We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a luxurious, delightful place!”
Review of Middleton Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Middleton Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Middleton Inn for three nights at the end of March. It is perfectly appointed
and perfectly managed by owner Mary Ann Kuhn. Every detail is covered. Lovely fires in every room, turn down service, professionally ironed sheets, water and ice in each room, afternoon wine and cheese, elegant breakfast, and beautiful grounds. I can't say enough about the luxurious and lovely inn.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartraymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

We couldn't be happier with our stay at the Middleton. Perfect hot ginger scones for breakfast, friendly yellow Labs to play fetch with, recommendations on things to do in town and down the road in Sperryville... Mary Ann is a warm and easygoing host. Highly recommended if you are eating at the Inn at Little Washington (a three-minute walk) or just want a weekend in the country.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is one of the loveliest Inn's I have encountered in my world travels. The rooms, the service the ambience - it has it all. I love that it is in such a lovely country town with beautiful places to amble....
Top notch!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertonkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Middleton Inn is conveniently located just a few blocks' walk from the Inn of Little Washington. It is also close to charming gift & antique shops and a short drive from several wineries. We enjoyed spectacular views and wonderful service at this historic inn. As we arrived, we were first greeted by friendly dogs and delightful cats. Then we were greeted by the caretaker, who showed us to our room and invited us to a wine and cheese reception. Mary Ann, the owner, had left us a “Happy Anniversary” note along with chilled champagne and flutes in our room. We had a very relaxing time and met several interesting couples during our stay. The best part of all was the breakfasts! Each morning, we were treated like royalty to a gourmet three-course breakfast, made with the freshest ingredients. I can't say enough good about the chef; I truly enjoyed the "best breakfasts ever" at the Middleton Inn!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Middleton Inn. Mary Ann treated us like royalty and the breakfast was delicious. We recommend staying in the cottage, although the rooms in the main house looked very nice, too.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZachinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My wife and I Have stayed at some very nice b&b's over the years. We chose this one for our anniversary and it did not disappoint! From the charm of the house to the complimentary champagne to celebrate our anniversary to the warmth of Mary Anne and her staff to to the wonderful breakfast, everything was perfect. Additionally, we ended up with a flat and Mary Anne arranged for someone to come fix it on a Sunday morning at the house - given no place was open in the area, this was very much appreciated. While we waited, we had a chance to talk with the chef, Jeffrey, who is a super nice guy. I'd highly recommend this b&b. My wife and I are already talking about booking the cottage or cabin and bringing the entire fam....

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank md_travelerMd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Mary Ann and the staff at the Middleton Inn helped my wife and I have a fairy-tale 4th anniversary.

The experience was personalized. Upon entering our room, a complimentary bottle of champagne, ice, and lovely card were there waiting for us.

The service was by far the best we have ever experienced. We had dinner reservations at the Inn at Little Washington, but I had forgotten my dress shoes at home. We mentioned it to Mary Ann in the first morning before we went out for the day, and she said she would call around to other hotels to see if I could borrow a pair. To our pleasant surprise, she went out a bought a pair for me. Thanks to her, I didn't go to one of the best restaurants on the east coast in my flip flops. She also mailed a pair of my wife's shoes she had left in the room after the weekend was over (I'm not the only one who had trouble remembering shoes that weekend).

We also loved the tasty breakfasts, which were served in a sunlit colonial room and were fresh and delicious.

The staff at the Inn were also really helpful at answering all our questions about the area.

The beds were comfortable, the rooms beautiful, the extensive property gorgeous.

Thanks to the Inn for such an amazing experience. We'd give it 7 stars if we could.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobenjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,005 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
53 reviews
14.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleton Inn

Address: 176 Main St, PO Box 254, Washington, VA 22747-1915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range: £224 - £645 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Middleton Inn, circa 1840, a Four Diamond award-winning luxury bed and breakfast inn located in the historic district of "Little" Washington, only two blocks from the famous restaurant of The Inn at Little Washington. Middleton offers five elegant accommodations in the manor house and historic cottage, all with working fireplaces and mountain views. Enjoy a scrumptious breakfast prepared by our chef before strolling around our six-acre estate, visiting wineries, hiking in Shenandoah National Park and browsing among our area boutiques and antiques stores. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing