We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend The Iris Inn”
Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berks Co. PA
1 review
“Highly recommend The Iris Inn”
Reviewed 27 October 2008

The Iris Inn is the best B&B, and we've stayed in many! We've come back to The Iris Inn for our fall vacation every year for the last 4 years, and we're never disappointed. (For the last three years we booked our next year's reservation as we were checking out!) The rooms are spacious and immaculate. The food is wonderful, hosts friendly and helpful, and the decor is lovely. We are vegetarians, and Dave and Heidi are very willing to make delicious meals to accommodate our requests (It's always best to notify them in advance of any dietary restrictions).
For a fall vacation you will love the colorful foliage, secluded yet convenient to touristy activities and sightseeing or hiking along the beautiful Skyline Drive. I'm sure you will love The Iris Inn as much as we do -- and, you'll meet the nicest people there!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vegtutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    43
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
593
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2008

we spent 2 nights here and loved the place- The hospitality is second to none, breakfasts excellent and our room wonderfully comfortable. Location is excellent- easy to find off the highway, and good access to local attractions. Special mention for the restaurant reccomendation on our first night- our meal at Staunton Grocery was first class!!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank pollyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orinda, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2008

We stayed for three nights at the Iris Inn in Waynesboro, Virgina, We live in the San Francisco Bay area and were looking for a place that was relaxing and charming and we were very pleased with our choice.The surrounding countryside is fabulous-right near the Blue Ridge Parkway/Skyline Drive. The Iris Inn is small and pretty, surrounded by trees in a very private setting. Our room was large, very clean and prettily furnished in a country motif. The owners are a delight, very helpful without being obtrusive. And then there are the breakfasts. My husband and I have been to lots of bed and breakfasts and the breakfast here was just the best. Scrumptious baked goods, fruits and hot dishes. We visited Monitcello, Charlottesville and lots of small country Virginia towns during our stay and wished we didn't have to leave so soon. I definitely recommend the Iris Inn as an extremely comfortable and relaxing place to stay.

  • Liked — Breakfasts were fabulous, large, pretty room,great hosts
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camkorinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moorestown, nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Dave and I had been hiking along the skyline drive and spent three nights at big meadows cabins, what a delight to arrive at the iris inn. Our first night we had the Hawk`s Nest with our private hot tub, it was great after hiking 4 days. We loved Katie their dog she was soo great, what an addition. We hiked Thursday and came back to the Wildflower Suite, another super room, hoge and comfortable. Would certainly stay at the Inn again. Julie Hegelein

  • Liked — hot tub and double jacuzzi tub
  • Disliked — hard to socialize with other folks
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nedmoorestown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus, ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2008

We stayed at the Iris Inn October 10 on our way to the blue ridge parkway and skyline drive. What a great way to start our trip. We arrived at this beautiful Inn feeling tired after our drive, but were quickly refreshed by the wonderful hospitality of the Innkeepers. Our room was Hawks Nest which had the private hot tub. We enjoyed a late night soak looking at the beautiful moon. The room was very clean and comfortable. The entire Inn and grounds have a touch of elegance.

We are definately going back. P.S. grab a bunch of the monster cookies, great on the trail!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie_m_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland ohio
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2008

Our path led us to Iris Inn and Dave and Heidi Lanford. How lucky for us for in addition to a beautiful facility tastefully decorated, Heidi is an accomplished cook. Both are lovely people and most hospitable. We would come again! Thanks Dave and Heidi
Dennis and Connie Turski and Dr. Michelle L. Turski

  • Liked — attention to detail
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cat048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2008

I needed a restfull place. But, not too far away.The Inn was beautiful and Dave and Heidi were great host and Katie their dog is a wonderful addition. Everything was excellent! We carried our 13 year old Daughter and her friend and they loved the endless cookie jar and of course all the attention that Dave and Heidi gave them. The suite was heaven. Rockers,swings and just all was totally wonderful. Will be back again. Is tomorrow too soon?
Almost forgot the wonderful packed picnic lunch, good food and great conversation.
Terry,George & Lauren Milam

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank iwork4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
22.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
907 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
19.8 mi away
Boar's Head Resort
Boar's Head Resort
#8 of 35 in Charlottesville
918 reviews
1.7 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Property: Iris Inn
Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980-5692
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing