We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time at Iris Inn, enjoyed ourselves”
Review of Iris Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Iris Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
1 review
“We had a great time at Iris Inn, enjoyed ourselves”
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We were on our way from New Jersey heading to Georgia and we booked a couple nights at Iris Inn...We had a great time, Heidi and Dave were great hosts. They greeted us as we arrived and were terrific hosts. Their prepared great breakfasts. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and treats were available 24/7. Our room was clean and beautiful. It was so nice to relax and enjoy our stay. They suggested a local restaurant and we had a delicious dinner there. They also suggested a local winery to visit and we had a nice time at the winery. We also had a great time playing with Katie, the dog. We loved playing ball and watching her do her special "tail" trick. We would love to come back and stay again, next time we would like to bring some friends so they can enjoy Iris Inn also. We did meet some real nice people while having breakfast one morning at Iris Inn. Thank you Heidi, Dave and Katie for a great time

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank examinerlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    41
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
570
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Jim and I made a spontaneous golf trip to the Shenandoah Valley Region and found our B& B's through the VA. Tourist Center and on-line follow-up. Heidi, Dave and the Iris Inn were highly recommended by another Innkeeper when we stayed in Harrisonburg. We were very pleased with the accommodations at the Iris Inn. Our king room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Each room appeared to have access not only to a beautiful sitting area but a wonderful wrap around deck with all the amenities of swings, rocking chairs and a hammock. The sunset over the city was marvelous. But not only was the Inn special, also were Heidi and Dave, it's keepers and Katy the Border Collie Inn dog, who loved to play and fetch toys.

Dave and Heidi were extremely accommodating and making us feel very comfortable in their Inn and home. They were helpful with our sight seeing and had terrific recommendations for both that and local restaurants. We even got to select what we wanted for breakfast on the second AM ( the only guests), which was delicious Belgium Waffles with fresh strawberries and cream and joined them in their private dining room. As a special treat we bought 2 of the beautiful hand crafted Iris Inn mugs and Dave wrapped a matching mini-bowl as a gift for us. We would definitely return if back in the area and highly recommend to anyone traveling through Waynesboro.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhyTownsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, PA
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2009

WOW! If you are looking for a Bed and Breakfast where the rooms are more like luxury hotel rooms, the service is exceptional (like staying with old friends) and the food delicious - stop looking, you've found it at the Iris Inn. My husband and I chose to stay here for our second honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in a suite that was spacious, clean and amazingly comfortable. The Inkeepers (Dave and Heidi) felt more like old friends than "just innkeepers". Heidi made delicious breakfasts every day and, as we stayed for a special weekend, provided an equally delicious dinner on Saturday evening. While the Inn was full for the weekend we were there, it never felt crowded. It was quiet, relaxing and just what we were looking for. Dave made excellent suggestions for day trips and even provided maps and menus for local activities and eateries (like our own private concierge). We definitely recommend the Iris Inn for those looking for a bed and breakfast getaway that is second to none! We will find a reason to return!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celticnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2009

We had a small wedding of about 22 guests at Iris Inn and fell in LOVE with this place and the owners. It was so beautiful and they really did everything they could to make it the most memorable day for us. The food was awesome, the rooms are beautiful and clean and I felt like Dave and Heidi are now a part of our extended family. We will continue to go back year after year.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missblue72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottesville, virginia
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2009

The rooms were very clean and the furnishings were very home-like and comfortable. Everybody that worked there was super friendly and the breakfasts were delicious.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamihu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2009

My husband and I were looking for a relaxing, romantic weekend escape, and the Iris Inn was exactly what we were looking for. I cannot say enough about the hospitality of the owners - Dave and Heidi. They were great to talk to, incredibly helpful in recommendations of things to do in the area, and friendly and welcoming without being overbearing. The breakfast, and in our case dinner, were fantastic. We have already booked a room for our wedding anniversary in the fall! I would recommend the Iris Inn to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmy1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esquiar02
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2009

The owners (Dave and Heidi) said to my wife and I numerous times, "We bought this B&B so that we could treat people how we would want to be treated when we were on vacation." There is no doubt that this couple goes above and beyond what we could have ever asked for from two innkeepers. Everytime we walked in the front door, either Dave or Heidi were there to great us. Before we came, Dave gave us great recommendations for dinner and wineries to visit. And the breakfast you will eat is delicious. Overall, this is a wonderful B&B, and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esquiar02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
18.3 mi away
Steeles Tavern Manor Bed and Breakfast
19.8 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#9 of 35 in Charlottesville
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Inn

Property: Iris Inn
Address: 191 Chinquapin Dr, Waynesboro, VA 22980-5692
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iris Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1991 as a bed and breakfast, the Iris Inn has all the modern convenience of a new facility combined with traditional charm. With 9 different rooms and 6 cabins on over 11 wooded acres the Iris Inn has room for all your needs. WiFi is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Iris Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Waynesboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing