We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foster Harris House
Ranked #1 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent B & B”
Reviewed 27 July 2005

My husband and I stayed at this B & B, located about a block from the famed Inn at Little Washington, where we were having dinner on a Saturday night. The Foster Harris House, and it's owners were amazing, the room was beautiful, and the grounds were very relaxing. We had an excellent wine and cheese plate before heading off to our dinner, and enjoyed resting in the comfortable living room reading a book and playing scrabble.

Although the Inn at Little Washington is suppose to be one of the Nation's best restaurants, on this trip, I found the four-course breakfast at the Foster Harris House to be a much better meal than my dinner at the Inn. Fresh baked croissants, beautiful fruit parfaits, an unbelievable french toast, and a delicate tex mex inspired eggs benedict!! Truly delicious. And a special thank you to the owners, who were so friendly, and so helpful! Don't miss this great B & B.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
303
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 July 2005

We spent two nights this past weekend at the Foster Harris House. Innkeepers John and Diane made us feel welcome from the start. The house is charming and immaculately maintained. Our room was very pleasant and we slept well in the four-poster bed, but we did not spend a great deal of time there during the daytime, choosing instead to sit on the comfortable front porch, reading and watching the world go by. John is a wonderful cook and his 4-course breakfasts were a highlight of the visit. We'll certainly recommend the Foster Harris House to friends and hope to return ourselves.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2005

We just returned home from a one night stay at Foster Harris House and we feel as relaxed as if we had been gone a week! Our stay started with a warm welcome from John and a tour of their beautiful B & B from Dianne. The suite was cozy, clean, and inviting. We loved sipping a glass of wine in the sitting area of the suite overlooking the garden. The thoughtful touches really made the stay special, from the truffles and weather report on our pillow before bed to the port left on the coffee table after returning from dinner at the Inn at Little Washington. Breakfast looked lovely and tasted delicious. We would recommend Foster Harris House to anyone looking for a little rest and relaxation. We hope to return!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HooCares00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 July 2005

We recently enjoyed a lovely B & B in the Shenandoah Valley of VA in the historic town of Little Washington, VA. Beautiful rooms and our hosts were so kind. We were greeted with wine and snacks on the porch. Breakfast was superb. This is your first choice to stay in the area!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2005

We decided to stop at the Inn at Little Washington for dinner on our road trip from Philly to Pinehurst for the US Open. Although dinner was amazing as expected, the real delight was our stay at the Foster Harris House with John and Diane MacPherson. The room was lovely, the Host warm and friendly, and breakfast was even better than our dinner the night before.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Hill, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2005

This is a truly lovely B&B. Close enough to the city for a quick trip, but you feel as if you are a world away. John & Diane are generous and thoughtful. The B&B is cozy, and provides for an amazing respite. No words can describe breakfast, creative, yummy, and just a real treat. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VPLOakHillVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 July 2005

My husband and I spent his birthday at the Foster Harris House. The suite that we stayed in was cozy, clean and beautiful. The sitting area in our suite was the perfect place to drink our champagne (that the owners had kindly obtained for me) and look out at the stunning grounds. Truly relaxing. It was everything that you want from a B&B.
I especailly appreciated the "extras". Like the fact that because cell phone coverage is terrible in that area, you can use their landline, sans charges. And there is a small room where one can check their email, watch some TV or have water or juices for free...

Best of all, the breakfast was superb. Seated outside, the personal service and the quality of the food was exceptionally high. We had a long chat with the other guests, over delicious food...My husband and I discussed our next visit prior to placing our luggage in our car.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
973 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,239 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foster Harris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster Harris House

Property: Foster Harris House
Address: 189 Main Street, P.O. Box 333, Washington, VA 22747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the world-renowned Inn at Little Washington in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, the Foster Harris House offers comfortable, refined country inn accommodations in an enchanting setting. Each queen bed guest room has exquisitely soft linens, spa robes, and a private bath with a rainfall shower. Included with your stay is a lavish, unhurried four-course breakfast. Dinner at the Foster Harris House unites the elements that inspire Chef John's culinary muse - fruits and vegetables from the rich soil of Rappahannock County, surprising flavors, bold splashes of color and family traditions - with each plate artfully composed to entice the eyes and the appetite. The intimate dining room of only 10 seats and just one seating per night allows for an unhurried and personal dining experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing