We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foster Harris House
Ranked #1 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed at the B&B for my husband's birthday and dinner at the Inn at Little Washington.

Our dinner reservations weren't until 9 PM and we were looking for cheese and crackers to hold us over. We bought a couple bottles of wine at the local shop and then asked Diane where we could find some snacks. As we were hanging out in the living room with our friends and our wine, John appeared with a delicious tray of different cheeses, chutneys, peanuts, crackers and pickles. Turns out he was in the middle of his work out but stopped to put this together for us.

Breakfast the next morning was nicely presented and extremely delicious.

Would definitely go back, even if we weren't having dinner at the Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristyinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

We travelled to Foster Harris House to celebrate a friend's birthday and have dinner at Inn at Little Washington. Finding this B&B was such a nice treat. The hosts go out of their way to make you stay memorable. Our rooms were upgraded upon our arrival. Wine was offered, and then the whole bottle appeared. We asked to borrow a knife to slice up some salami we brought. John offered to slice it for us, and then appeared with a full tray of the salami, cheese, crackers, and other nibbles. He also chilled a bottle of sparkling we brought, and then set it up outside our rooms, with glasses. We all enjoyed our rooms, especially the suite with the newly installed body jets in the shower.
We did not think we could eat breakfast the next morning after our dinner the night before, but we had no trouble. The morning was filled with warm goodness and such enjoyable company of the other guests. John's cooking was superb. Hope to return someday and relive the whole experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSWTAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My husband and I took my sister for her 50th b'day celebration on this amazing trip. We absolutely loved the whole package. The owners and organizers are so pleasant and "happy" and thought of every detail. The cycling is challenging but rewarded with gourmet meals at the beginning and end of each day. The B&B is small and intimate and a great escape for a week-end. The whole experience was a dream come true.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynn p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Washington, Virginia is a quiet place - even some cell phones do not get a signal here and the quiet peaceful atmosphere is present at Foster Harris. The rooms are vlarge and well arranged. Each room is different so check the website to sleect the one that suits your fancy. Located on Main Street (the main street), there is a little traffic noise first thing in the morning but you hear the traffic because there is no other noise. Breakfast is at 9:30 am and it is great. Unhurried. Hosts are great and a short walk up Main Street brings you to nice little shops with jewerly and art. The Inn at Little Washington is a easy five minute walk. Vineyards are within an easy drive.

Room Tip: Look at their website - the pictures will guide your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandriaGrandDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at the Foster Harris House and did the Tour d'Epicure this weekend. We went with three other couples (and we met a person who was there on her own and had a great time with her as well). The House is charming, the service is fantastic, the bicycle rides were a little hilly but the scenery is absolutely beautiful.
John and Diane are amazing guides and hosts. The bicycle routes were to vineyards and we tasted some great Virginia wines. The breakfasts we ate at the House were delicious, plentiful, and beautifully served. John and Diane organized both our dinners which were perfect - one at the Inn at Little Washington. I can't say enough about how great this place is. We would definitely return to the Foster Harris House and would highly recommend the House and the Tour d'Epicure to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My girlfriend and I booked The Suite for 3 nights this month as a base from which to dine at the Inn and hike in Shenandoah. We are so glad we did. John and Diane have an attention to detail that makes everything just perfect. On arrival we were greeted at the door by John, where some operators are keen to get payment details there and then, the only thing John wanted to know was beer or wine and where would we like to enjoy it. The perfect start.
The Suite is a beautifully decorated room(s), plenty of space and tasteful furnishings. The shower has to be experienced to be believed! We figured after dining at the Inn breakfast might be too much, but John's cooking really is top class and Diane is so charming you cannot help a small taste of those cakes. It was a great start to the day! One evening we let them know we wouldn't be around for breakfast the next day due to an early morning hike, no matter says John he'd have a bag of cakes and fruit waiting for us when we were ready to leave. The drive up to the mountains was made all the better for the smell of hot cakes wafting from that very bag.
It's the small things that turn good into excellent and I think John and Diane have thought of everything.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKDivetype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

My husband and I love escaping the city to the breathtaking views, spectacular food, and heart-warming hospitality found around Washington, VA. John and Diane are wonderful hosts of the Foster Harris House, where we have enjoyed overnight stays with good wine and a scrumptious breakfast. The Mary Ellen Jenkins room is very cozy with a spacious shower. We've also enjoyed the beautiful views from the Suite Winter-garden. If you like dogs, Stella will be grateful if you throw her some balls to fetch. We'll be coming back in just a few months.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MinaB434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,004 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
303 reviews
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,303 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foster Harris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster Harris House

Address: 189 Main Street, P.O. Box 333, Washington, VA 22747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range: £246 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the world-renowned Inn at Little Washington in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, the Foster Harris House offers comfortable, refined country inn accommodations in an enchanting setting. Each queen bed guest room has exquisitely soft linens, spa robes, and a private bath with a rainfall shower. Included with your stay is a lavish, unhurried four-course breakfast. Dinner at the Foster Harris House unites the elements that inspire Chef John's culinary muse - fruits and vegetables from the rich soil of Rappahannock County, surprising flavors, bold splashes of color and family traditions - with each plate artfully composed to entice the eyes and the appetite. The intimate dining room of only 10 seats and just one seating per night allows for an unhurried and personal dining experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing