We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Bed and Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed her with a few friends while biking from Harrisonburg to Gaithersburg. We were greeted as we arrived and soon were relaxing in the spacious back yard gazing at the mountains. My room "Meadows' was much too large for me and included a spacious en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was legendary-worth the trip alone and provided energy for my 80 mile ride. The Innkeeper-Susan, skillfully managed to be there when we needed her, but allowed us our "own space" and is clearly an extraordinary cook. Upon arriving home i realized that i had forgotten my iPhone charger. I used my daughters and forgot about it but could not believe when it arrived from Susan unprompted 2 days later !
We will definitely return for trip next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast, but both of us were very impressed. It is a very unpretentious home (it is on a working farm, but that only adds nice scenery). The rooms are large and the bed comfortable. The owners are VERY warm and helpful. The breakfast is to die for!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here in early April and had no complaints. The Rose Room was great, had an excellent shower. The breakfast was delicious, even after having eaten at the Little Inn at Washington the night before. Walt and Susan also own two donkeys and two rabbits. One of the donkeys was named Christopher.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We only were able to stay one night and had plans for dinner at the Inn at Little Washington. The B&B is lovely and the hosts are wonderful. Walt gave us tips for a more enjoyable and engaging experience at the Inn, and Sue cooked an absolutely marvelous breakfast (and guests get to datermine the time!). The views from this B&B are spectacular. We were in the Rose Room, quite spacious, and a new addition (I'm guessing) of a wonderful LARGE bath, with 2 sinks and lots of shower heads. You will love this place!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquanut981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We needed a few days of quiet during Spring Break, so my husband and I packed up the kids (4 years, and 21 months old) and went to Washington for two nights at Fairlea. The experience was wonderful from the start. We enjoyed a warm and friendly greeting from Walt and Susan, who were wonderful hosts throughout our stay. They were so good to our children, who have been asking to go back and visit again since we left, and were very accommodating and helpful to us as well. I'm vegan, but the rest of my family is not and they loved the farm breakfast, while I was very appreciative of Susan for going to the trouble of picking up almond milk and vegan cereal, despite my having told her I didn't expect her to go out of her way for me.

Our room was perfect for our family, with a comfortable queen, plus two twin beds, a little kitchenette, a sitting area with fireplace, and an adjacent game room with plenty for the kids to play with during the brief periods we spent indoors. We were also able to head straight outside from our room, where we enjoyed taking in the gorgeous view while our children enjoyed the swing, the grass, and the chance to watch and interact with the donkeys, lamb, rabbits, and cattle. We were able to walk into Little Washington to take a peek at the shops there, and also made the drive to Luray Caverns which was worth the trip. On a longer stay, we would have spent a bit of time at Shenandoah Valley National Park, too, as it's quite close by. Perhaps one day we'll return without the kids and enjoy a tour of the nearby distillery or one of the many vineyards in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Lovely place, very pretty rooms and the owners are very accommodating. The Rose Room was very nice and the bathroom was roomy with a high tech shower. We left very satisfied.
Oh and Susan is a very good cook. Breakfast had just the right amount of food and they ask you the night before what time you would like your breakfast served.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Va
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We drove from Norfolk to Little Washington, Va. for a big birthday to celebrate in dining @ Inn @ Little Washington. Lived in LW for 5 years on weekends as my husband is a painter and every corner is like France..painterly. We became friends with Walt and Susan Longyear, the innkeepers of Fairlea. A delightful, hard working couple with nothing but their guest's needs and pleasures as their focus. The driveway entrance is right off 211/ a winding road with hills, barn, cattle and horses in view. You are welcomed with a fire and a living room overlooking pastoral acreage. After a sumptuous dinner, we retired to a lovely room, state of the art/ brand new bath with quality craftsmanship showing. Cows mooing in the morning greeted the day for us. The breakfast so much more than we could eat. Met a lovely couple from Rio who were touring Virginia. The price @Fairlea is right. You will enjoy your hosts…they major in grand hospitality!!

Room Tip: They are all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBearNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
935 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
31 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fairlea Farm Bed and Breakfast
Address: 636 Mt. Salem Ave, Washington, VA 22747
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A countryside B&B on a 40-acre sheep and cattle farm. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing