We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”
Review of Middleton Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Middleton Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had booked Middleton Inn for one night! our experience was fantastic. Mary Ann is very helpful. The room was exactly what I expected and the breakfast the next morning was delicious. The wine and cheese hour was great too and we met other guests who were very nice and liked the Inn very much also. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shossain6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryAnnKuhn, Owner at Middleton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at Middleton Inn and we're delighted you liked the latest breakfast creation by our new chef, Johnathon. We very much enjoyed being a part of the surprise birthday for your husband and hope we can do the same for you, when it is your birthday!
Mary Ann Kuhn
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

My wife and I just spent a wonderful Christmas Eve in Washington, Va at the Middleton Inn. We were charmed by everyone's care and friendliness, the romantic style of our room (the Cottage), and had a great evening. We were greeted with a bottle of champagne and cheese platter, which was great after a day of wandering around the surrounding area. Dinner up the street at ILW was fantastic, and we returned to a fire and cozy evening. Breakfast on Christmas morning was a worthy follow up to the cuisine the prior evening. The service was warm but not intrusive, the accommodations exactly what we were looking for. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGH1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We had the most wonderful stay at the Middleton Inn. The property is just beautiful and everyone who works at the Inn is polite, helpful, and welcoming. Mary Ann and her team went above and beyond to make our stay special. They had a nice birthday surprise in the room for us (since it was a birthday celebration), as well as a great little goodie bag for our dog. The breakfasts were fantastic! The food was delicious, prepared by a great chef (who came out to personally welcome us), and presented beautifully. We stayed in the cottage, which was cozy and felt very private. The Inn is just a couple blocks from a few restaurants, shops and galleries. Lastly, we left something behind at a local cafe... Mary Ann went out of her way to pick the item up from the cafe and ship it to our home. We can't say enough - we'd absolutely stay at the Middleton Inn again and again.

Room Tip: The cottage is great for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Our Family stayed at the Middleton Inn on our vacation east. We had arranged to have dinner at the Inn at Little Washington and decided to stay at the Middleton Inn for the night instead of the Inn. The Middleton Inn surpassed our expectations! We travel a lot and stay in fine places but this Inn stands out! The grounds and the decor are impeccable. We had Champagne and cheese waiting upon our arrival. Our children enjoyed the grounds and befriended the people friendly pets. We had two rooms facing the meadow and the mountains and we felt like we were in our home away from home. We walked to dinner at the Inn, and the next morning were greeted by an amazing breakfast of eggs and homemade scones. Mary Ann welcomed us as friends not guests and she could not of been nicer. After 10 days of vacation this was a highlight of our trip - our girls can't stop talking about the Middleton Inn and can't wait to go back. Thank you Mary Ann!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollymoe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My family, and especially our dog Rosie (a 3-year old Golden Retriever), always look forward to returning to the Middleton Inn. We stop there on our way to and from our summer house, and are often joined by our son and his girlfriend. We just love to stay in the Cabin, which is a separate log cabin that has been updated with a well equipped kitchen, living room with fireplace, and two comfortable bedroom/bath suites. It is very homey and private, with a big front porch that has a lovely view of the mountains. It was blistering hot outside this visit, but the AC kept the Cabin nice and cool. After a long drive, we really appreciate the chilled Champagne that awaits, and Rosie loves to run and roll in the sweeping lawn. Mary Ann (the owner) and her staff always make us feel so at home it really is like visiting friends (without having to worry about stripping the beds or helping with the dishes!).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosies_mom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

My husband and I were celebrating our 30th anniversary. The people who manage the inn were friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Churchill Room which was bright and had a beautiful view of the mountains. There was champagne on ice in the room when we arrived. In the late afternoon they served wine and cheese which were very tasty. The bed was comfortable; the sheets soft. The breakfast was plentiful and very good...great coffee from a local roaster. Best of all for us was the back porch where we sipped our champagne and played with the cats while enjoying a comfortable evening. Very relaxing and peaceful. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knitnspin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We were greeted by Mary Ann -- the inkeeper who lovinly restored a stately mansion. It is simply gorgeous. And, a short walk from The Inn at Little Washington. It was our anniversary and -- surprise -- there was a great bottle of champain on ice in our room. Yes!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henrycanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#1 of 8 in Washington
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
251 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Middleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleton Inn

Address: 176 Main St, PO Box 254, Washington, VA 22747-1915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range: £220 - £635 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Middleton Inn, circa 1840, a Four Diamond award-winning luxury bed and breakfast inn located in the historic district of "Little" Washington, only two blocks from the famous restaurant of The Inn at Little Washington. Middleton offers five elegant accommodations in the manor house and historic cottage, all with working fireplaces and mountain views. Enjoy a scrumptious breakfast prepared by our chef before strolling around our six-acre estate, visiting wineries, hiking in Shenandoah National Park and browsing among our area boutiques and antiques stores. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing