We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Do Better than This”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foster Harris House
Ranked #1 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't Do Better than This”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Our visit to the Foster Harris House in Washington, Virginia was nothing short of sublime. Clean, comfortable, lovely. The owners, John and Diane have thought of everything to make their guests comfortable (including coffee right outside the guestrooms in the morning). Four course gourmet breakfast, taste and presentation, was simply wonderful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
303
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Many “foodies” flock to the Inn at Little Washington, which is why we came (for the first time) to this village. In writing this review, and considering value versus price, I recommend Foster Harris House over Little Washington.

Foster Harris, itself, is also worthy of a big detour to enjoy a perfect 1-3 day rest in the Virginia countryside.

I read many of the Trip Advisor positive and critical reviews of Foster Harris. Reviews in the “excellent” group are spot on. Everything at Foster Harris was superb.

Foster Harris is a top notch B&B gem at a fraction of the cost at LW, which is just up the street. I loved Foster Harris, a 110 year-old house in a perfect location, with creaky floors, but beautifully modernized where it matters. Foster Harris has bright and beautifully decorated rooms, superb linens and towels, white housecoats in the closet, free wireless and no TV, spotlessly clean, a very comfortable bed, and (the Suite) a fabulous shower.

The welcoming, but non-intrusive, hosts have thought of everything - dark roast coffee outside our bedroom door when we wanted it, and Diane’s attentive service. Much has been said about John’s amazing 4-course breakfast prepared in his dazzling new kitchen; yes, it was wonderful. The relaxing atmosphere was really impressive and memorable.

If you are travelling on I-81 or I-95, hiking in the Shenandoah, visiting Virginia's vineyards, or just need a great meal, head to Foster Harris House. Should we ever be driving down I-81 again, we will certainly stay and have dinner there. We loved it!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a good vista.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fogbound46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Literally a hundred meters away from the world famous "The Inn at Little Washington", you will find this little gem which is nothing short of perfection, location and service, food and comfort, linen and sundry, accommodation and cleanliness, except the glamor and grandeur of the Inn. It is more relaxing and low key, but still elegant and high class.

It was such a wonderful get away, short yet sweet, the elegant decor, delicious food, warm hospitality, fabulous shower, pleasant background music and relaxing atmosphere was really impressive and memorable! the house is over 100 years old, but modernized everywhere and super clean, it is hard to pin point anything that needs improvement considering I am in hospitality business for 20+ years!

John and Diane are a great husband and wife team, warm yet very professional, caring but not imposing, talented but very modest!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, make sure you get up and enjoy the 9:30am breakfast! NOT to miss! The "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkirk, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband surprised me for my 40th birthday. Best bed and breakfast by far. Owners were awesome food was Devine. I have a sleeping disorder however the bed was so comfortable I sleep through the night. The Room was cozy and romantic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We thought our trip was going to be all about The Inn at Little Washington dinner. Which was amazing but the trip turned into a great dinner and two great breakfast at the Foster Harris House. Made a lot of new friends and had a the Perfect 1st Anniversary!!!!! Can't wait to do the bicycling weekend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The best overnight stay on an epic US trip. A very warm welcome by John the owner, a delightful room with many small thoughtful considerations ( based on the owners years of travel and the frustrations they encountered) which was spotlessly clean with the whitest towels we have ever seen! The breakfast was a four course affair , well presented but of manageable size, just right too start us off on our day without overwhelming us, especially after the tasting menu the previous night at The Inn at Little Washington which is only 10 minutes easy walk away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdavidb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falls Church, VA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

After starting out our 5th anniversary with a terrible experience at another B&B, we realized we needed to find a new place to stay ASAP. We called the Foster Harris House and luckily they had a last minute cancellation that we were able to snap up. When we told Diane and John our story they were so sweet and sympathetic. They took us up to our absolutely perfect Mary Ellen Jenkins room and brought us a bottle of wine. The room, while not huge, was beautifully decorated with an exceptionally comfortable bed. That evening we had dinner at the Inn at Little Washington (a quick 3 minute walk up the road) and worried we would never be able to eat again BUT sure enough the next morning we were treated to hands down, the best breakfast of our lives. Expertly cooked and served by the innkeepers. The only sad part was having to checkout the next day. If you are looking for a 5 star B&B, this is the place for you.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
973 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,239 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foster Harris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster Harris House

Property: Foster Harris House
Address: 189 Main Street, P.O. Box 333, Washington, VA 22747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the world-renowned Inn at Little Washington in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, the Foster Harris House offers comfortable, refined country inn accommodations in an enchanting setting. Each queen bed guest room has exquisitely soft linens, spa robes, and a private bath with a rainfall shower. Included with your stay is a lavish, unhurried four-course breakfast. Dinner at the Foster Harris House unites the elements that inspire Chef John's culinary muse - fruits and vegetables from the rich soil of Rappahannock County, surprising flavors, bold splashes of color and family traditions - with each plate artfully composed to entice the eyes and the appetite. The intimate dining room of only 10 seats and just one seating per night allows for an unhurried and personal dining experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing