We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class B&B”
Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
193 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“First Class B&B”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the B&B. From the moment We walked in, We felt at Home. Katie, the dog greeted us. Heidi, the owner was very friendly and showed Us the room. The room was very nice. This B&B was built for that purpose and is Beautiful. We stayed in the Pine Room, what a view. The breakfast were very good. Plenty of coffee and tea, endless cookie jar too. Dave, the owner, even invited our Family to come for wine. Easy to find, right off of the interstate. Nothing all all but Great Things to say about the Iris Inn.

Room Tip: The Pine Room had an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    41
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
570
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Loved our stay at this well designed bed and breakfast/inn. It is wonderfully comfortable and absolutely spotless. I celebrated a landmark birthday with a group of friends there, and we all enjoyed this charming inn perched on a hilltop in the Shenandoah. Favorite amenities included the free nightly wine tasting, gatherings before the fire in the great room, the incredible valley views [we stayed in the west-facing Garden Path cottage], the never-empty cookie jar, and the sumptuous breakfasts. Dave and Heidi are warm and friendly, and have created a lovely, comfortable place to stay in the mountains. Waynesboro and Staunton offer plenty of things to do; wineries,micro-breweries and beer tastings, the American Shakespeare Center, crafts and shopping... could have used a few more days! Can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpw2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I think the cabin is the most expensive place I've ever stayed. It's is a gorgeous room though. That why I gave it a average on value. Everything else about this place is fantastic. I absolutely loved the accommodations. You will too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellronius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We had our second visit in October. Despite rotten weather, the warmth of the people there and the surroundings far outweighed the conditions outside. The food was terrific, the room beautiful and well appointed, and I couldn't have asked for better service. We hope to return there as often as possible from the Tampa Bay, Florida area.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on line. We prefer the second floor because of its access to a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Iris Inn this fall for our anniversary and could not have asked for a better getaway!!! Dave and Heidi made us feel like family from the moment we walked through the door and their staff is just as kind. We stayed in one of their new "modern" cabins and feel in love! The room was perfect and the views were just BEAUTIFUL!!! Breakfast was out of this world (especially the Pumpkin Pancakes). If you do visit, make sure to stop in and say "Hi" to Katie (the owners sweet dog)!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matt_and_Alicia_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

After visiting the Charlottesville area for the past 13 years, we headed a little farther west and discovered The Iris Inn in Waynesboro. What a find! Our Woodland Room was spacious, nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed a glass of wine, along with cheese and crackers, with our hosts and other Inn guests and enjoyed sharing pleasant conversation. Our breakfast each morning was delicious and we were helped with dining reservations and information on things to do in the area. The Inn's balcony faces west and provides a breathtaking view of the sunset over the Shenandoah Valley. Cabins are available in addition to the rooms in the Inn. We will definitely stay at this Inn on our next trip to VA.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRDir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Iris Inn is one of the favorite places I have stayed - I absolutely loved it. My fiance and I stayed in the Hawk's Nest Suite (in 2011) which was gorgeous. The high ceilings made the room feel huge. The bed was extremely comfortable. Relaxing at night in the private hot-tub was a joy. And to top it all off, the breakfast was phenomenal. If we are ever back in town, we will be staying at the Iris Inn.

Room Tip: The private hot-tub with the Hawk's Nest Suite is a very nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0VEB1RDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
18.3 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
19.8 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Property: Iris Inn
Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980-5692
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing