We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Owners, Great Location”
Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The owners at Iris were extremely welcoming and friendly from the moment we arrived and its location is quiet and secluded, but easy to access.
The room was extremely clean and the king bed was super comfortable.
My wife and I had no complaints at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

The view is beautiful and the owners were very accommodating! We really enjoyed our stay-it was so relaxing and we loved the hot tub on the deck. The breakfast was delicious and the lemon poppy seed muffins were the best I have ever had. Our room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable! It was a little pricey, but well worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This well-situated B & B, which also has separate cottages and cabins, deserves its accolades. Aside from the fact that it has fabulous views of the valley and is impeccably kept, it is very well located for hiking and sightseeing. One hiking trail we visited is called the Humpback Rocks, located about 6 or 8 miles from the Inn, close to the north end of the Blue Ridge Parkway, a lovely drive in itself. There one can take a strenuous hike up to the rocks, on a well kept trail through dense woods. There is a visitor's center with a few items of food and outdoor wear at the base of the trail, and a pleasant walk through a reconstructed 1800s farm along the way. Well worth the visit for a short one mile taxing hike. There are plenty of other hiking trails in the area, and many are classified as easy..
Of course like everyone we can't say enough about the welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail given by Dave and Heidi as well as everyone else on the staff.
This spot is well worth the trip, especially if you are looking for comfort and relaxation, but also if you enjoy the outdoors.

Room Tip: The cabins are modern, spacious, and give a sense of privacy with great views as well. Cabin 4 may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandLNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Iris Inn to celebrate our 5 year anniversary and we are already looking forward to our next visit!
From what I had read/seen I knew the Iris Inn would be amazing, but it was truly AH-MAZING and far exceeded my expectations in every way.
We stayed in a couples cabin which was basically a tree house (with a spectacular view) with lavish amenities (private deck with hot tub, flat screen TV, kitchenette, heated bathroom floors, to name a few). The breakfasts were delectable and presented beautifully and the Innkeepers were wonderful, we so enjoyed getting to know them. Dave and Heidi have truly done a wonderful job making the Iris Inn a very special and memorable retreat. No detail was spared and everything is done with excellence. I would highly recommend a stay here to anyone - truly a perfect couples retreat!

Room Tip: We were able to take a peek at a couple of the rooms in the Inn and one of the cottages as well, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandKP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This lovely inn is up on a hillside with a beautiful view of the Shenandoah Valley. Our room was on the second floor, with a door to a long balcony where we could loll on comfy chairs or a swing. The host is a pleasant guy who offers helpful recommendations (including the restaurant we went to that night). There is a main lodge and private cabins surrounding the lodge. Breakfast was delicious. And nearby Staunton has some excellent restaurants and attractions that had we known about, we would have stayed another day before heading west towards home in the midwest. Highly recommended. We've stayed here several times, always a very enjoyable, pleasant experience.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back of the lodge face a wooded area, which is lovely,but if you enjoy long balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I loved the accommodations at the Garden Path Cottage. It was peaceful, refreshing and we really enjoyed the privacy and seclusion. You can watch the wildlife right from your private deck. The Inn Keepers, Dave and Heidi, are wonderful people and went out of their way to accommodate our needs. I would highly recommend this Inn. It's top notch and the views of the Shenandoah Valley were superb!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My girlfriend and I booked a couples cabin on the recommendation of a friend. The cabin was everything we wanted, secluded but very nicely furnished with all the amenities. The hot tub was perfectly ready for us when we arrived Friday night. The shower entrance to the bathroom is thoughtfully placed right near the exit to the hot tub! The owners are so welcoming and nice and the inn was beautiful inside. The breakfast was fantastic as well! We loved the location since it was one exit away from a number of beautiful wineries and a couple of breweries. Like other reviewers stated, I would agree it is a great mix of seclusion and privacy but anything you need is right there if you want it. We plan to come back again soon!!

Room Tip: Couples Cabins are great for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveL251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
5.5 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
11.8 mi away
The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980-5692
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range: £125 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing