We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Foster Harris House B&B
Nearby Hotels
Royal Inn Motel(Front Royal)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skyland(Shenandoah National Park)
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Front Royal Motel(Front Royal)(Great Value!)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Priceline
View Deal
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveller rating
520
15
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
520
15
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscompton roommy husband and iother guestsnext morningtalented chefsconesmulti courseadirondack chairswine pairingyogurt parfaitspa showerincredible breakfastwelcoming hostsbed and breakfastout of this worldattention to detailmy wife's birthday
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 539 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A group of friends -- including a well-known professional chef -- decided to get together for dinner at Foster Harris this week-end. I can honestly say that it exceeded all of our expectations. It reminded me of some of the wonderful meals we have had in the California wine country -- much of the food is locally sourced and you can really taste the difference. Touches like house made ricotta and ice cream also really make it stand out. All were wonderful, but I can't stop thinking about the scallop in a ginger broth with cilantro as well as the house made gnudi. We had the wine pairing and the wines were excellent and great complements to each course -- and all wines I had not had before. It was one of the most memorable meals we have had out here -- and that's saying a lot.

Room Tip: We live here, so we did not stay there. However, the restaurant is small, so if you are interested in dinner there, it is advisable to book in advance.
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank GK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A dear friend of ours turned 50 and her adoring husband chose this wonderful B&B as a place to celebrate so we happily joined them along with 2 other couples/close friends. Each room was unique, beautiful and comfortable. John & Diane are so personable and attend to every detail to make your stay exceptional. They exceeded our expectations making the 3 night celebratory stay with fabulous friends unforgettable and so much fun! The food was delectable (a private dinner and every breakfast prepared/served by them). They are so talented! It was a wonderful retreat filled with wine, laughter and great memories! Thank you :)

Room Tip: Check them out online and pick your favorite - plan ahead - they book up fast.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I booked Foster Harris House for my wife's birthday celebration. Three other couples (all great friends) spent the weekend with us. The weekend was outstanding, the Foster Harris House was perfect, John and Diane were wonderful hosts and they both went out of their way to make our stay very nice and very special for my wife's birthday. They assisted me with several requests in advance of our stay, provided good suggestions for things to do and made other arrangements for our group. John's food was exceptional and we enjoyed chatting with both he and Diane. We did winery visits, shopping, dining, and a couple of us took a 20-mile bike ride along a route suggested by John. The house was clean and comfortable and the service was perfect. The Foster Harris House is a great choice for a couple or couples that want to rest and relax, be romantic, enjoy wine and fine food, and/or bike or hike. We hope to return in the future. Thanks for everything John and Diane. You helped make my wife's birthday special and something we will always remember.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 11WKM11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at Foster Harris House this weekend, largely on the basis of virtually unalloyed raves here on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. The location is quiet and central, and the house is maintained in pristine condition. We stayed in the "Suite" (the largest room, on the second floor), which was comfortable and capacious as a whole, although the sitting room is itself tiny, no bigger than a closet, rendering this space a suite in name only. But at $300 a night, including a gourmet breakfast, it's a very good value.

There is indeed much to like about Foster Harris, starting with the food. John MacPherson, the owner, is a gourmet chef and foodie. He does it all -- originality, presentation, thoughtfulness of combinations, etc. Our one breakfast was a treat, including a gruyere frittata that was out of this world. We got a nice lagniappe, too: some extra scones to take home.

The building is well-maintained, and the systems, for the most part, work perfectly. One disappointment was air conditioning, which seemed to drop offline during the wee hours each night, and I went into a swelter. The systems are not individually controllable from each room.

Decor is interesting but not the greatest. Our room was furnished with a single antique but mostly new, old-looking pieces. Artwork is appears to be generally consignment paintings from local artists -- with price tags attached. There was no consistency of themes or attempt to match framing with the decor. I don't care for the price tags.

Flexibility is not their long suit. Dinner is served at 7:00. If you are not finished with your cinq à sept by then, or need to get to the opera earlier, or are allergic to something on the menu, you are SOL. Likewise breakfast, which is served at 9:30, come hell or high water. I recognize the need for very small operations like this to have some "rules," but our request for a piece of toast or a banana at 6:00 a.m. so that we could get out cycling early fell on deaf ears. They do it their way, not your way.

Another reviewer termed John "prickly." We found him reserved. He wants to be amiable and but it's not a natural skill for him. I'm also not sure he's sensitive to the idea that first-class "hospitality" requires customizing the experience to meet the guests' needs. Or perhaps this is just a business decision, like Henry Ford's decision that all Model T's should be black. Diane, John's wife, is lovely and charming. They're a good pair.

This is a spectacular jumping-off point for cycling. John and Diane run a cycling business and do both supported and unsupported tours. He is a retired professional cyclist. They are good people to know for route information and cue sheets.

We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HBMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We chose to stay at Foster Harris House as part of our overnight trip to dine at the Inn of Little Washington on July 4th and were extremely pleased with the comfortable accommodations, beautiful surroundings and delicious breakfast! We enjoyed the spaciousness of the room, the comfortable bed, the views from the sitting room and the great private bath/shower. You can tell that the owners pay attention to the little details and touches to make their guests stay pleasant and memorable. Thanks Diane and John -- we definitely plan on returning!

Room Tip: We booked way ahead and were pleased with our choice of the Suite-- the largest room with a private sitting room. Very comfortable and quiet -- and morning coffee right outside our door!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soulshine3620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews