We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Great Falls, VA
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

When we first planned our trip to the Charlottesville area for the USC football game, we discovered that the major hotels already were booked. So we tried something else: we looked for a bed & breakfast in the surrounding area. We chose the Iris Inn in Waynesboro and it was a great decision. Our room was large, well-appointed, and peaceful. Innkeepers Dave and Heidi were friendly, helpful, and offered up a heck of a breakfast. I definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scott031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    41
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
563
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maywood
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

We were looking for a quiet retreat to spend a few days before the hectic school year began and we found it at the Iris Inn . The room was delightful with the softest most comfortable sheets. Little amenities such as robes and wine glasses were provided in addition to the bottomless cookie jar in the open dining area.
Fauns and a very friendly dog came to greet us as we entered and left. The breakfast was delicious.Our most pleasant stay was a tribute to the hard work and art of the InnKeepers.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank popiMaywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

We have stayed at numerous B&B's throughout the country and we rate the Iris Inn one of the best. The accommodations are fantastic and the hosts are perfect -- they truly understand how to ensure their guests are comfortable but not suffocated with too much closeness. The inn is tucked into the mountains and our room offerred a private hot tub on a deck surrounding forest. The most romatic getaway we've had in years. The breakfast was outstanding and we look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Blumbergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

We just stayed at the Iris Inn and it was wonderful. The staff was friendly and kind. They helped us with our dinner plans and with directions to attractions in the area. The room was just beautiful, spacious and clean. We met some wonderful people from Virginia and New Jersey over breakfast. The food was fabulous. We highly recommend the Iris Inn. It will be our first choice when we visit the area again.

Peter & Barbara
Rhode Island

  • Liked — The Accomodations were beautiful!!
  • Disliked — Everything was great!!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rileyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2008

Our family absolutely loved our weekend at the Iris Inn. The inn itself is gorgeous—in a contemporary way, with clean-lines and an open feel. The setting is magnificent, right in the trees and a stone’s throw from the Shenandoah.
Dave and Heidi are fabulous innkeepers—gracious, upbeat, and intelligent. They know how to pick up on little things that might please individual guests, and then do them—really impressive!
Breakfast was great—the food was fabulous, as was their cordial hospitality. We’ve stayed in many B&Bs, and this one may have been the very best at catering to the vegetarians among us.
Be sure to ask Dave or Heidi to book a dinner reservation for you at the Staunton Grocery— which may sound like a supermarket, but actually is an amazing, creative and wonderful restaurant a short drive from the inn.
Of the many B&Bs we’ve stayed in, this may be our favorite. I can’t think of a better base for hiking in the Shenandoah (or the Blue Ridge). The perfect inn--we’ll be back!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank HaooyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2008

We recently attended a seminar for prospective innkeepers at the Iris Inn. Innkeepers Heidi and Dave orchestrated everything beautifully, on schedule, and had a great meeting room for our group. Iris Inn is a peaceful, woodsy retreat, and we felt we were treated as friends. A perfect stay--from the 'over the top' breakfasts in the morning, to the heavenly bed at night.
Happy Travelers

  • Liked — great food
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FriendlyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2008

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Iris Inn for the first time this weekend. Our stay was fantastic, from the property itself to the wonderful breakfasts. The best part of the Inn is the staff, led by the Innkeepers Dave and Heidi Lanford. Everyone was friendly, informative, and just very nice. When in the area you should give this one a try - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblinWrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Waynesboro
Residence Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
19.8 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
9.7 mi away
Cabin Creekwood
Cabin Creekwood
#1 of 2 in Lyndhurst
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Property: Iris Inn
Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980-5692
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing