to Lurray Caverns. The hosts Susan and Walt were wonderful. Breakfast was amazing and surpassed all expectations. I feel like I shouldn't say that because I don't want to build it up, but it was great. Delicious. The presentation was amazing - and eating breakfast and looking out the window at the rolling hills is grand. The room was large and comfortable, with amazing views. The bathroom shower was really nice and had jets that came from the side. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great sleep. The guest house itself is really nice and well decorated and very cozy. There are 2 cute donkeys and a sheep in a fenced in area on the property too as an added bonus. It was hard when I got home waking up and not getting to see the wonderful views as the sun comes up in the morning. We would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A most pleasant and relaxing B & B. The setting is gorgeous, a beautiful working farm. Views are serene but breathtaking. We had a quick look at several of the rooms, all are wonderfully furnished, comfortabe and remarkably clean. The breakfast was wonderful, has some of everything and Susan is a cook well worth visiting.

But I'm saving the best until the end. The most remarkable aspect of Fairlea Farm are Susan and Walt themselves. They are warm and relaxed, friendly but not intrusive. They are concerned about your comfort abd think of just about everything. We felt so at home there. We felt as if we had been there dozens of times. It's like visiting the relatives you really like. You will not be disappointed and like Susan's breakfast, don't miss Walt's tips about the local atractions..We wished we could have stayed longer. We'll be back.

Serrita and Hugh, North Haven, CT

Room Tip: All the ones we saw were wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

You can't go wrong here: the hosts, the breakfast, the rooms (unbelievably clean), the views, the comfort. Walt and Susan have thought of absolutely everything to make your stay perfect! And they couldn't be friendlier: if you've come to eat at the Inn at Little Washington, Walt will give you some wonderful tips to help you enjoy the experience even more than you would otherwise!

Room Tip: Sorry about the above: there is no fitness center or pool but it wouldn't let me "undo&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We arrived in the dark and couldn't wait for sunrise to look out our bedroom window to see the view. We were well rewarded at sunrise! Rolling pastures out front with the blue ridge mountains and Shenandoah national park in the background was breath taking. Our breakfast was as delicious as the views! That gal Susan can cook! Thank you Susan for a wonderful stay at your lovely B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeGlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Walt and Susan were just great hosts. They were very respectful of our privacy, provided wonderful breakfast and service. The Fairlea has the best views of Shenandoah National Park of any of the B&B's in the area. Located a leisurely stroll from downtown Washington, Virginia. We had a wonderful time on our visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schwartz508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The FAIRLEA FARM BED & BREAKFAST experience in Washington, VA, site of The Inn At Little Washington, is as good as it gets. The spacious stone farm house of hosts Susan and Walt Longyear stands in the midst of panoramic natural beauty that is matched by a truly scrumptious breakfast placed on the table with a classy presentation. All of this comes with easy conversation that both charms and usefully informs. It's worth going out of your way to get there.

Rachel & Bruce Davis

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.4 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
311 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caledonia Farm - 1812  B&B
Caledonia Farm - 1812 B&B
#2 of 3 in Flint Hill
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 636 Mt. Salem Ave, Washington, VA 22747
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range: £140 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A countryside B&B on a 40-acre sheep and cattle farm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing