We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of Middleton Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Middleton Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is the ultimate in an historic Inn experience. Gorgeous furnishings in an old plantation home, beautiful room with a fireplace and glorious fall view. Breakfast out of this world plus fine hospitality. Perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glbtrotr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
127
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skillman, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

October 6, 2013 This historic property on a bucolic hillside in Washington, Virginia, is an 1840 brick manor house with an elegant interior, antique furnishings and spectacular views. Innkeeper/proprietor Mary Ann Kuhn is the consummate hostess, attentive to every need. She offers wine and port, cheese, fruit and crackers, coffee and chocolates, as well as travel and restaurant advice. She and her genial staff serve a sumptuous breakfast on Herend and Minton china in the inn's gracious dining room. The formality of the house is subtly tempered by the horses, dogs and cats that also call the Middleton Inn home. We plan to return in spring when Washington is in bloom.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Location, service, food, room and especially hospitality. Everything you would expect at this level but done in a way that wasn't pretentious or over the top. Mary Ann was charming and the views were spectacular. Breakfast was fabulous - 3 courses of perfection. Wine and cheese, port and champagne on arrival. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyattsmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The Middleton Inn, its owner and staff provide a wonderful luxury retreat in the foothills of the Shenandoah's near wineries, hiking, canoeing and of course all the treats of the Inn at Little Washington (and the new Little Washington Wellness & Spa - which we highly recommend). We stayed in the cottage which provides a little extra space to hang out and one of the only jacuzzi tubs within an hour's drive. Tip - for an extra special jacuzzi, the Inn at Little Washington gift shop sells their bath salts in single use pillows. The Middleton Inn cheese and champagne, and more cheese and wine, and evening port and quiet but attentive service all added to the luxury. And, then the breakfast! Some of the best scones and waffles ever. The waffles come topped with beautifully ripe and tasty fruit. I think the best bed and breakfast breakfast we've had. The owner was super helpful with area recommendations and reservations as well. A great get away!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage which provides a little extra space to hang out and one of the only jacuzzi...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband and I had reservations at the Inn at Little Washington and we chose the Middleton Inn to stay overnight based on the reviews on Trip Advisor.

We chose the cottage as it has privacy and it looked like fun.

We arrived and were greeted by Mary Ann (the owner) and Jeannie. They brought us a bottle of champagne and oriented us to the cottage. The cottage itself is basically three rooms, the sitting area, the bathroom and the bedroom upstairs. The outside is surrounded by a picket fence and there is a butterfly bush right outside where many butterflies flew around. There is a small TV/Monitor in the room and some DVDs available, there are many books on the shelves - good ones too! There is also a small refrigerator and bottled water is provided. The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub and spa robes are provided. There was a hair dryer and toiletries. You will want to close the wooden blinds as the windows from the bathroom look out to the house.

Upstairs is the bedroom - it is a queen-sized bed and it is soft - not a firm mattress. The windows look out on the paddock with the horses. Shades are provided and you will need them at night as the light from the barn shines into the room. At night, if you want to go downstairs in the dark for any reason, you need to be careful - I would suggest bringing a little flashlight if you don't want to turn on the room lights.

The best part was the menagerie of animals on the property, we met two golden labs - one of which barked his good morning to us and waited patiently outside the picket fence with a ball, ready to play fetch. There are two cats that I saw, the gray and white cat was very friendly and the other was in the paddock with the horses. The horses were friendly and they came right up to me (probably looking for a carrot). In the morning, we saw a deer and a fox outside. I would recommend bringing binoculars to observe the nature there.

We were served breakfast in our cottage the next day and we had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon along with potatoes. Mary Ann first brought out fruit (melon and berries) and cherry scones, which were delicious.

This is not a modern, polished place - it has history and that's what made it special. The floor creaks, the slats in the wooden blinds are not aligned perfectly, etc. It is exactly as it advertises. It would be wonderful to stay here in the fall and see the leaves changing colors.

It is a short walk to the "downtown" where the Inn is, but you will most likely be dressed up, and it's not short enough to walk in heels. Also, I did not notice a sidewalk.

Of note, there is no cell phone reception in the area, so you may want to give your loved ones the number of the inn so they can contact you, as the phone in the room uses calling cards. You probably don't want to plan on being "connected" - it's a good thing to enjoy the quiet.

I recommend the Middleton Inn for a getaway.

Room Tip: Stay at the cottage if it's a couples weekend - it's cozy and charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FuninPhx71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Had a 1 night stay with my wife for our anniversary and dinner up the road. Got there and was greeted well with wine and cheese etc awaiting us. Went for a pre dinner run into town and back and then spent time on the front porch watching an amazing sunset while talking to the myriad cats. Inside is beautiful and the great creeking original wood floors authenticate the antebellum age of the property. Perfectly sized room and several old old buildings and the barn with horses made it the unique place i was seeking. Had a long conversation with Mary Ann after excellent breakfast Saturday and got the history of the property, the town etc.Will be back for sure

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcg55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My husband and I stayed in the cottage on the grounds of Middleton Inn. The cottage was very charming and cozy with a fireplace and lots of good books to read. The bath had soft, comfy robes. The view out front was lovely. The next morning we were served breakfast in our cottage which was outstanding ... fresh baked scones, eggs, fruit, coffee. Yum! We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
984 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,265 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleton Inn

Property: Middleton Inn
Address: 176 Main St, PO Box 254, Washington, VA 22747-1915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Middleton Inn, circa 1840, a Four Diamond award-winning luxury bed and breakfast inn located in the historic district of "Little" Washington, only two blocks from the famous restaurant of The Inn at Little Washington. Middleton offers five elegant accommodations in the manor house and historic cottage, all with working fireplaces and mountain views. Enjoy a scrumptious breakfast prepared by our chef before strolling around our six-acre estate, visiting wineries, hiking in Shenandoah National Park and browsing among our area boutiques and antiques stores. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing