We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia
1 review
“Excellent Weekend”
Reviewed 21 May 2008

My wife and I stayed at Belle Hearth for our wedding and graduation. They were very accomodating to our schedule. They served breakfast early so people could make it to the Lawn ceremony at UVA and stayed up late waiting for us to get in from a late reception in Charlottesville. Good food. Clean room. Ample parking. Can't ask for much more.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yahoowahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    46
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
289
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2008

Great stop in Waynesboro. We were just ending a 400mile motorcycle trip up the Blue Ridge Parkway, and found Waynesboro a perfect overnight point. The Belle Hearth is a great place to spend the night.
The house is located in a district of historic homes, and traces it's roots back to the early 1900s. The house and rooms are clean and comfortable. We were greated with cookies and beverages when we arrived, and met some of the other guests. Breakfast was excellent.

The inkeepers were friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. Very nice people.

Close to the downtown area, there are restaurants and shopping within walking distance. We'll go back when we can spend more time in the area.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MikeandDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2008

We stayed at Belle Hearth on our way back from the Parkway to Washington. It was a wet Sunday afternoon with little else to do other than see if we could book in. We were welcomed with open arms by the owner, Linda, and after showing us our room she made us a coffee there and then. We stayed there until the rain stopped some time later and in the mean time had a good long chat with both Linda and Wayne. We had the Orchid Room and were entirely satisfied. Yes, it overlooked the road but we found that to be no problem as we didn't notice any excess noise from outside. There was a coffee machine and snacks available at all times and at breakfast, if the coffee pot was empty, it was filled again immediately so I don't know how anyone could say that the coffee was limited. A pot will hold so much and then you have to refill it! All in all our stay at the Belle Hearth was a good choice as it had loads of character and no doubt there is a lot to see in Waynesboro but we were only staying the one night so that will have to wait. I would recommend this inn to anyone as it was comfortable and the owners were extremely helpful and welcoming.

  • Liked — The character of the place and the welcome from the owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEMintheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2008

I am a meeting planner by profession and stay at way to many hotels for work. So when my wife and I travel for pleasure we like to stay at Bed and Breakfasts. In the three years that we have been a couple we have stayed in B&B’s from Pennsylvania to Florida. We have only ever repeat visited two and this is one of them. It consistently exceeds my expectations in every category.

To me the B&B experience is influenced by both the owners or hosts and the property. The Belle Hearth scores big points from me on both. My wife and I love the owners and the property. Located in one of our favorite parts of Virginia we have chosen to visit this Inn on more than six occasions. Every time we do, Wayne and Linda greet us as if we were family. During every stay they have gone out of their way to ensure that our stay is pleasant. Whether it’s accommodating a late check in do to a delay, delivering wine glasses to our room, or serving a memorable breakfast, they are always on their game. Speaking of breakfasts, I can not reiterate enough how wonderful every meal has been. Every breakfast served has been special and unique. I only wish I could say that about all of the other Inns I have been to.

The house is charming, well appointed, clean and comfortable. I always choose to stay in the Orchid room, however that is just for sentimental reasons all of the rooms are lovely and on my last visit there I found that two of the rooms have just been re-done and look amazing.

I highly recommend this B&B if you are traveling in the Waynesboro area.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Did not stay long enough
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank va944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shakopee, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2008

Our stay at Belle Hearth was everything I had hoped it would be. The home is a beautiful Victorian on a street filled with turn of the century homes.

My father and I were touring some of the old southern homes and plantations and I was looking for places to stay that had the old world charm. We had reserved the Magnolia Suite, two beautiful rooms seperated by a lovely bathroom. The rooms were clean and met my hopes, and our needs, exactly. My father fell in love with the front porch - spending some time relaxing on it.

Our hosts were very friendly and went out of their way to please. Our sleep was relaxing and the breakfast the next morning very good.

I would gladly return to Belle Hearth

  • Liked — The relaxing charm!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dt1phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2008

We arrived at Belle Hearth B&B March 31st, for a two day stay. We received a friendly greeting from Linda and Wayne. The room was clean, well decorated, and we were made to feel at home with the fireplace lit and a very comfortable bed in which to sleep. Linda took us on a tour of the home explaining the history behind the walls of this beautiful old house. She explained how they had incorporated her family history into the decor.

We awoke to a lovely breakfast each morning to start the day. The breakfast was served in the dining room where conversation with other guests were enjoyed. Linda and Wayne took time to make sure that we had plenty to eat and drink each day.

As a result of the treatment we received here rather then going on to a hotel in Lynchburg, VA, April 2nd, we stayed an additional night at Belle Hearth.

Linda and Wayne thanks for the kindness you extended to us. We will recommend your B&B to all of our friends and family. We hope to return for another stay in the near future.

  • Liked — Room and Food
  • Disliked — I liked everything.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smile-Goofy-Now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2007

My parents live in Waynesboro, and when my boyfriend and I come to visit, we stay at the Belle Hearth (~4 visits over the past year). We've always stayed in the Orchid room, and have consistently been impressed with the cleanliness (I am VERY picky about this) and roominess of the room. The B&B has street parking, but it is right out front, and in a safe neighborhood (also a big deal for me). The only noise I have ever heard from outside has been the church bells from a neighboring church on Sunday morning, which is actually very quaint. The food is good - usually served at 8:30 or 9AM - and consists of 2-3 courses. Fruit for starters, a bread (sometimes, if the entree is not bread based like a Belgian waffle) and an entree. Coffee is brewed fresh by the cup and is delicious, as is the selection of teas. Snacks are also available on a self-serve basis 24 hours a day. On our last visit, the house was decorated festively for Christmas, and we received a "Welcome Back and Happy Holidays" bottle of wine from the owners, Wayne and Linda. Wayne, Linda, my boyfriend and I also took pictures of each other (and Mosby the cat) in the sitting area by the Christmas tree. I will definitely continue staying at this establishment, and highly recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly (but not overbearing) hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiffletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Waynesboro
Residence Inn Waynesboro
#2 of 9 in Waynesboro
289 reviews
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
#4 of 9 in Waynesboro
176 reviews
11.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast

Property: Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Address: 320 S Wayne Ave, Waynesboro, VA 22980-4738
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Belle Hearth's traditional elegance with its wrap around porch, gable roof, seven fireplaces and heart pine floors. Located in town and convenient to restaurants, stores and an array of antique shops. All four rooms have private baths, plush robes and cable TV. Fully air conditioned for your comfort and Wi-Fi convenient. Full gourmet breakfast each morning. Relax & return to the comfort of the Victorian age at the Belle Hearth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing