We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if in town for dinner at The Inn at Little Washington”
Review of Middleton Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Middleton Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Washington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Beautiful grounds overlooking the Blue Ridge Mountains. The home itself has 4 rooms. There are two separate cabins on the property which is more private.

We stayed in the Ascott Room. Very comfortable bed and linens. Very tastefully furnished. The view was wonderful.

If I return, I would prefer the private cabin on the property instead. The floorboards squeak on the upper floor of the house and I was awakened several times by people walking by.

If you are a nature/animal lover, this place is well suited to you. We enjoyed being greeted by two cats and two dogs. The grounds also had two horses. It was peaceful, quiet, friendly, and definitely laid-back. It is 2.5 blocks from the famous restaurant.

The wine and cheese hour in the afternoon was very nice and the gourmet breakfast was delicious.

I would like to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutdoorLover4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2009

We returned to the Middleton Inn for our 3rd visit recently and had a delightful time. This is a phenomenal property and has been beautifully restored. We always enjoy visiting the resident horses - Joey and Odin. The owner and staff were extremely attentive as always. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We decided to spend a second night in Little Washington last minute and the Middleton had a last minute cancelation so we had the pleasure of staying there (the night before we had stayed at Foster Harris House). This place is really special...it's like staying on a very, very nice farm. There is a beautiful yard, cats, dogs, horses, etc. The house and the rooms are very nicely done - quite small but every detail is of the highest quality and it's very clean. There is wine and cheese and fruit in the afternoon and breakfast served the next day was quite good. The staff is friendly and very laid back. To draw comparisons to Foster Harris - this is a bit more laid back and relaxed I would say and since I love animals I liked the feeling of being on a Virginia Farm. My husband preferred this property because of the friendly environment but I say it's kind of a toss up between this and Foster Harris. Can't go wrong with either one!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWTTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful stay at The Middleton Inn in Washington, VA. We wish we were still there! We cannot say enough great things about this property, its owner and staff. The decor, rooms, etc are classic and elegant. The linens so soft and breakfast delicious and abundant! It really was a relaxing and peaceful slice of heaven. The owner and staff were there and very helpful when we needed something and disappeared when we wanted to be alone-just the right balance of being taken care of while having privacy. This is the kind of place you keep in your mind for a lifetime. We shall return to this lovely establishment again! I hope it will be soon!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sydney350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2008

I just wanted to say how much fun Elaine and I had at your Inn. We are usually hotel people, but your place is quite different! So different, that the following weekend we were caught casting dispersions at the(name withheld to protect the innocent) in New Orleans, saying "there's no Fiji water like at Middleton's, it was everywhere". I would love to have your scone recipe, and thanx so much for those breakfasts...um um good.

Mary Anne, we genuinely felt at home during our little impromptu tasting and I can't imagine better wine service than you guys offered that afternoon.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdmh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2008

Could only getaway for one night mid-week, as we had to get back to the kids, but it was worth every penny. Sure we could have stayed at the other Inn, but why would we, when we could have the cottage house all to ourselves. The cottage house is well worth the extra cost, as you can come and go as you please and with lots of privacy.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcpearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

The setting is just so lovely - a large, beautiful converted home overlooking lovely lawns; barn complete with horse nearby; cats and bounding dogs (all outside) as a welcoming committee. When we arrived, we were offered a nice glass of wine in the sitting room, which gave us some time to chat with the other guests and start unwinding while looking at the relaxing view. Coffee available from 7:30ish was nice; breakfast was brilliant, prepared by their personable and accommodating chef. After breakfast we just sat on the back porch and enjoyed the view - shame we only had one night. At $295+, our room was a bit pricey I think in comparison with others we stayed in, even in places such as Savannah and Charleston where you'd expect nice inns to be pricey. And the bathroom was made up of 3 parts - one with toilet and small sink with all the towels; one shower room without towels; and an exposed vanity with sink but no towels. So just a little odd and you had to plan (take the towel into the shower, etc.) a bit to use the areas. But different certainly, and the vanity didn't look out of place within the room. (Sorry no pictures of the house or our room, they were lovely.)

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NewYorkCitySnowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
0.2 mi away
The White Moose Inn
The White Moose Inn
#2 of 8 in Washington
311 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Little Washington
8.3 mi away
Glen Gordon Manor
Glen Gordon Manor
#1 of 1 in Huntly
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middleton Inn

Address: 176 Main St, PO Box 254, Washington, VA 22747-1915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Rappahannock County > Washington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range: £223 - £643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Middleton Inn, circa 1840, a Four Diamond award-winning luxury bed and breakfast inn located in the historic district of "Little" Washington, only two blocks from the famous restaurant of The Inn at Little Washington. Middleton offers five elegant accommodations in the manor house and historic cottage, all with working fireplaces and mountain views. Enjoy a scrumptious breakfast prepared by our chef before strolling around our six-acre estate, visiting wineries, hiking in Shenandoah National Park and browsing among our area boutiques and antiques stores. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing