We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavon on Earth in Virgina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foster Harris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foster Harris House
Ranked #2 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Heavon on Earth in Virgina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2005

If you are heading to the Virginia Wine Country or dinner at the famous Inn at Little Washington then stay at The Foster Harris House just down the street.

As soon as you pull up, you will be greeted by the warm and friendly owners who live on site and do an amazing job running this beautiful property with a wealth of local knowledge. During our two day stay, we went Horseback riding and took three wine tours just down the road. They also operate a "Tour de Virginia" bicycling program in the summer which we cannot wait to go back and try out.

Looking for a tranquil setting? This is it with a spectacular backyard on a rural "Country Road". The rooms are spacious and well appointed and will far exceed your expectations. The real gem here however is the food. Each breakfast is expertly prepared and served with a 5 star approach. From the linens to the china and even the service, this Bed and Breakfast can compete with any Relais and Chateaux property in the US..

Geoffrey Cousineau
Director of Food and Beverage
The Biltmore Hotel, Coral Gables Florida.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
287
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2005

My husband and I just spent a lovely Saturday night at the Foster Harris House. We were lucky enough to get a room after a last minute cancellation and stayed in the Mary Ellen Jenkins Room. The room was tastefully decorated, with nice bed linens and really soft pillows. The bathroom had a large rainfall shower and nice toiletries from L'Occtaine. The hosts John & Diane very warm and friendly, and the 4 course breakfast they served was delicious. I would highly reccomend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2005

Beautiful surroundings, nice room, great food, wonderful hosts and excellent company. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay more. We'll be back and we highly recommend he Inn to anyone who really wants to enjoy a great getaway.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2005

We stayed at the Foster-Harris house for our one year anniversary and it was simply wonderful. We could not have been happier. Check in was the seamless and we had a glass of wine within minutes of arriving. The Inn at Little Washington was a short walk away for dinner. Breakfast was amazing! John and Diane really know how to entertain. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2005

As a weekend getaway, we chose the Foster Harris Bed and Breakfast in Washington, VA. We were fortunate to book the upstairs suite. It was very nice, and tastefully furnished. The suite offered an excellent view of the mountains, and we especially liked the attention to detail in the choice of sheets, pillows, blankets, silk/cotton towels, and the rain shower.

The owners, John and Diane MacPherson, were excellent hosts. Upon arriving, we were generously supplied with bottled water and glasses with ice, served on a silver tray in our room. Wine was offered before dinner and Port after returning from the nearby Inn (a 5 star).

An upstairs coffee service was provided at 7 am preceding the breakfast at 9:30. Having coffee in bed, looking at the mountains is an excellent way to start the day. The breakfast was a five course event and certainly qualifies as one of the best all time breakfasts.

The Foster Harris House is certainly a place we will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2005

We spent one night at the Foster Harris B & B and we look forward to doing it again for a longer period of time. The inn is comfortably and attractively furnished, beds are extremely comfortable and the hosts are very gracious. Lots of little extras are provided which makes the stay there special. Breakfast was a feast well worth returning for.

Helpful?
Thank Marilou G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2005

The Foster Harris House is beautiful, intimate, and lovely all round. We celebrated our 10th anniversary there. We felt very pampered and would have loved to spend more than one night. Unbelievably we cleaned our plates at a four course breakfast (following a 7 course dinner at the Inn at Little Washington). It doesnt get any better.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
20.2 mi away
Airlie
Airlie
#3 of 6 in Warrenton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 8 in Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foster Harris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foster Harris House

Property: Foster Harris House
Address: 189 Main Street, P.O. Box 333, Washington, VA 22747
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the world-renowned Inn at Little Washington in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains, the Foster Harris House offers comfortable, refined country inn accommodations in an enchanting setting. Each queen bed guest room has exquisitely soft linens, spa robes, and a private bath with a rainfall shower. Included with your stay is a lavish, unhurried four-course breakfast. Dinner at the Foster Harris House unites the elements that inspire Chef John's culinary muse - fruits and vegetables from the rich soil of Rappahannock County, surprising flavors, bold splashes of color and family traditions - with each plate artfully composed to entice the eyes and the appetite. The intimate dining room of only 10 seats and just one seating per night allows for an unhurried and personal dining experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing