We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very special historic place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Waynesboro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Merseburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very special historic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We regret to have spent only 1 night in this lovingly managed, treasured hideaway. It is a very cozy place and we had a very tight sleep in the comfortable bed. Linda and Wayne are caring hosts and make you feel like home. The house has an entertaining history and there are so many assets to discover - it feels like like a museum or antiques store. The breakfast was just delicious. You feel so much welcome at this place - it is just phantastic!
Hervorragendes, exzellentes B&B; liebevoll eingerichtet, bis ins kleinste Detail durchdacht und ausgestattet, gemütlich, mit langer Geschichte des Hauses, bequeme Betten, viele kleine Schätze zu entdecken - wie im Museum; sehr herzliche, aufgeschlossene Gastgeber, Gourmetfrühstück, sehr stilvoll; perfekte Empfehlung zum Abendessen;
Wer in dieser Gegend ist - nicht weitersuchen: Belle Hearth ist absolut empfehlenswert!

Room Tip: all rooms are equally cozy, inviting, recommendable Alle Zimmer sind unterschiedlich eingerichtet...
See more room tips
Green Features: keine Ökooase nach deutschen Kriterien, aber durchaus umweltbewußte Gastgeber
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    46
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
287
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Wayne and Linda thank you for such an amazing weekend. Our room was both beautiful and clean. I especially liked the comfy bed and fireplace. Breakfast was delicious and the apple cake was amazing! We enjoyed our conversations together and the helpful insight of places to visit and eat. I also enjoyed being out all day and coming home to find chocolate waiting for us I our room. You thought of everything. Thank you and looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast is a wonderful place to stay. Linda and Wayne make you feel like family the minute you walk in the door and they are very gracious hosts. They work hard to see that your every need and want is met, including rearranging our accommodations when our stay with them needed to be longer than originally planned! We would definitely stay with them again...it would be like visiting family!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband was not happy when I told him we were staying at a B&B. He was concerned about feeling uncomfortable and lack of privacy. We stayed two nights and when we left he was sad that we couldn't stay longer. Wayne and Linda are fantastic hosts; you instantly feel so welcome, like you're coming home. Conversations are like you've known each other forever. It is conveniently located for visiting area attractions and the surrounding streets with historic mansions made for beautiful walks before dinner. This is definitely a period home, but all the furnishings are in great condition and comfortable. They invite lingering. Our room was beautiful with a comfortable king bed and chaise for reading or relaxing. The bathroom had all the supplies you could need and then some. There were no noise issues. Snacks, coffee/tea & a small fridge are available to guests upstairs near the bedrooms. The 3-course breakfasts were amazing and included fresh fruit. They are served at a communal table in the dining room, which at first we were quite hesitant about, but we actually enjoyed our conversations with the other guests. We usually eat breakfast quickly so we can get an early start to the day, but we all found it difficult to get up and leave. If you think of a B&B as a place to get pampered as I do, this is it. I highly recommend this place and hope to return one day. Thanks Linda & Wayne for making our stay so perfect.

Room Tip: The orchid room was big, bright and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the B&B. The house is very well decorated as are the rooms. Unfortunately, in our room the fireplace did not work. The breakfast was plentiful, but solely based on carbs. Not enough fresh fruit or protein for our liking. As a suggestion, it would be nice to have a menu upfront, just to know what the guest can expect and to plan accordingly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terp1, Owner at Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hi Manuel, we appreciate your comments on your recent stay. We apologize for the fireplace not working, but the guests before you had pushed the unit back so hard it split the gas line. We tried to fix it, but ended up having to order a new line. The fireplace units are over 20 years old. As for the breakfast menu, we always present a fresh fruit starter, homemade breads or muffins and a main course of either vegetable quiche, sourdough french toast, eggs benedict, waffles, etc. We also accommodate vegetarian diets for guest who do not wish our meat sides of bacon or sausage, as well as gluten free or lactose intolerant diets. We rotate these menus daily so consequently for your one night stay, we happened to serve fruit, muffins and stuffed croissants with bacon as a side. As you can see by our previous reviews on Trip Advisor, Bed and Breakfast.com and BnB Finder, our guest thoroughly enjoy our breakfasts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was our third trip to this lovely B&B. We visit the area every couple of years to see our favorite artist, P. Buckley Moss. The owners/innkeepers are so welcoming and go out of their way to make you feel at home. The decor is rich in Victorian furnishings, the breakfasts are always delicious, served in courses so as to encourage fellowship with other guests. We have stayed at many B&B's and Belle Hearth is, by far, our favorite inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katheryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poquoson, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I spent two nights a Belle Hearth and enjoyed my first experience staying at a bed and breakfast! Linda and Wayne welcomed us into their Victorian themed home and put us at ease. Great atmosphere and the rooms were of the period and very clean. Loved the claw footed bathtub! Breakfast was a feast, especially the waffles! Good location for various day trips to the mountains or visiting surrounding cities/locales. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms are on the 2nd floor reached by a staircase. All rooms are quiet. Great for families as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poquoson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waynesboro
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Waynesboro Inn & Suites Conference Center
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Waynesboro / Stuarts Draft
2.3 mi away
Residence Inn Waynesboro
Residence Inn Waynesboro
#2 of 9 in Waynesboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Waynesboro
Days Inn Waynesboro
#3 of 9 in Waynesboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
11.4 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
#4 of 9 in Waynesboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast

Property: Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Address: 320 S Wayne Ave, Waynesboro, VA 22980-4738
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Waynesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Waynesboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Belle Hearth's traditional elegance with its wrap around porch, gable roof, seven fireplaces and heart pine floors. Located in town and convenient to restaurants, stores and an array of antique shops. All four rooms have private baths, plush robes and cable TV. Fully air conditioned for your comfort and Wi-Fi convenient. Full gourmet breakfast each morning. Relax & return to the comfort of the Victorian age at the Belle Hearth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing