We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Middleton Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Middleton Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent 24 hours in this amazing B&B. We stayed in the cottage, with a fire place and jacuzzi. The scenery is amazing and the cottage even better. You have the chance to enjoy your coffee next to beautiful horses and if you are dog lover, then the 2 dogs waiting for you to play with their ball will make you more than happy. The breakfast was excellent! We celebrated my birthday and when we entered the house we found a personal greeting and champagne waiting for us. I couldn't ask for more. I strongly recommend it for a relaxing romantic weekend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinos1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    9
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
127
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Very personalized service. It was my boyfriend's birthday as a result we were looking for a calm, romantic locale. Middleton Inn exceeded all our expectations -- Mary Ann and Emma were so hospitable and kind, the room decoration was impeccable, the personal greeting card and champagne waiting for us on the table, even the lovely 2 dogs waiting for us to play with them. Overall a great B&B experience if you are looking for a relaxing, romantic weekend getaway!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idask82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Middleton is the perfect combination of feeling like you're in the country, but having every comfort you could imagine. Mary Ann is a great hostess - she's friendly and helpful with restaurant and other recommendations when you ask, but understands that some people just want to be alone! Small inns and B&Bs can be risky that way - but Mary Ann respectfully gives you all the privacy you want (including breakfast served in your room).

We stayed in the cottage and it was a dream. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

The bathub alone is worth it - a huge tub with a view that overlooks the mountains. The breakfasts were delicious - and when we arrived, there was a bottle of prosecco and some delicious cheese awaiting us. The friendly dogs (yellow labs) were one of my favorite parts. They have electric collars so they don't get too near the cottage - so if you're not a dog person, you don't need to interact with them in any way. But if you are, they will happily greet you in the morning to throw the ball for them - and it's great!

The Inn is on the edge of town, so you can walk to little shops and restaurants in less than five minutes. You can also easily walk home after dinner, so no need to worry about designating a driver.

Don't hesitate to go here! It couldn't be nicer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerfromdc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had an amazing 24 hours at the Middleton Inn, located in Washington VA.. A great little town, fine dining and a delight! The Inn is immaculate and tastefully decorated with a warm and inviting atmosphere. Mary Ann the Innkeeper is a pleasure her assistant Amy is always ready to assist. What we found as most appealing is the detail Mary Ann took to make our stay so special. We stayed in the cottage which is adorable, it had all the comforts of home and more! Greeted by a bottle of champagne, cheese and crackers and a personal note we felt welcomed immediately. Being animal lovers we were tickled to see horses, dogs and cats on the property - We still talk about Squire the yellow lab who's job it is to be awesome - which he does a great job of doing. When it was time for us to leave we didn't want to go. We wanted to sit on the back porch and enjoy the rest of the day - take a nap and play ball with Squire. We have already decided to visit Middleton Inn again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Middleton Inn is not just an hour and a half away from Washington, D.C. - it is light years away from city stress and tension- yet with all of the modern comforts and conveniences...and down a long pebbled lane and into another world. A covered and welcoming porch awaits- complete with two friendly outdoor only cats and an outdoor yellow lab who likes to have the ball thrown around the well manicured grounds. Horses are quietly enjoying the lush surrounding pastures and in and out of the red painted barns. I had the good fortune to arrive amid peony season with huge blossoms in abundance around and throughout the Inn. The Middleton team is friendly, helpful, talented and artistic so there is beauty in every detail of decorating and with breakfast: the meals are delicious- freshly made ginger scones- omelets with asparagus and gruyere- Virginia country bacon and flavorful broiled tomatoes. I plan to return as soon as possible for rest and relaxation and more to explore in the charming town of Little Washington and in the Shenandoah.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent the Memorial Day weekend in the charming and romantic Middleton Inn in Washington, Va. I recommend it without reservation and I've stayed at lots of B&Bs. The accommodations were luxurious and the breakfast of Eggs Benedict was fabulous. You can tell that the staff truly cares about making the Inn a perfect getaway. I can't wait to go back in the fall when the leaves of the Blue Ridge mountains turn gold and red.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Airy, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I come to Washington, Virginia every year for our wedding anniversary and to celebrate it by dining at the Inn at Little Washington. We stayed at the Middleton Inn when we first came there, were charmed by it, and ever since continue to return. The Federal manor house (built in 1850) sits right off of Main Street on a charming 6-acre farm with incredible vistas and gorgeous landscaping. The farm is host to 2 horses, as well as a small contingent of the sweetest cats and dogs you could ever meet. They are all there to welcome you as you arrive along with the fabulous owner and proprietor, Mary Ann Kuhn. With Mary Ann, generosity and warmth have always pervaded our stays. Also, given the number of times we have been there, there isn't a room we haven't stayed in! All are gorgeously appointed in furniture reflecting the Federal period; and the cottage is a wonderful and cozy haven! And the breakfast!!!! Oh my! One cannot say enough good things about this meal! You are not only doted upon, but the quality and standard of the food is absolutely delightful. I am always sorry to leave, but am always refreshed and revitalized at the end of our stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
16.8 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
962 reviews
16.7 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
14.4 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,213 reviews
8.3 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleton Inn

Property: Middleton Inn
Address: 176 Main St, PO Box 254, Washington, VA 22747-1915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Middleton Inn, circa 1840, a Four Diamond award-winning luxury bed and breakfast inn located in the historic district of "Little" Washington, only two blocks from the famous restaurant of The Inn at Little Washington. Middleton offers five elegant accommodations in the manor house and historic cottage, all with working fireplaces and mountain views. Enjoy a scrumptious breakfast prepared by our chef before strolling around our six-acre estate, visiting wineries, hiking in Shenandoah National Park and browsing among our area boutiques and antiques stores. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing