We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in every way”
Review of Gay Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gay Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Excellent stay in every way”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We are very happy with our choice! Room was very clean and spacious, in a very quiet end of the street, offering nice privacy! Great value and the Innkeepers Gary and Wendy were so very sweet and responsive in every way. We would stay here again for sure!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jlee1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
202
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Gay Street Inn. We were in town for dinner at the Inn at Little Washington, and Gay Street was very close (easy walking distance) to dinner and shopping. The rooms were much bigger than we expected (the Shenandoah suite has a full kitchen), and everything was clean and tidy. The soaps and shampoos were good quality. The Inn was warm and welcoming, the property was lovely, and our hosts Wendy & Gary were very kind, not to mention breakfast was delicious.
We accidentally left our phone charger behind when we left and two days later it arrived at our doorstep in the mail -- unprompted -- we thought that was a rare kindness.

The Gay Street Inn will always be a special place for us -- we got engaged here! -- and we will definitely be back to stay in the future.

Room Tip: Shenandoah Suite has a full kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GollyTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This B & B was the perfect location to meet old college friends, one couple from Maryland and the other from North Carolina. The breakfasts here were 5-star, the innkeepers made us feel at home, the front porch was a great place to just sit and breathe, and the library provided a relaxing spot for us to visit and catch up - the evening chocolates and port were a bonus. Driving rain the entire weekend did not hamper our comfortable stay which included dinner at the Inn at Little Washington and a visit to local wineries. We hope to return!

Room Tip: We had the opportunity to try out both the Shenandoah Suite and the Blue Room. The Blue Room was co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keyboardmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Our first visit to Gay Street Inn will definitely not be our last! The room was spotlessly clean, the hosts very accommodating; the breakfast delicious; the bed extremely comfortable with high quality linens. Even the bath towels were large and fluffy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room on the first floor. It was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGKNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the Gay Street Inn for one night with our sister and brother. Very accommodating and friendly hosts. We had been here before when it was under different management. This was just as good. We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: this is a B&B so there is no swimming pool or fitness center. It really doesn't apply. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddi b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is a lovely B&B. We spent one night ( 10/28/13) but could happily have stayed longer to explore the region. We have not stayed in many B&B's so I was not sure what to expect but as we were dining at the Inn at Little Washington and reluctant to pay their room prices instead chose the very near-by Gay Street Inn. A lovely home with impeccably clean, large, well-furnished and comfortable rooms and I don't think we could have made a better choice. Innkeepers Wendy and Gary ( the last name rhymes with Rachel but I won't attempt to spell it!) are welcoming, very friendly and obviously take great pride in their property. I would love to see their lovely garden in bloom. The breakfast was wonderful and the nice touch of a bottle of port and chocolates available in the living room when you return from dining out is a very nice and considerate touch. Would highly recommend this B&B whether for a night at the Inn at Little Washington (walking distance) or just for enjoying the spectacular scenery of this gorgeous part of the Shenandoah region of Virginia. Thank you Wendy and Gary - we hope we'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2nd floor Mountain View Room, our friends were next door in the Blue Room. Both w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCRBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

The Gay Street Inn is a charming B&B run by a friendly and chatty couple with an interesting background. They love what they do and really try to make you feel at home. The house is beautiful and the rooms are perfect. We were very comfortable. They have late night snacks in the parlor and the breakfast was fantastic. It was a nice place to stay after a day in town and a dinner at the Inn at Little Washington.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 10306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
973 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 9 in Front Royal
831 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gay Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gay Street Inn

Property: Gay Street Inn
Address: 160 Gay St, Washington, VA 22747-1974
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gay Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our restored and updated 1850s farmhouse in historic Little Washington, Virginia, will welcome you to a relaxing stay in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains. We are within walking distance of the renowned Inn at Little Washington, minutes from Shenandoah National Park, award-winning wineries, horseback riding and antiques. Your day begins with a home-cooked breakfast in our sunroom. Lounge in the library or in the quiet of one of our guest rooms, each with private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gay Street Hotel Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing